We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, Quiet Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sebastian's

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sebastian's to your Saves list
Hotel Sebastian's
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Offer
Ranked #10 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Pompano Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Peaceful, Quiet Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Stayed at this great hotel for three nights after doing a 15 day transatlantic cruise originating in South Florida. Upon my early arrival from the ship, the desk clerk Lisa said my room would be ready by 10am instead of 2pm. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. I stayed in a canal view room which was spotless. Room was very quiet and a nice treat after touring the city all day. Nespresso machine provided in room free of charge, nice touch. Great location, would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    217
    21
    3
    1
See reviews for
91
386
55
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Amazing hotel - with regards to service from staff , location , cleanlines, amenities. We had a beaut of a room - the double bed room on the 2nd floor overlooking the canal - very spacious for amsterdam standards , a bedroom with the attic part converted into a kind of a little lving room. Wifi connectivity pretty okay. Very helpful staff who pateinetly answered our numerous queries , any time of day or night. always ready to whip out a map and guide us. must make special mention of the decor - fascinating .. very bordello like .. but charmingly so !
Loved the hotel .. loved the city .. will definitely go back ! Bit pricey maybe but definitely worthwhile.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

i have stayed in many hotels in Amsterdam, this was exceptional, the service is amazing, the staff are very helpful, the rooms are small but very well done, and it is probably the best area in Amsterdam.
will come back to Sebastian

Room Tip: it is worth booking the room with breakfast. great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We're just back from three nights in Hotel Sebastian's, and we're already working out when we can go back. Now, obviously, the driver for that is Amsterdam itself, but we'll definitely be looking to stay at the same hotel. The staff are all friendly, and nothing is too much trouble. They're happy to offer advice, look after bags, etc. The decor is unusual but we liked it very much. The room was great - on the 2nd floor with big windows opening onto the canal, it couldn't have been better. Coffee machine, great shower, really comfy bed.. what's not to like? And the location is perfect: walk South-West for narrow streets of bars, cafés and restaurants; walk East for the busier city centre. And we pulled our cases from the train station to the hotel in ten minutes!

Room Tip: Go for a canalside room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I quite enjoyed my few days stay here at Hotel Sebastians. The staff is very friendly and helpful, location is great (on a picturesque and quiet canal, although within striking distance of everything on foot). Breakfasts were great, although not included in the price. Still a smart way to start the day by not having to go look for breakfast. Rooms were clean and comfy. Wifi is included. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Very good service, with small room (but comfort). Not close to the tram station, however with a beautifull canal view and very calm neiborhood. We didn't have problems with noise. The breakfast was good (10 euros). Better to take a cab to the hotel from the central station if you have a heavy luggage. Good value for the price.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

On the busy easter weekend I got the last room available in this hotel. My first impression was on the phone calling to confirm my reservation, the staff was incredibly curteous. I have become accustomed to poor customer service in the USA so it was a great surprise. The hotel is extremely close to Centraal down a quite side street right on the canal. A beautiful spot especially if you don't want to be right in with all the Coffee Shops. When I arrived the excellent customer service continued. The hotel interior was trendy and warm on the cold day we were there, with a great lounge to relax in the middle of a day of touristing. The breakfast was not great, I would probably spend my twelve euro in one of the many cafe's in Amsterdam. The room was tiny but had everything you needed, even a Nespresso machine. The bed was very comfortable and the hotel was quiet. Overall, an amazing experience and my next time in Amsterdam I will surely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sebastian's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sebastian's

Address: Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sebastian's 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Keizersgracht, one of the most picturesque canals in the heart of Amsterdam, you will find Sebastian's, a contemporary three-star hotel with a unique and sophisticated design and atmosphere. Whether you are in the capital city for business or to enjoy the vibrant nightlife of Amsterdam, Sebastian's is the place to be. The location alone is worth the stay: a stone's throw from the Jordaan district, with its numerous cafés and restaurants, and Haarlemmerstraat, home to a wide variety of shops and a number of colourful Amsterdam outdoor markets. The hotel bar also boasts a unique and charming atmosphere. It is a ‘real' bar with a contemporary, trendy design and a meeting place for both young and old, who come here to enjoy a delicious cappuccino, cold beer or glass of one of the wide range of wines served. All of this can be enjoyed in a relaxed, jazzy setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Sebastian's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sebastian's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.