We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sebastian's

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sebastian's to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sebastian's
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #16 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent hotel, excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

My friend and I had such a positive experience staying at Hotel Sebastian. The hotel was in a fab location - out of the tourist hub in a peaceful street by a canal, but a stones throw away from all that Amsterdam has to offer. The staff were exceptionally warm and friendly, helping at every opportunity with advice / guidance. The hotel itself was clean, modern and very comfortable. Rooms were cozy but not at all claustrophobic, and the room was really well equipped with extra luxuries such as a coffee machine, ipod dock and a selection of lovely bathroom toiletries, All the little touches that turn a hotel experience into something you remember. It was also really reasonably priced considering how central the hotel was, which made the experience even more positive. I would 100% go back and stay there again!

Room Tip: Apparently their small doubles / twins are really small if sharing with someone else. We had a mediu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    331
    176
    19
    2
    1
See reviews for
67
294
40
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mission Viejo, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This hotel is an easy walk from central station along a lovely canal. The staff is amazing! They were so friendly and helpful and deserve much praise. The decor is dark and funky, lots of purple, gold and black. Our mid sized canal view room was rather cramped but comfy enough. Since we were on the third floor, the view wasn't so great as the window was actually below us. The first night was rather warm and there was no a/c but staff provided an extra fan.
The hotel is close to great restaurants and the staff made great recommendations. Not so close to trams though if this matters to you. Convenient bar and breakfast which is not a bad deal with the Trip Advisor discount.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights on a weekend break from August 16-18.
The hotel is very well-located. Though only a 10-minute walk from Central Station, its peaceful canalside location is away from the noisier more touristy areas. It was perfectly placed for meandering along the canals, stopping in various restaurants, cafés and shops, which is what we wanted most to do during this short break. It is not particularly near any bus or tram stops, but it is perfect if you like walking.
The hotel is quite interestingly decorated, in a sort of "modern kitsch" style which suited its tone. The canal-view room was small but perfectly adequate, with a comfortable bed, clean bathroom and enough wardrobe space.
Breakfast was a nice buffet selection, and the breakfast attendant lady was helpful.
The staff were particularly pleasant and helpful here. In particular, the afternoon/evening receptionist on August 17 went to a lot of trouble to find a boat cruise that suited us, as we wanted to be in a small, open boat, not one of the large covered touristy ones. They also have a fast and efficient taxi-calling service. They were not exaggerating when they told us that all they needed to do was press a button, and the taxi would be there in 5 minutes (we needed a taxi to get to the bus station for our departure).

Room Tip: Canal-view rooms mean a little noise from the street, but this is not excessive, and it worth it to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We loved our five-nite stay at Hotel Sebastians Amsterdam Aug 12 - 17 for many reasons.

1. Perfect staff in every area. Thoroughly courteous, friendly, could not do enough to make your stay more pleasant or satisfying.

2. We got the best deal booking direct through the hotel and always felt completely informed and comfortable with our reservation status, no prepayment was required. We opted for their "large double" which was a huge comfortable room set back from the street over a quiet, peaceful, totally pleasant inner courtyard one would never suspect from the street. Not that the street itself was anything but quiet and pleasant. This hotel is at the foot of the major Keizersgracht Canal in the desirable canal belt of the historic old Centrum. The huge a/c room was our splurge for this 3-week European holiday, although in shopping for the room we saw that they have other smaller and more affordable options available.

3. The hotel is in the Jordaan district, where we had not stayed in our previous 11 visits, and was an excellent base for exploring the Jordaan and the varied shopping on nearby Haarlemerstraat, which is a popular area among many long-time A'dam fans but somewhat out of the way unless making it a point to stay in this area.

4. Hotel had a great "Tripadvisor Special" - half-price on their already reasonable 10 euro breakfast buffet. We had arranged breakfast included deals the first two weeks of the trip so that by this time I was about "breakfasted out" and more inclined at this point to sleep in and rest tired muscles and joints. But my fiancee did the breakfast buffet the first morning and proclaimed it just fine, although she opted to sleep in with me the rest of our stay and grab a bite when we finally set out on the town.

