We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, helpful staff, beautiful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sebastian's

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sebastian's to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sebastian's
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #16 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Orem
1 review
“Friendly, helpful staff, beautiful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

I was at the Hotel Sebastian in August for five nights. The staff was very helpful and friendly. the location was beautiful. I was there for business but it made the experience very positive. The close location to the central station was also convenient as well as access to some excellent restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    325
    172
    18
    2
    1
See reviews for
65
288
39
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

Stayed here for one night recently. The check in process was quick and easy. The hotel is in a great location, very quiet, very safe yet very close to the centre of Amsterdam and the train station. the staff were very friendly and welcoming.

Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udine, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

I was at the Hotel Sebastians for 2 nights back in October 2011. I arrived very late, check in was quick. Great location, close to the centre and the station but also very quiet. The canal is lovely. I could walk everywhere and I felt safe even at night. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Room clean and compact, bed very comfortable. I did not have breakfast, but the selection is very good and the service comes with a smile!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed in Hotel Sebastians for 2 nights in October. Sebastians has excellent location - you can walk to everywhere and the trams are just a couple of streets across, it is quiet and safe, and has a wonderful view of the canal out the front and quiet leafy garden at the back. The staff made us feel so welcome. I arrived very early at 8 a.m. but they let me check in as they had a room available and made me coffee and food on arrival and they helped to get me on to my email. They printed routes out for us, made travel plans, helped with information about sightseeing. The room was at the back and quiet and the bed was very comfortable. Everything is very clean and the bathroom is lovely, especially the lovely soaps and products. The coffee is the best I have had for years and the breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Nicosia, Cyprus
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

I stayed in Amsterdam mid October
The hotel was clean comfoertable and close to everything.
People were very friendly and helpful.
The view was superp.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Hotel Sebastians is on Keizersgracht, one of two streets of the same name flanking a canal. At night, it's very quiet.

The Centraal Station, Dam Square, Ann Frank House, Westerkerk and the 9 Streets are within a 10-minute walk. There are no tram stations right by the hotel, by the trams are along Damrak, which is again about 10 minutes' walk from the hotel.

Breakfast of 10 euros a person is pretty good value for money. There are eggs, ham, bacon, salami, mushrooms, different kinds of bread, fruit, juices, milk, teas and good cappuccino to kickstart the morning.

I arrived at 9am and check-in is officially at 11am. After confirming my details and credit card information, the reception staff invited me to have free tea at the eatery right next to the small lobby. She also told me she'd inform me once the guests have vacated the room I booked. After 10 minutes or so, she said my room was ready. I waited 20 minutes or so after that for the room to be cleaned. It would have helped if I was told how long the cleaning would take — I had to go for an 11am walking tour.

The decor is typical trendy gothic, with black carpeting and walls plastered with silk-like fabric. I wish the colours aren't so dark. Light and cheerful colours will make the rooms look bigger. Nevertheless, the room we stayed in was clean. There was no funky smell and no icky feeling when I walked barefoot on the carpet.

Throughout my stay, the reception staff had been helpful. They cheerfully gave us directions and information about tram lines (even though we were told about the wrong track twice for tram 2).

Husband and I enjoyed the walks by the canals. The streets are picturesque and the people are friendly. Herenstraat (near the hotel) has a few good restaurants. We went to Seasons twice. The reception staff told me about Le Belhamel, a French restaurant, but we didn't try it; when we went past each time, the place seemed full even on weekdays.

The rate per night was rather high because a conference was on. Demand for rooms at Amsterdam then was high. We were 'forced' to book Hotel Sebastians, but we are glad the stay turned out to be pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Pros:
Clean.
Good location, everything is nearby.
Front desk staff is very accommodating.
Nice large windows with a great view over the canal.
Family friendly.

Cons:
Rooms are pretty small.
Elevator breaks from time to time.
A bit overpriced on some days.
No AC in most rooms.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sebastian's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sebastian's

Address: Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sebastian's 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Keizersgracht, one of the most picturesque canals in the heart of Amsterdam, you will find Sebastian's, a contemporary three-star hotel with a unique and sophisticated design and atmosphere. Whether you are in the capital city for business or to enjoy the vibrant nightlife of Amsterdam, Sebastian's is the place to be. The location alone is worth the stay: a stone's throw from the Jordaan district, with its numerous cafés and restaurants, and Haarlemmerstraat, home to a wide variety of shops and a number of colourful Amsterdam outdoor markets. The hotel bar also boasts a unique and charming atmosphere. It is a ‘real' bar with a contemporary, trendy design and a meeting place for both young and old, who come here to enjoy a delicious cappuccino, cold beer or glass of one of the wide range of wines served. All of this can be enjoyed in a relaxed, jazzy setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, EasyToBook and Venere so you can book your Hotel Sebastian's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sebastian's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.