We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sebastian's

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sebastian's to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sebastian's
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #16 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Friendly Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights August got a very good rate on the internet for a small single room they did contact me and gave details of the room confirming it was small. I have been in smaller but it did have all the essentials I was surprised going into en-suite it was large for the size of room, most hotels say complementary soap etc here they mean it more than ample and replaced daily. Good breakfast and very friendly staff 10 mins walk to central station. It is a distance from local trams & buses but only 10 mins walk again to Dam square so not that much of a problem. There is noise from other rooms but I found this did not disturb a good nights rest if you can flush the toilet in the morning and not in the middle of the night.I booked direct with the Hotel got the best deal.

Room Tip: Book direct mention TripAdvisor in the comments and they say you get a free drink on bookings up to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    325
    174
    19
    2
    1
See reviews for
65
287
39
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

What a fantastic hotel it ticks every box and more! We stayed for two nights over the uk bank holiday weekend. We had a canal view room (119) a large double which was a great size a large bed very comfortable. 2 comfy arm chairs and a fabulous view of the canal to see all the boats and bicycles go by. We have stayed at the Toren previously which is a sister hotel which is a five minute walk away and now very expensive! In comparison Sebsatian's is much better in every way. I found the location ideal in respect to noise and slept for 10 hours the first night!
The room has a nespresso coffee maker which my partner loved although he never actually made one!! The bathroom was basic with a shower, sink and loo but nice toiletries and all incredibly clean. The hotel looks like it was decorated by 'Prince', there is purple everywhere.
Now lastly the staff they were so kind, the dutch in my experience are very friendly but the staff go out of there way to go above and beyond. The first night we had a takeaway in our room which they bought up with plates, cutlery and serviettes. They were always on hand and it was a real wrench to leave. Its been 5 years since our last stay in this wonderful city, but having now found this hotel I have a feeling we will be back again soon. Don't hesitate go explore the city and fall in love with all things Dutch!

Room Tip: Go for a canal view it's so worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We had the most pleasant experience at Hotel Sebastian's during our stay.
The hotel is modern and romantic (so really nice for couples) and is central considering it's a 10- minute pleasant walk from Dam Square (which is basically the centre of Amsterdam). The good thing though is that it is situated in a quite and picturesque neighborhood away from the city noise and the loud crowds that stroll the Red Light District (although it's very close if you want to walk there). It is also very close to all the important museums, fine restaurants, shops and other attractions.

Upon arrival we were welcomed by the very professional, knowledgable and friendly receptionists who throughout our visit were always eager to assist in everything. They also informed us that our stay was upgraded to "breakfast included" since we booked for many days through trip advisor.
The breakfast was excellent (scrambled eggs, beans, sausages, cereals, croissants, cheese, different types of coffee, different types of juice and many more). We highly recommend the breakfast which I think is at 10 euro per person which is quite low for what is actually offered.

The room we had (standard double) was really beautiful and it overlooked the canal! Upon entering the room on the first day they arranged some strawberries and chocolates on a small table for us! I wouldn't say that the room was small, even though the Hotel had the courtesy to warn us upon booking that some people find it small. I found it very adequate in size. Furthermore there was free WiFi and a nice coffee machine which could make 4-5 different types of coffee. The TV had quite a few english-speaking channels which was a further plus.

This hotel is highly recommended! We went other 3 and four star hotels in Europe and non of them were of this standard.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for three nights in a standard room overlooking the canal. Its situated about 15 mins walk from the Centraal railway station, but is not served by public transport (trams or buses). The staff were very helpful helping us get around the city as first time visitors. The 10 euro breakfasts were more than adequate and when it came to checking out on the last day of our stay, we were allowed to leave our bags at reception for our early evening flight. A very good experience and I would recommend this hotel to others as it is in a quiet and pleasant area. A warning though. My wife's purse was stolen on the tram on our last day. Please take care of your valuables on public transport in the city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

My friend and I had such a positive experience staying at Hotel Sebastian. The hotel was in a fab location - out of the tourist hub in a peaceful street by a canal, but a stones throw away from all that Amsterdam has to offer. The staff were exceptionally warm and friendly, helping at every opportunity with advice / guidance. The hotel itself was clean, modern and very comfortable. Rooms were cozy but not at all claustrophobic, and the room was really well equipped with extra luxuries such as a coffee machine, ipod dock and a selection of lovely bathroom toiletries, All the little touches that turn a hotel experience into something you remember. It was also really reasonably priced considering how central the hotel was, which made the experience even more positive. I would 100% go back and stay there again!

Room Tip: Apparently their small doubles / twins are really small if sharing with someone else. We had a mediu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This hotel is an easy walk from central station along a lovely canal. The staff is amazing! They were so friendly and helpful and deserve much praise. The decor is dark and funky, lots of purple, gold and black. Our mid sized canal view room was rather cramped but comfy enough. Since we were on the third floor, the view wasn't so great as the window was actually below us. The first night was rather warm and there was no a/c but staff provided an extra fan.
The hotel is close to great restaurants and the staff made great recommendations. Not so close to trams though if this matters to you. Convenient bar and breakfast which is not a bad deal with the Trip Advisor discount.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights on a weekend break from August 16-18.
The hotel is very well-located. Though only a 10-minute walk from Central Station, its peaceful canalside location is away from the noisier more touristy areas. It was perfectly placed for meandering along the canals, stopping in various restaurants, cafés and shops, which is what we wanted most to do during this short break. It is not particularly near any bus or tram stops, but it is perfect if you like walking.
The hotel is quite interestingly decorated, in a sort of "modern kitsch" style which suited its tone. The canal-view room was small but perfectly adequate, with a comfortable bed, clean bathroom and enough wardrobe space.
Breakfast was a nice buffet selection, and the breakfast attendant lady was helpful.
The staff were particularly pleasant and helpful here. In particular, the afternoon/evening receptionist on August 17 went to a lot of trouble to find a boat cruise that suited us, as we wanted to be in a small, open boat, not one of the large covered touristy ones. They also have a fast and efficient taxi-calling service. They were not exaggerating when they told us that all they needed to do was press a button, and the taxi would be there in 5 minutes (we needed a taxi to get to the bus station for our departure).

Room Tip: Canal-view rooms mean a little noise from the street, but this is not excessive, and it worth it to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Sebastian's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sebastian's

Address: Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sebastian's 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Keizersgracht, one of the most picturesque canals in the heart of Amsterdam, you will find Sebastian's, a contemporary three-star hotel with a unique and sophisticated design and atmosphere. Whether you are in the capital city for business or to enjoy the vibrant nightlife of Amsterdam, Sebastian's is the place to be. The location alone is worth the stay: a stone's throw from the Jordaan district, with its numerous cafés and restaurants, and Haarlemmerstraat, home to a wide variety of shops and a number of colourful Amsterdam outdoor markets. The hotel bar also boasts a unique and charming atmosphere. It is a ‘real' bar with a contemporary, trendy design and a meeting place for both young and old, who come here to enjoy a delicious cappuccino, cold beer or glass of one of the wide range of wines served. All of this can be enjoyed in a relaxed, jazzy setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, EasyToBook and Venere so you can book your Hotel Sebastian's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sebastian's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.