We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canal room Review” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sebastian's

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sebastian's to your Saves list
Hotel Sebastian's
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Offer
Ranked #11 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
A TripAdvisor Member
“Canal room Review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Staff were extremely helpful and were willing to help out anyway possible, would highly recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    202
    21
    3
    1
See reviews for
84
354
49
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This hotel was a great find; centrally located in the old section of Amsterdam on one of the canals, and close to all the major attractions.The hotel was an old canal house originally built in the 1600's by one of the many merchants living in the area, and has been extensively renovated with a modern decor in keeping with its "old world" charm. The staff were extremely helpful, and friendly, which made our stay in Amsterdam extremely enjoyable.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room that faces the canal. This will allow you to experience the true atmosphere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Excellent hotell with nice rooms and helpfull staff. Good location.
Norhing to complain about. But o don want to write 100 words for a review :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Hotel Sebastian's is a real find. It is barely a pleasant 10 minute walk from central station, yet feels like a world away. Sitting on one of the peaceful and beautiful canal streets it is a quiet haven from Amstrdam's bustle. The staff went out of their way to be helpful - especially at the end of our stay when our pre-booked shuttle bus arrived 40 minutes late. The receptionist made repeated phone calls to find out where it was, and suggested ringing our car hire company to let them know we were running late.
I couldn't recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for three or four nights in late June/early July 2012 prior to an academic conference in Utrecht, Netherlands, and loved it. I liked the boho chic ambiance, the bed was comfortable, the room was very clean, the breakfast buffet was extensive and good, and every single staff member was incredible. Knowledgeable, quick to understand whatever one might want, genuinely friendly as opposed to adopting a veneer of 'professional' friendliness: people you want to get to know. The hotel has a list of suggested restaurants, two or three of which I tried, and they were all good. The hotel is very close to Anne Frank's House, the Centraal railway station, restaurants and shopping, and it is right on a canal for canal rides. There is a wonderful Saturday farmers' market within two blocks. I liked the staff, the room and the extremely ethical owners of Hotel Sebastian's so much I feel as if I want to return to Amsterdam at my earliest opportunity. One of the very, very best places I have ever stayed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South-west Wales
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Situated towards the north Keizersgracht canal, the hotel (a converted canal house) has a great location: cobbled streets, canal boats, trees, in a peaceful neighbourhood yet within easy walking distance of main attractions - eg you can spend a day wandering along the canals to & from a museum or two. Friendly welcome on reception, good there's a lift, chic little bar and dining area. We had one of the small canal view rooms - retro colour scheme, & all you need: walk in wet room style shower, nespresso type coffee machine, minibar etc. Very clean, always restocked the coffee etc. Bed okay. Screens on the window for a purpose - leave them open and you are likely to get bitten by midges/mosquitos at this time of year (as I did!). Fab breakfast in the morning - loads of choice - fresh fruit & continental style croissants etc as well as cheese, salami, eggs etc. Great that breakfast available until 11 am. Staff all very charming, efficient, and ready to assist etc. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Canal view rooms give great atmosphere of Amsterdam
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sebastian's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sebastian's

Address: Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sebastian's 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Keizersgracht, one of the most picturesque canals in the heart of Amsterdam, you will find Sebastian's, a contemporary three-star hotel with a unique and sophisticated design and atmosphere. Whether you are in the capital city for business or to enjoy the vibrant nightlife of Amsterdam, Sebastian's is the place to be. The location alone is worth the stay: a stone's throw from the Jordaan district, with its numerous cafés and restaurants, and Haarlemmerstraat, home to a wide variety of shops and a number of colourful Amsterdam outdoor markets. The hotel bar also boasts a unique and charming atmosphere. It is a ‘real' bar with a contemporary, trendy design and a meeting place for both young and old, who come here to enjoy a delicious cappuccino, cold beer or glass of one of the wide range of wines served. All of this can be enjoyed in a relaxed, jazzy setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sebastian's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sebastian's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.