We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base to stay in Joordan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AMS Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added AMS Suites to your Saves list
AMS Suites
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Elandsstraat 3, 1016RW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 307 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great base to stay in Joordan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed in a junior suite on my own and it was basically a decent sized modern room with a small bathroom (no bath tub). The owner, Maryanm was very helpful and super efficient with email enquiries with replies within 15mins so there were no concerns that the property didn't have a reception. I asked for a map and an international plug converter and this was no problem - both waitibg for me in the room when I arrived. The junior suite is really just comfortable for one person, so if travelling as a couple this room would be a bit tight. There are a few doors to open and shut while walkibg up the stairs and I found this to be quite noisy when other occupiers were coming in and out of the place.

Very centrally located just off Prinsengracht and many restaurants nearby - I highly recommend Restaurant Envy. Also an easy walk to The Nine Streets and Anne Frank House.

Very good value stay considering accommodation in Amsterdam hotels are so expensive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    14
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
1
46
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

me and my wife stayed here early february 2013 in the superior suite. i think for around the 200$ a day you can't really find options in amsterdam at this level. very nice decorated, very clean and in a beautiful area. about 3 minutes walk to the nearest tram station. we stayed on the 3rd floor which means over 40 stairs to climb. although some people would see it as something bad, we actually enjoyed the excercise. there is no problem regarding the fact that it doesnt have a reception 'cuz all the replies to my e-mails were really quick. bootom line, if you don't mind a bit of stair climbing, go for it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Location is perfectly located in the up and coming areas Jordaan however easily walkable to Dam Square and Leidsplien. Good if you don't want to be anywhere near Red Light District. Room was ultra modern, spacious and very clean. There is no reception however I had few enquiries that I emailed and they always replied within 15minutes. Can't wait to stay there again. Fantastic place

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

It wasn't until I stayed at this hotel, that I had ever had a European hotel experience that I wanted to repeat; this place is so comfortable, simple, well-located, quiet and special. The neighborhood is lovely, with bars and shops around the corner. Of course the stairs were hideous and difficult as others noted, and I was worried about a key code entry arriving at dusk and by foot from the bus, but everything worked well and the benefits far outweigh the minor drawbacks. The bed was large and comfy, the french doors open to a beautiful view of a cobblestone street, the shower was modern and clean. We had an in-room fridge that was very utilized during our stay. I've been to Amsterdam three times, and my husband and I have decided it is our new "it" city - the place that suits our travel desires. When we go back, we'll be staying at AMS Suites again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

So here are the unvarnished pros and cons about this place:

Pros:
1. The Location. The apartment is located in the trendy Jordaan area of Amsterdam. This is a wonderful place to stay, 2 minutes from Anne Franks house, a 10 minute cycle to the park, a 5 minute stroll to Dam Square and all the shopping your little feet can handle! It is located down a quiet residental street so you really feel like you are one of the natives for a weekend! The Jordaan area also has many wonderful quaint shops and boutiques and cafes.
2. The Apartment. There is no lobby, no loud bars, no people shouting on the corridors. Instead we were emailed a pin code to get into the building and into our room (2F) and other than that we had none of the typical buzz of a generic hotel. It was bliss. House-keeping service the room each day. The enitre place was spotless. The room was large with beautiful wood beams on the ceiling and wall to wall windows with a small balcony out onto the street. It was a lovely temperature with a hot shower in a very trendy bathroom.
The Cons:
1. The Room: Having stayed in 5 star before (here in Ireland and abroad) we were left disappointed. The hotel website is wonderful but the rooms are really not all that. We had no bath tub - disappointing for 5 star, and the bed, although king size, was actually two large single beds pushed together - again quiet disapponiting!
2. The Price: We paid 200euro per night for this room. Granted we stayed there over New Year's Eve but even so it was definintely not worth this amount. If you can get this place for less....go for it....but don't splash out thinking that you are staying in the lap of luxury as you are not!

Note: If you have an mobility issues the really steep stairs may be a problem. They didn't bother us one bit but they may be something to consider.

Room Tip: The Junior Suite has no bathtub! Ask for a one that does!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

It took me a while searching around online to find a hotel that wasn't super expensive that had some dutch character/style/aesthetic. As soon as we opened the door to our suite (2B) we were very happy with our choice. The suite was very large, light, bright, modern, and quiet. We didn't see or hear anyone else during our stay. The receptionless hotel concept is great - maybe not for everyone - but any for savvy traveller with a smartphone it's perfect. We recieved an email just as we arrived in Amsterdam that our suite was ready early and our pin code would be active when we arrived. Located amongst the 9 streets - it's perfect for couples or people who don't want to stay in the city centre. The area is full of good restaurants and boutiques and is the most beautiful part of Amsterdam. We found the building easily and it was a short walk (15min) from Central Station. We will stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AMS Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AMS Suites

Address: Elandsstraat 3, 1016RW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 307 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — AMS Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AMS Suites is an exclusive Bed & Breakfast with designer suites located in the city center. Our spacious and luxury suites are about 35sqm (400sqf). The interior is a combination of modern design and timeless authentic features. All Suites have free wifi, 42" flatscreens, Senseo coffeemakers etc. and exclusive Cocomat© beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your AMS Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ams Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AMS Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.