5. Amsterdam is a walker's paradise and a highlite of any Amsterdam stay for us is the joy of getting out and exploring and enjoying the city on foot. We have always tried to stay in close proximity to a tram stop in all our previous stays as the tram is so handy and user friendly. It so happens that the area of Sebastians is not particularly well-served by great A'dam public transportation. We knew this going in, but be advised that if you are planning some crosstown activities or destinations, you will already be a pretty hefty hike away from either of the two nearest tram stops. The hotel states that they have deal with the official taxi union for 10 euro fares to Centraal Station and 40 euro fares to Schiphol airport. Unfortunately the taxi union seemed to be conveniently unaware of this arrangement charging us 12.50 and 50 euros to Centraal Station and Schiphol, respectively. You win a few, you lose a few.

6 We really enjoyed our stay at Sebastians and appreciated the hotel, its staff, and location. I would gladly stay there again if the current legislative difficulties get ironed out. If not, then unfortunately, this might have been our final visit to Jolly Old Amsterdam. That would be a shame.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed for two nights in this nice hotel in Amsterdam .
The hotel is in front of a beautiful and quiet canal of the city.
The neighbourhood is composed of many tipical holland houses and hotels and some restaurants, but some walks later you will find the Jordaan discrict with restaurants and some shops , but all very calm and quiet and bit far from the caotic centre.
In any case you can reach the centre with a 5 minute walk and the position of this hotel make him a good choice to visit the city by walk , as we made.
The hotel is very nice, I like the forniture and decors and the room was not too small and well equipped with beautiful canal view.
However the rooms walls were very skinny and , since the hotel was full in this period, you could here everything even late in the night and it was hard to sleep (due to other rude guests...).
The staff, in the other side, was extremely efficient and all the receptionists were very kind and friendly and the gave s a map of the city and many information on the restaurant and anything we need. Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uttlesford, Essex
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We spent our Ruby (40th) wedding in Amsterdam, at Sebastian's and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves! On the day, in discussion with the receptionist, we mentioned that it was our anniversary. Later in the day, we were very surprised when a knock at our door heralded the arrival of a bottle of champagne, courtesy of the management. We were a little unsteady when we went out to dinner later!
We booked the hotel through Tripadvisor and got half price breakfast. Plus, on arrival, the guy in reception said he would upgrade us to a bigger room when one became available. We were upgraded to a slightly bigger room - but with a smaller bathroom!
Both rooms were big enough - but not exactly spacious. Both had a view over the canal, a comfortable bed, a wardrobe/cupboard, a couple of chairs, a fridge (containing the minibar) and a coffee machine.
Breakfast was good. As well as the usual continental breakfast (rolls, cold meat, cheese), scrambled egg, bacon and sausage was also available - and very good! There was a coffee machine in the breakfast room, so unlimited coffee to drink. We sat by the window and watched Amsterdam cycling to work as we ate our breakfast.
It's worth noting that there is a lift - a good point if you're not very fit. However, the decor is very dark - blacks, dark purples and so on - so not easy to see your way about if your eyes are weak. But these are mere details - this hotel's strength is in its friendly and helpful staff!

Room Tip: I recommend a room with a view over the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, MA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

An excellent boutique style hotel right in the center of the city. Very close to all attractions, Central Station, transportation. Very modern rooms and decorations with a Nescafe machine in the room, air conditioning (great for a surprisingly warm weekend for Amsterdam), and wireless internet. The breakfast is extra (12 euros). I didn't get it but it looked delicious. I really loved that the hotel emailed me directly after making my reservation through booking.com to confirm. I already have a bike in the city but you can rent them at the hotel which seems nice so you don't have to wait in lines with dozens of other people doing similarly at the main locations.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sebastian's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sebastian's

Address: Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sebastian's 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Keizersgracht, one of the most picturesque canals in the heart of Amsterdam, you will find Sebastian's, a contemporary three-star hotel with a unique and sophisticated design and atmosphere. Whether you are in the capital city for business or to enjoy the vibrant nightlife of Amsterdam, Sebastian's is the place to be. The location alone is worth the stay: a stone's throw from the Jordaan district, with its numerous cafés and restaurants, and Haarlemmerstraat, home to a wide variety of shops and a number of colourful Amsterdam outdoor markets. The hotel bar also boasts a unique and charming atmosphere. It is a ‘real' bar with a contemporary, trendy design and a meeting place for both young and old, who come here to enjoy a delicious cappuccino, cold beer or glass of one of the wide range of wines served. All of this can be enjoyed in a relaxed, jazzy setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Hotel.de and Venere so you can book your Hotel Sebastian's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sebastian's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.