We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good but bad :p” 3 of 5 stars
Review of AMS Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added AMS Suites to your Saves list
AMS Suites
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Elandsstraat 3, 1016RW Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 324 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“good but bad :p”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

it was hard to find it as there is no sign and no reception. We arrived early morning so we had to wait till 12pm coz that's when our code was activated. You have to go up the tiny stairs with you luggage :s Room was very nice and spacious, bathroom was nice and clean, however we think there was bed bugs :s Location is not bad, quit area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    15
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
1
50
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

First, the address listed on Tripadvisor is wrong. The house number is 3 and not 1. The reason why it is important to mention is because you can't see from the outside that this is a hotel. It looks like a standard house door. There's NO reference at all of AMS suites at the entry. I wonder if this place is registered as a hotel. There is no reception whatsoever, there is just a keylock at the door. In order tohve the code to get in, you need to callthe number that booking.com provided us with. Ok, once tjis was sorted out, we entered and went to our 3F room. This was located on the third floor and there are only very, very steep stairs....this looks like a students house and not like a hotel. I had difficulties going up these small stairs with all my luggage
The room opened with same code as for the entrance door. The positive surprise was that the room is VERY spacious, especially to Amsterdam standards. There were vouchers in the room for breakfast / brunch at a nearby bakery (Vlaamsche huis - very neat place).
The bed was ok. Impossible to figure out how the heating system could be lowered...I had to open the windows to lower temperature.
The location is very good, nearby shops and restaurants

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Nice room, excellent bed & bathroom, but...water hasn't got enough pressure so showering took very long...
Very good situated for my visit at ADE, it was only 3 minutes away from the conference so ideal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogis-Bossey, Geneve, Switzerland
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Being a native from Amsterdam now living in Switzerland, I felt right at home ascending the steep and narrow stairs. The location is very central in the Jordaan allowing for going everywhere by foot. The room with its minimalistic interior design is very spacious (3B), easily exceeding that of a regular hotel room. Very pleasant to sleep with the possibility of opening the windows and enjoy the Amsterdam background noise and the carillon of the Westerkerk chiming its illustrious tunes. Apart from the mediocre water pressure, the bathroom exceeded expectation with both a large bathtub and large shower cell. The only personal tough to be received is the door opening by an emailed pin for the front door and and room door, as there is no interfacing with any personnel. A minor caviat is the notion that there is no way to store luggage, easily resolved by dropping it that the Central Station locker section that is only a 10 minutes. The free wifi is of high speed quality and very stable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Okay so upon opening the front door our hearts did sink, we had just come from a London Studio that presented the same and was very small inside. We struggled up to open to an amazing space. The studio was very open and spacious with a chic interiors. French doors opened to the charming little street with canal view. Location was perfect close to everything which made getting around super easy. Very clean and the studio was serviced every day. Only drawback really was the stairs which even though we were on the top floor.... they became a pleasure to tread as we knew what awaits at the top. With the size of the space it was a shame it didn't afford more utilities such as cutlery, microwave etc. And if we had to be super critical the water pressure lacked some gusto but as a perfect compliment to a beautiful city Ams was absolutely perfect. We loved Amsterdam and can't wait to return. Without question we would stay here again. Thank you for the wonderful experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the AMS Suites over the first weekend of August. The accommodation is located in the Jordaan district which has a really relaxed and bohemian feel about it, lots of small cafes, bars and restraunts in which to sit and just watch the world go by. Having said that the accommodation is also just a leisurely stroll from everything else Amsterdam has to offer. We stayed in a room on the third floor at the front of the property which was a really good size and overall absolutely superb. The decor is really modern with a large double bed, flat screen TV, coffee making facilities, fridge and safe. The bathroom was also really well appointed with a lovely wet room shower area. We were really pleased that we had chosen this accommodation, it really made us feel that we were experiencing the real Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AMS Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AMS Suites

Address: Elandsstraat 3, 1016RW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 324 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AMS Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AMS Suites is an exclusive Bed & Breakfast with designer suites located in the city center. Our spacious and luxury suites are about 35sqm (400sqf). The interior is a combination of modern design and timeless authentic features. All Suites have free wifi, 42" flatscreens, Senseo coffeemakers etc. and exclusive Cocomat© beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and EasyToBook so you can book your AMS Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ams Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AMS Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.