We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wasn't sure at first, but it was great.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AMS Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added AMS Suites to your Saves list
AMS Suites
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Elandsstraat 3, 1016RW Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 323 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Paramaribo, Suriname
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“I wasn't sure at first, but it was great.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is not your "normal" hotel. A week or do before arrival I was emailed a pin code and room number. I didn't think too much of it until I arrived at 8 am on a Friday morning and public holiday. My pin code did not work and neither did my data on my phone. Strangely, my reservation details had no phone number. The local espresso cafe did not have wifi. Lesson learned- ensure you have the phone number. If you arrive early, you will need to call and arrange for someone to take your bags. There is no check in desk or anyone there. You access your room through your pin code. When I did get to my room, it was up three steep sets of stairs. I was actually wondering if I had made a big mistake. I hadn't. Room was modern , large and looked out over yards. Location is in Jordaan- near Anne Frank house. Bathrooms were trendy and it was quiet- mind you I was top floor and I'm not sure if that makes a difference. There are big windows that open, fridge, coffee maker ,etc. the bed was very comfortable. There is excellent wifi. There are no phones. No worries- email the property for anything. They arranged my taxi and it arrived 5 minutes early at 4:25 am. It felt very strange to me at first as I wondered how I contact staff. It is all email. I would stay again. There is breakfast offered but I left too early. A grocery store and great restaurants and shops are all in this trendy neighbourhood. I never saw another guest but heard doors a few times so I know others were there. The entrance looks residential and there is no sign but they give great instructions on how to find it.

Room Tip: Have a mobile phone and make sure to have the phone number off the website. You must be able to cli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    18
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
1
53
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We would stay here again. It was easy to catch the bus from the airport just as they said it would be. And the neighborhood is great for strolling, dining and getting to the Amsterdam museums and sites. The steps are steep and our suitcases were a bit bulky and heavy but its definitely the Amsterdam experience to stay in a canal house. The room was large, the bed comfortable, the bathroom modern, and the refrigerator was convenient. We did have a bit of a learning curve with the lock on one of the three doors to access the room but because we had early "check-in" the cleaner was there to open that door and we never had another problem. Also should note there was very good email communication leading up to the stay. Minus a star because some may have trouble with the stairs but we would stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a front room and there was no problem with noise. The view of the guy sleeping across the na...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Wonderful and strange.
No reception, nobody, informations through email how to go in. But the result is a wonderful and modern design huge room (what is not so frequent in Amsterdam) with all the comfort you could imagine, modern bathroom, free wifi, coffee and cookies. You won't see anybody during your stay ... I suppose some pixies come to clean during the night. But you are looking for a discrete love story stay, you will be happy

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

I can't really fault anything with the room itself as its big, everything works, beautifully decorated and did I mention it was big?

However it sells itself as a 4* hotel and charges itself as such. It is not a hotel, it is a luxurious hostel and one without any type of reception or indication at the entrance. If you arrive early, you're screwed as you don't have anywhere to leave the bags and there are no receptions. I understand they do try to accommodate you if you tell them you're arriving early though.

The stairs are very narrow and steep, lugging my 23kg bag up it was hell.

Location is great and I love the Jordaan area with its quirky cafes and boutiques and proximity to both the museum quarters and central amsterdam.

I would say it is what it is and if they had charge it as a hostel (around a 3* hotel instead of a upper 4* hotel), I would definitely give it 5 stars rating but for this price you could get better (if smaller).

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014 via mobile

Felt like home!
Luxurious and quiet, even if located close to the center. Walking distance to everywhere.
Coffee facilities with lovely mini cakes every morning. Very comfortable and spacious for a couple. I still remember the light and warm feeling of the bed!
Great choice!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

This isn't a 'normal' hotel, you get a numeric pincode emailed to you a week before your stay, plug it into the keypad at the door to get in. You have to pull your bags up three flights of stairs, which took my husband about 1 minute and you only have to do it once. You use the same code to get into your room. The room was so modern and gorgeous with french doors that we had open all the time. Bathroom, super modern. Great location. Room was made up daily. We LOVED!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to AMS Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AMS Suites

Address: Elandsstraat 3, 1016RW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 323 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AMS Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AMS Suites is an exclusive Bed & Breakfast with designer suites located in the city center. Our spacious and luxury suites are about 35sqm (400sqf). The interior is a combination of modern design and timeless authentic features. All Suites have free wifi, 42" flatscreens, Senseo coffeemakers etc. and exclusive Cocomat© beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your AMS Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ams Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AMS Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.