We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic, relaxed, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sebastian's

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sebastian's to your Saves list
Hotel Sebastian's
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Offer
Ranked #10 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
South-west Wales
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Chic, relaxed, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Situated towards the north Keizersgracht canal, the hotel (a converted canal house) has a great location: cobbled streets, canal boats, trees, in a peaceful neighbourhood yet within easy walking distance of main attractions - eg you can spend a day wandering along the canals to & from a museum or two. Friendly welcome on reception, good there's a lift, chic little bar and dining area. We had one of the small canal view rooms - retro colour scheme, & all you need: walk in wet room style shower, nespresso type coffee machine, minibar etc. Very clean, always restocked the coffee etc. Bed okay. Screens on the window for a purpose - leave them open and you are likely to get bitten by midges/mosquitos at this time of year (as I did!). Fab breakfast in the morning - loads of choice - fresh fruit & continental style croissants etc as well as cheese, salami, eggs etc. Great that breakfast available until 11 am. Staff all very charming, efficient, and ready to assist etc. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Canal view rooms give great atmosphere of Amsterdam
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    226
    21
    3
    1
See reviews for
96
405
61
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Room is nice and quaint and of a reasonable size. So though caffine addict, there is a Nespresso machine within and a generous amount of capsules. Some renovations were going on though and the hacking started at about 10am on our 1st morning. We figured we'll be up by then on most days so did not make a fuss over it. Works were mainly in the basement and we were on the 3rd floor so the noise was bearable. But it was LOUD in the lobby area. Should call and check for the reno schedule if you intend to stay there over the next 1-2 months. Bút if you're up and out by 10am, don't think this will be a problem. We stayed for 4 nights and didn't find it to be an issue.

Parking along the street outside is by meter and will cost about EUR40+ per day. There is a car pickup service which charges EUR21/day which we used. There is an additional charge of EUR10 for pickup of the car at the hotel. And if you want the car during your stay, you will need to call 2 hrs in advance to arrange for the car to be 'delivered' which will cost EUR10 each time.

Location is excellent and the main shopping street is within 10mins away. Central Station is also about 10-15 mins walk away.

The decor of the hotel is really nice and funky. Breakfast is adequate and was included though we did not include it in our booking, which was a nice touch.

The person at the recep was very pleasant. Explaining to us all the attractions on a map (which he provided) when we arrived. That really helped us get around over the next 5 days.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We'd checked in to our room (123) on the first floor around 6pm. The room was clean, but smelled strongly of both tobacco and marijuana. Anyway, we decided that this was perhaps a normal 'side effect' in Amsterdam, left the windows open, and went out for an evening meal. The smell was still quite bad when we returned, but we decided to try to sleep anyway – not very easy though, as the smell seemed overwhelming once we'd gone to bed, and I had difficulties breathing. Bleary-eyed after just a few hours sleep, I asked the morning receptionist whether smoking was allowed in the rooms ('it is not', she said, 'but unfortunately sometimes guests smoke anyway'). And as I told her our tale, she was horrified, and instantly promised to do everything in her power to sort the problem out for us. Which she did. We came back to the hotel in the late afternoon, and the beds had been stripped and new linen put on; and the room had been aired out properly, and seemed like a different place altogether. And our second night was a whole different, and entirely lovely experience. So we will be back! The staff is friendly and professional, the hotel is lovely, and the location is superb. We were just unfortunate that previous guests had been misbehaving... (Did I mention the breakfast? Fabulous. And a friendly barman served us Chablis at night. No complaints there either.)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Cannot fault this hotel. When we arrived we received a free room upgrade from a small to a large room and free breakfast also.The rooms were clean and very comfortable. The location is great, about 10 mins from the Ann Frank Museum and in a not so touristy area but still very close to everything. The service was fantastic, from the girls at reception to the lady serving breakfast. Received a city map on arrival with a list of good restuarants to try in the area. Free Wifi in the rooms. Would definately recommend this hotel and stay there myself again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights with my daughter. She is 24 and needed a break before returning to university. I needed a break from my life in the country. We loved the Gothic chic decor! The room was clean and comfortable and we slept well there. The area is quiet and yet close to all the things you may want to see in Amsterdam. The staff were very helpful and friendly. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and would be very happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Great location & value. Not so touristy. Very attentive staff. I would recommend this place. Quite exotic; eclectic interior - touch of Bohemia. Good internet access. Comfortable bed; quiet rooms at back. Right on the canal.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This place is just a little off the sensory overload that Amsterdam can be and not the easiest to find, but it is a nice. First and foremost, the girls at the reception were absolutely great, easing our registration, indicating landmarks on a map and even getting us a bucket of ice from the bar ( a true feat in Europe). The room was not big, but well appointed with a Nespresso machine that did not work too well but whose presence was welcome. We also had a view to the canal that was the icing on the cake. The only downside was the construction that was going on in the basement the day on which we stayed. The drill was honing into the stone about the time we wanted to take a nap, making it a rather superficial drawback. All in all, we liked this hotel. When in town we used to stay at the NH City Center but it has gotten too outrageaous price-wise. Sebastian's is a great alternative.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sebastian's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sebastian's

Address: Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sebastian's 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Keizersgracht, one of the most picturesque canals in the heart of Amsterdam, you will find Sebastian's, a contemporary three-star hotel with a unique and sophisticated design and atmosphere. Whether you are in the capital city for business or to enjoy the vibrant nightlife of Amsterdam, Sebastian's is the place to be. The location alone is worth the stay: a stone's throw from the Jordaan district, with its numerous cafés and restaurants, and Haarlemmerstraat, home to a wide variety of shops and a number of colourful Amsterdam outdoor markets. The hotel bar also boasts a unique and charming atmosphere. It is a ‘real' bar with a contemporary, trendy design and a meeting place for both young and old, who come here to enjoy a delicious cappuccino, cold beer or glass of one of the wide range of wines served. All of this can be enjoyed in a relaxed, jazzy setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel Sebastian's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sebastian's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.