We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great team” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sebastian's

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sebastian's to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sebastian's
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #15 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“great team”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

I was at Sebastian's for a week. All the people who work there are nice, friendly and beautiful.
The deco is kind of too dark. Black carpets, purple walls and too many fake flowers. But is a very nice place to stay with great location.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    325
    172
    18
    2
    1
See reviews for
65
288
39
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Other than the noise from construction and the children from the schoolyard (and housekeeping that was not minor), this is a fantastic hotel to stay in, and I would stay again...with my room in another location in the hotel. Breakfast was just right, bar staff was MORE than accommodating, helpful and professional front desk staff, location just 5 minutes walk to shopping/bars/restaurants (as well as the overground transport), including a bar/restaurant open till 3am! Rooms could have been a LITTLE cleaner, but other than a few stains on the carpet and chairs, it was fine. Bed linens perfect & beds quite comfortable. With my jet-lag from LA, thank goodness for the heavy blackout curtains, or it would have been pretty rough. Love the decor. Staff I give an A++...rooms I give A- to B+. Very pleasant experience overall! Will return again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

a small hotel with almost bordello type decor but somehow works and a bit special. front desk people were exceptional. breakfast was a little hit and miss with having to ask for top ups on the small buffet but good value. we booked a larger room which based on other reviews seen and glad we did. A very comfy bed and quiet. location was walking distance to most everything and right on the canal. we enjoyed our stay at Sebastians very much.

Room Tip: other reviews said rooms were small and with two travellers and two suitcases we were happy we booke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

This hotel exceeded my expectations. Actually I used to stay at 4 and 5 star hotels only, so this time was the first time ever to stay in a three star hotel. I decided to risk and make my reservation with this hotel because of its decor and location. My room was a small room with canal view and my first impression was like oh, it's really small, no bathtub - only shower with a shower curtain. The room was not sufficiently lighted. But the view was magnificent, the bed was extremely comfortable, and my first impression wanished soon after the first night at the hotel. I was really happy to have a nespresso coffe machine with gratuitous capsules, iPod dock station, and a coffee table with two chairs near the window to enjoy coffee)) And yes, the staff are amazing people, so friendly and willing to help. I am so glad I stayed at this hotel!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Rear side room - 117.

A last minute booking in Sebastians Hotel, and what a great time.

A Purple-based hotel reception/ Hall, very classy. With a welcoming and polite smile from the exceptionally helpful receptionist. On arrival, services offered and information provided.
On viewing the room, we decided to book an additional night. Lovely view of gardens (it was very green and autumnal). There are quality curtains in place to ensure complete darkness in the bright mornings.
Clean room, soft bed and quality bedding. Excellent coffee and tea machine. TV with numerous channels. Clean bathroom with quality freebies (shampoo, conditioner etc).

Location, close to local shops and restaurants. Great canal views from front of building.

Downside:
Air-conditioning machine only providing cold air at that time however technicians visited to deal with issue. Secondly, some drilling in the morning (9ish) but not for long.

I highly recommend this hotel- pay more for excellent service. A great hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Staff were extremely helpful and were willing to help out anyway possible, would highly recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Sebastian's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sebastian's

Address: Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sebastian's 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Keizersgracht, one of the most picturesque canals in the heart of Amsterdam, you will find Sebastian's, a contemporary three-star hotel with a unique and sophisticated design and atmosphere. Whether you are in the capital city for business or to enjoy the vibrant nightlife of Amsterdam, Sebastian's is the place to be. The location alone is worth the stay: a stone's throw from the Jordaan district, with its numerous cafés and restaurants, and Haarlemmerstraat, home to a wide variety of shops and a number of colourful Amsterdam outdoor markets. The hotel bar also boasts a unique and charming atmosphere. It is a ‘real' bar with a contemporary, trendy design and a meeting place for both young and old, who come here to enjoy a delicious cappuccino, cold beer or glass of one of the wide range of wines served. All of this can be enjoyed in a relaxed, jazzy setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, EasyToBook and Venere so you can book your Hotel Sebastian's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sebastian's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.