We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in all category” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sebastian's

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sebastian's to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sebastian's
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #16 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
1 review
“The best hotel in all category”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at sebastian hotel in Amsterdam we were to big family, the service,the clean and large room with an exit to large porch , the location was near the main street in the center, everything was excellent.
I will sure come back to this lovely hotel

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    331
    176
    19
    2
    1
See reviews for
67
294
40
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Encinitas, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is my 4th or 5th trip to Amsterdam. I mostly travel for work and this was another work trip. As with other trips to the city, if you are not planning far in advance, reservations can be tricky. I was lucky to find Sebastian's and I now have a hotel that has set the bar for all future hotels in this city.

First off the area where the hotel is is quiet! This is a major plus in this city. Second the hotel is beautiful both inside and out. My room had a canal view, which was great to wake up to each morning. I was commuting to and from Amsterdam Centraal, which was an easy 5+ minute walk, plus Jordaan and the nine alleys are short walks as well.

The room was spacious (for Europe) with all the amenities and quite! I'm here for work so sleeping is important. The bed was comfy, but it was that kind of Euro bed where they just push together a twin or double, so there is a bump in the middle. I was traveling alone, so that was not an issue, but when sleeping with your significant other it is a bit of a challenge. They conveniently have a bar and restaurant in the hotel for breakfast and snacks if you need. The coffee machine in the room is a little tricky to use, but makes a great coffee once you figure it out.

The staff was super friendly and helpful. Even though I already new my way around, I really wanted to see what they suggested. It was very enlightening and I learned a few new things. For most hotels the restaurant suggestions are just places near the hotel. For Sebastian's you could tell they really took this to heart. Each night, I ate at one of their recommendations which each one seemed better that the next.

I would highly recommend this hotel and I will most definitely stay here when I return to Amsterdam!

Room Tip: Canal view is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I can not begin to tell you how much we enjoyed The Hotel Sebastian! It was with sheer delight that we treated ourselves to their larger room (we had rm #108). The decor of the hotel is very elegant, totally hip and designed to please. Our room was very large by European standards and the bed was more comfy than any we have stayed in including at home!
It felt luxurious and the bath was simply divine. But it's not just the room that was special, the location is perfect and beautiful. We took the canal trip the afternoon we arrived and we passed right by our hotel as the tour guide was saying how luxurious this particular neighborhood was. The staff was very helpful with everything, especially our dinner reservations. Every single one of the restaurants you recommended were wonderful and charming. Especially Bernarda who gave us extra flavor with her sharp wit and sense of the neighborhood. I will always have the vision of her preparing delicious food behind the bar giving the sense of home and hearth.
We have very good friends here in Los Angeles who by sheer luck have booked themselves at the hotel and they arrive in October. We bought a little sweet treat at the picture perfect candy store on the corner, had it wrapped and the staff kindly said they would have it in the their room when they arrive. What a lovely,hospitable and beautiful hotel and good reason to visit Amsterdam again!

Room Tip: #108, ground floor on canal. Very large. Quiet except for the delightful children going to school at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed here in July 2013. The Check in staff were friendly and helpful. They asked us whether this was our first trip to Amsterdam (yes, it was), and immediately gave us a city map before we even asked, and pointed out the locations of all the attractions in Amsterdam.

The free wifi in the room had good signal. Bathroom had good quality shampoo/ shower gel & body lotion, the toilet paper was 4-ply! And they also provided shoe shine sponges (very useful). There was an espresso machine in the room (too bad we're not coffee fans).

The hotel is about 10-15 minutes walk from everywhere - the Central train station, the Dam square shopping streets, the famous red light district, the Anne Frank museum, the flower market....

You have to walk up a few short steps to get from the street level to the lobby. There is a lift from the lobby level to the rooms.

Service is great. Almost immediately after I booked a triple room via Booking.com, the hotel sent me an email asking for my preferences (3 single beds or a queen + 1 single). None of the other hotels that I booked with did this.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Hotel Sebastian's is extremely comfortable and delightfully decorated. Our room was large and very comfortable. It overlooked lovely quiet gardens at the back. The hotel is very well situated, convenient but beautiful and peaceful. The breakfast has great choice and quality, very good value. The most impressive thing for us, however, was the uniformly wonderful staff. The receptionists, bar staff and breakfast staff are all exceptionally pleasant, knowledgeable and helpful. We stayed from 16th to 19th September 2013. Thank you for a great holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Any reviewer will note a number of compliments about this hotel on Tripadvisor and I am happy to confirm those positive comments. The hotel is well located in the city - right on a canal that is not too busy and yet close to amenities. Our room was clean and well appointed. We stayed in a canal facing room on the first floor (second floor for Americans, room 19 I think) and we were pleased we paid the extra to have a charming canal view. The black and purple decor of our room was funky.
The staff were very firendly and helpful. Not just one or two but all of the staff we met. And as we stayed 4 nights (late August 2013) we met a few. Difficulties with paying the bill with our visa travel card was met with patience and helpfulness.
The breakfast they offer is good value at 10 euro and has a good range.
My wife and I would stay there again.
Well done Hotel Sebastians!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the canal have charming views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sebastian's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sebastian's

Address: Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sebastian's 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Keizersgracht, one of the most picturesque canals in the heart of Amsterdam, you will find Sebastian's, a contemporary three-star hotel with a unique and sophisticated design and atmosphere. Whether you are in the capital city for business or to enjoy the vibrant nightlife of Amsterdam, Sebastian's is the place to be. The location alone is worth the stay: a stone's throw from the Jordaan district, with its numerous cafés and restaurants, and Haarlemmerstraat, home to a wide variety of shops and a number of colourful Amsterdam outdoor markets. The hotel bar also boasts a unique and charming atmosphere. It is a ‘real' bar with a contemporary, trendy design and a meeting place for both young and old, who come here to enjoy a delicious cappuccino, cold beer or glass of one of the wide range of wines served. All of this can be enjoyed in a relaxed, jazzy setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com, Hotel.de, EasyToBook and Venere so you can book your Hotel Sebastian's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sebastian's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.