We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AMS Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added AMS Suites to your Saves list
AMS Suites
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Elandsstraat 3, 1016RW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 322 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed at the AMS suites in mid April and loved it! It was clean, in an excellent neighborhood and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom had a walk in shower with a rain shower fixture and the water pressure was perfect. Check out the Pancakes House about 3 blocks away for a perfect dutch treat. I will certainly book a room here again and I will tell all of my friends to stay here as well.(note, if you cannot climb stairs this place is not for you).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    19
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
1
55
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
74 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed @ AMS Suites this easter and we can definitely recommend it. The rooms are large and trendy, situated in the jordaan district it is easy to access all districts in Amsterdam, making it a perfect base if you only have got a couple of days in Fantastic Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

AMS suites are ideal if you want to stay in the centre of Amsterdam, in the really attractive Jordaan area, yet appreciate quiet along with convenience. The superior room that we stayed in was extremely spacious, spotlessly clean, and decorated in a minimalist and restful style. [You have to be prepared to climb steep stairs to get to the room]. There is no reception area but every question sent to the owner is replied to instantly. I would definitely book the room again.

Room Tip: You need to be able to scale steep stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed in a junior suite on my own and it was basically a decent sized modern room with a small bathroom (no bath tub). The owner, Maryanm was very helpful and super efficient with email enquiries with replies within 15mins so there were no concerns that the property didn't have a reception. I asked for a map and an international plug converter and this was no problem - both waitibg for me in the room when I arrived. The junior suite is really just comfortable for one person, so if travelling as a couple this room would be a bit tight. There are a few doors to open and shut while walkibg up the stairs and I found this to be quite noisy when other occupiers were coming in and out of the place.

Very centrally located just off Prinsengracht and many restaurants nearby - I highly recommend Restaurant Envy. Also an easy walk to The Nine Streets and Anne Frank House.

Very good value stay considering accommodation in Amsterdam hotels are so expensive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

me and my wife stayed here early february 2013 in the superior suite. i think for around the 200$ a day you can't really find options in amsterdam at this level. very nice decorated, very clean and in a beautiful area. about 3 minutes walk to the nearest tram station. we stayed on the 3rd floor which means over 40 stairs to climb. although some people would see it as something bad, we actually enjoyed the excercise. there is no problem regarding the fact that it doesnt have a reception 'cuz all the replies to my e-mails were really quick. bootom line, if you don't mind a bit of stair climbing, go for it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Location is perfectly located in the up and coming areas Jordaan however easily walkable to Dam Square and Leidsplien. Good if you don't want to be anywhere near Red Light District. Room was ultra modern, spacious and very clean. There is no reception however I had few enquiries that I emailed and they always replied within 15minutes. Can't wait to stay there again. Fantastic place

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

It wasn't until I stayed at this hotel, that I had ever had a European hotel experience that I wanted to repeat; this place is so comfortable, simple, well-located, quiet and special. The neighborhood is lovely, with bars and shops around the corner. Of course the stairs were hideous and difficult as others noted, and I was worried about a key code entry arriving at dusk and by foot from the bus, but everything worked well and the benefits far outweigh the minor drawbacks. The bed was large and comfy, the french doors open to a beautiful view of a cobblestone street, the shower was modern and clean. We had an in-room fridge that was very utilized during our stay. I've been to Amsterdam three times, and my husband and I have decided it is our new "it" city - the place that suits our travel desires. When we go back, we'll be staying at AMS Suites again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#84 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 534 reviews
Jordaan
DroomBaanHotel
DroomBaanHotel
#215 of 322 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Weber
Hotel Weber
#100 of 322 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Canal Boutique Apartments
Canal Boutique Apartments
#38 of 195 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 73 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
La Remise
La Remise
#72 of 322 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 132 reviews
Jordaan
Bij Tijn op de Gracht
Bij Tijn op de Gracht
#145 of 322 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AMS Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AMS Suites

Address: Elandsstraat 3, 1016RW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 322 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AMS Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AMS Suites is an exclusive Bed & Breakfast with designer suites located in the city center. Our spacious and luxury suites are about 35sqm (400sqf). The interior is a combination of modern design and timeless authentic features. All Suites have free wifi, 42" flatscreens, Senseo coffeemakers etc. and exclusive Cocomat© beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your AMS Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ams Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AMS Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.