We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Stay in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sebastian's

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sebastian's to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sebastian's
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #15 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best Stay in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

What a lovely hotel - it may need a lick of paint in a few spots but the location is terrific, the room very comfortable, fun designs and lovely touches. Our room faced the gardens and was lovely and quiet. The surrounding area is so charming and really close to everything my wife and I walked everywhere. Their breakfast is very substantial and filling definitely a perk. Like lots of Amsterdam houses you do have to be aware that the rooms may be small never the less you are in Amsterdam and that is part of its charm after all.

Finally a big thank you to the staff really efficient friendly and helpful not only with where to go but also taught me a lot about their history was really interesting.

The location is so beautiful and definitely gives you a good taste of Amsterdam life - there is a great little restaurant around the corner too if you like us got nice weather and where we were able to sit outside and watch all the locals at night cruise around the canals in their boats - De Belhamel

Everything is walk-able and if you dare you can rent a bike.... nothing was far away aeverything we wanted to see was a the most a 20 -30 minute walk

I would definitely go back was a wonderful trip

Thank you to all the staff and the hotel for being so welcoming and making our Amsterdam experience truly memorable

Room Tip: I liked the back rooms over looking the gardens very quiet and very pretty views - I didn't see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    325
    172
    18
    2
    1
See reviews for
65
288
39
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed from the 18-20th September. We had a room on the ground floor which was beautiful with an extremely comfy bed, I was really surprised. The staff were really welcoming and friendly which was really nice. The location was very convenient. So i couldn't of asked for a better stay everything was perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Pleasant, quiet room, near the train station and lots of top restaurants, terrific breakfast with cooked food along with the usual Dutch cheeses and meats, with attentive service. Eager front desk staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We spent 5 nights at Sebastian's 16-21 Sept 2013. Two things set this Hotel apart - location and staff. Sebastian's location is absolutely perfect - quiet, on one of Amsterdam's prettiest canals, very convenient for everything - top rated and local restaurants, cafes, bakeries, trams, easy walk to the Central station and the Dam, but miles from the squalor of both. Easy tram to Rijksmuseum. Perfect hideaway.

Re staff - it's customary in a review to mention one staff person as giving "exceptional" service. We were at Sebastian's for 5 days so we had contact with a large number of staff, and the chance to see through a veneer of service. But it's clear that Sebastian's views customer service and staff as one of their distinguishing characteristics. The totally charming staff dealt competently and cheerfully with all our novice requests, followed up to make sure that everything went well, went over and above printing out maps for us, nuancing our dinner requests, absolutely everything. Nothing was ever too much trouble or too stupid. They also never assumed that all 60+ American tourists wanted the same thing. Whomever we talked to always listened to what we were hoping to accomplish before formulating an answer appropriate for us.

Sebastian's had also been exceptional before our arrival with descriptions of rooms, directions, explanations about the "fully booked" nature of Amsterdam in September with a large number of conferences. The way they dealt with us during pre-booking was influential in our choice to stay there. This personalized service and candor fully carried over to our stay.

We stayed in canal rooms which were a little small, but in keeping with the fabulous location and windows that open onto the canal. I understand that the garden rooms are a little larger, but I didn't see them. It would have been necessary to drag me from my canal room. Re another reviewer's comment about noise - we never heard a sound from either adjacent room or from the street and I always sleep with the windows open even when it's chilly.

In summary, our experience indicated that Sebastian's (Hamilton Group, I believe) has an enviable staff development and training program that they care about. Enjoy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We just stayed one night but thoroughly loved our stay here. It is overlooking a beautiful canal, and is a perfect location to stroll around and explore. Only a 10 minute walk from the train station too, so no need for a taxi. Our room was a "small" room with a very comfortable king size bed and the cutest little attic sitting area overlooking the canal. There are low beams so you have to be careful not to hit your head, but it was really unique and we loved it. Wish the room was a little bigger but for one night it was fine. We didn't hear any noise all night and got an amazing sleep. We were given a free drink in the lounge when we arrived just by saying we had read about the hotel on trip advisor, as well as getting 50% off our breakfast the next morning. The breakfast was excellent with a huge variety of hot and cold foods. The waitress we had was also fantastic. Would definitely stay here again. The price was quite good as well considering you're in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We found Sebastian's on the Internet, never having been to Amsterdam. It is a lovely welcoming place to stay. My husband and I had a small room on the second floor. Decor is elegant, warm, intimate. The staff were warm, helpful,and made every effort to ensure we were comfortable, and could find our way each day. One lady quickly and competently arranged the return of my carry-on bag, which I had left on the airport shuttle. She invited us to complimentary drinks while we anxiously waited. There is a lovely breakfast buffet for and extra charge. Heartily recommend this as a place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights room was cosy bed was soft and bathroom was clean. Breakfast was €10 each morning with lots of choice, have to mention the staff who were really helpful and very courteous.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Sebastian's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sebastian's

Address: Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sebastian's 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Keizersgracht, one of the most picturesque canals in the heart of Amsterdam, you will find Sebastian's, a contemporary three-star hotel with a unique and sophisticated design and atmosphere. Whether you are in the capital city for business or to enjoy the vibrant nightlife of Amsterdam, Sebastian's is the place to be. The location alone is worth the stay: a stone's throw from the Jordaan district, with its numerous cafés and restaurants, and Haarlemmerstraat, home to a wide variety of shops and a number of colourful Amsterdam outdoor markets. The hotel bar also boasts a unique and charming atmosphere. It is a ‘real' bar with a contemporary, trendy design and a meeting place for both young and old, who come here to enjoy a delicious cappuccino, cold beer or glass of one of the wide range of wines served. All of this can be enjoyed in a relaxed, jazzy setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, EasyToBook and Venere so you can book your Hotel Sebastian's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sebastian's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.