We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just not good enough...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of AMS Suites

Save Saved
You added AMS Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AMS Suites
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Elandsstraat 3, 1016RW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 303 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Amsterdam
1 review
“Just not good enough...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Nice room, excellent bed & bathroom, but...water hasn't got enough pressure so showering took very long...
Very good situated for my visit at ADE, it was only 3 minutes away from the conference so ideal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    14
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
1
43
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogis-Bossey, Geneve, Switzerland
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Being a native from Amsterdam now living in Switzerland, I felt right at home ascending the steep and narrow stairs. The location is very central in the Jordaan allowing for going everywhere by foot. The room with its minimalistic interior design is very spacious (3B), easily exceeding that of a regular hotel room. Very pleasant to sleep with the possibility of opening the windows and enjoy the Amsterdam background noise and the carillon of the Westerkerk chiming its illustrious tunes. Apart from the mediocre water pressure, the bathroom exceeded expectation with both a large bathtub and large shower cell. The only personal tough to be received is the door opening by an emailed pin for the front door and and room door, as there is no interfacing with any personnel. A minor caviat is the notion that there is no way to store luggage, easily resolved by dropping it that the Central Station locker section that is only a 10 minutes. The free wifi is of high speed quality and very stable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Okay so upon opening the front door our hearts did sink, we had just come from a London Studio that presented the same and was very small inside. We struggled up to open to an amazing space. The studio was very open and spacious with a chic interiors. French doors opened to the charming little street with canal view. Location was perfect close to everything which made getting around super easy. Very clean and the studio was serviced every day. Only drawback really was the stairs which even though we were on the top floor.... they became a pleasure to tread as we knew what awaits at the top. With the size of the space it was a shame it didn't afford more utilities such as cutlery, microwave etc. And if we had to be super critical the water pressure lacked some gusto but as a perfect compliment to a beautiful city Ams was absolutely perfect. We loved Amsterdam and can't wait to return. Without question we would stay here again. Thank you for the wonderful experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the AMS Suites over the first weekend of August. The accommodation is located in the Jordaan district which has a really relaxed and bohemian feel about it, lots of small cafes, bars and restraunts in which to sit and just watch the world go by. Having said that the accommodation is also just a leisurely stroll from everything else Amsterdam has to offer. We stayed in a room on the third floor at the front of the property which was a really good size and overall absolutely superb. The decor is really modern with a large double bed, flat screen TV, coffee making facilities, fridge and safe. The bathroom was also really well appointed with a lovely wet room shower area. We were really pleased that we had chosen this accommodation, it really made us feel that we were experiencing the real Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Just returned from a three night stay @ AMS Suites and loved every minute. Superb location, easy walking distance from all the attractions, bars and cafés, and a great base for exploring the area on foot (we are an older couple but easily coped with walking everywhere).

Super efficient service from the moment we booked – all questions promptly answered by email and details and door code received several days before we were due to fly. Our room was very clean and of a high specification (in our opinion). Large flatscreen TV (not that we found time to watch it), free WiFi, digital safe, coffee machine, slippers… the list goes on.

We found our room very peaceful, no disturbance from other guests in other rooms. The only thing we could hear were the distant chimes of the church bells near Anne Frank House but only because we would sleep with our French window ajar.

Happy to recommend without reservation and we are looking forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: Rooms are situated on floors 2 and 3. We had room 2F, a junior suite, on the 2nd floor at the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed at the AMS suites in mid April and loved it! It was clean, in an excellent neighborhood and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom had a walk in shower with a rain shower fixture and the water pressure was perfect. Check out the Pancakes House about 3 blocks away for a perfect dutch treat. I will certainly book a room here again and I will tell all of my friends to stay here as well.(note, if you cannot climb stairs this place is not for you).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to AMS Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AMS Suites

Address: Elandsstraat 3, 1016RW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 303 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — AMS Suites 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AMS Suites is an exclusive Bed & Breakfast with designer suites located in the city center. Our spacious and luxury suites are about 35sqm (400sqf). The interior is a combination of modern design and timeless authentic features. All Suites have free wifi, 42" flatscreens, Senseo coffeemakers etc. and exclusive Cocomat© beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your AMS Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ams Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AMS Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;