We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top-Notch Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sebastian's

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sebastian's to your Saves list
Hotel Sebastian's
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #9 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Top-Notch Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Sebastian's is an easy five minute walk from Centraal Station. It is a quaint yet artistic boutique style hotel on the Keizersgracht canal. There were three of us so we booked the triple occupancy room that had a queen size bed and a twin bed. The room was quite spacious--plenty of space for luggage. The black out curtains make for a wonderful nights rest. We were on the first floor, room 123. Our room was very private and quiet. The beds were fantastic! Better than the beds at my house--no kidding! The bathroom was immaculately clean and large. However, for some reason, there was a step up to get into the bathroom. We all tripped over it at some point. It is very dangerous and shouldn't be there. I fear someone could get hurt very badly from this. Now on to the staff---they were wonderful! I have travelled all over the world and have stayed at countless five star and below hotels, and the staff at Sebastian's is probably the nicest set I've come across. So helpful and friendly. And its natural and sincere. They even went and got us food from a restaurant down the street and brought it back to our room. They allowed me to come behind the desk and print our boarding passes as they had no business center. All in all our stay was marvelous!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    193
    21
    2
    1
See reviews for
81
338
47
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel with our three children in two ros. The hotel is in a great location close to the Jordaan area, which is very nice. The hotel puts a lot of attention on small details as the type of soap, small and so on. Ros are very nicely decorated and overall this was a very pleasant place to stay at.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We have recently returned from a 4 night stay in Amsterdam. This is our fourth time visiting the city and found this by far the best hotel of all our stays and we have stayed at 5 stars in the city. The hotel is based in a quiet rsintial area but within short walking distance of all the tourist attractions. The room we had, 105, was lovely, it was advertised as a small double and I was expecting it to be much smaller then it was. However for the two of us for the four nights it was fine. The rooms décor was very modern and the view was onto a newly decorated courtyard at the back of the hotel. I was impressed to see the room has complimentary tea and coffee making facilities which we used on a regular basis. The room I found to be very well equipped and to a high standard. We decided to try breakfast the first morning and for 10 euros pp the breakfast was lovely, the choice of continental, full English or both. The staff at the hotel are by far the most pleasant I have encountered in many hotels I have visited, they wanted to help out at any given opportunity and were second to none. I would fully recommend this hotel to anyone and shall be booking in again in the future.

Room Tip: Room 105 was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Great stay on the canals of Amsterdam. Friendly service, very stylish and comfortable room, good breakfast and a fabulous location. We wanted to stay in their sister hotel The Toren but as they were full we were directed here. The Toren is also fab (our friends were staying there and we sneaked a peek at their lavishly decorated boudoir-like room), more opulent I'd say but also more expensive. There are some lovely restaurants in the 2 side streets towards the left of the hotel.

Room Tip: Room 102 was spacious (enough so to add a third bed) and is considered their only 4 star room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Words cannot express the outstanding customer service my partner and I received at Hotel Sebastian's! All members of staff could not do enough for us, we felt welcome&like they were our friends!Outstanding

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lørenskog, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Sometimes you feel welcome the moment you step in the door. It's simple, all that's needed is the attention from the people in the reception and a smile as well. You do get that at Sebastian's. In addition you get a nice, cold room with the ac working. It's clean, there is plenty of space and a good bed. Only 10 minutes from Amsterdam central in a quiet neighborhood, Recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The hotel is situated on a canal, in a quiet street close to the Railway Station and in walking distance to all sights. We had 'the best room" in the attic overlooking the canal. The room had a pleasant sitting area. The best part of our stay was the friendly, helpful staff. After me initially messing up our booking, the staff were very accommodating in fixing up the mistake.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sebastian's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sebastian's

Address: Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sebastian's 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Keizersgracht, one of the most picturesque canals in the heart of Amsterdam, you will find Sebastian's, a contemporary three-star hotel with a unique and sophisticated design and atmosphere. Whether you are in the capital city for business or to enjoy the vibrant nightlife of Amsterdam, Sebastian's is the place to be. The location alone is worth the stay: a stone's throw from the Jordaan district, with its numerous cafés and restaurants, and Haarlemmerstraat, home to a wide variety of shops and a number of colourful Amsterdam outdoor markets. The hotel bar also boasts a unique and charming atmosphere. It is a ‘real' bar with a contemporary, trendy design and a meeting place for both young and old, who come here to enjoy a delicious cappuccino, cold beer or glass of one of the wide range of wines served. All of this can be enjoyed in a relaxed, jazzy setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sebastian's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sebastian's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.