We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AMS Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added AMS Suites to your Saves list
AMS Suites
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Elandsstraat 3, 1016RW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

It wasn't until I stayed at this hotel, that I had ever had a European hotel experience that I wanted to repeat; this place is so comfortable, simple, well-located, quiet and special. The neighborhood is lovely, with bars and shops around the corner. Of course the stairs were hideous and difficult as others noted, and I was worried about a key code entry arriving at dusk and by foot from the bus, but everything worked well and the benefits far outweigh the minor drawbacks. The bed was large and comfy, the french doors open to a beautiful view of a cobblestone street, the shower was modern and clean. We had an in-room fridge that was very utilized during our stay. I've been to Amsterdam three times, and my husband and I have decided it is our new "it" city - the place that suits our travel desires. When we go back, we'll be staying at AMS Suites again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    15
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
1
49
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

So here are the unvarnished pros and cons about this place:

Pros:
1. The Location. The apartment is located in the trendy Jordaan area of Amsterdam. This is a wonderful place to stay, 2 minutes from Anne Franks house, a 10 minute cycle to the park, a 5 minute stroll to Dam Square and all the shopping your little feet can handle! It is located down a quiet residental street so you really feel like you are one of the natives for a weekend! The Jordaan area also has many wonderful quaint shops and boutiques and cafes.
2. The Apartment. There is no lobby, no loud bars, no people shouting on the corridors. Instead we were emailed a pin code to get into the building and into our room (2F) and other than that we had none of the typical buzz of a generic hotel. It was bliss. House-keeping service the room each day. The enitre place was spotless. The room was large with beautiful wood beams on the ceiling and wall to wall windows with a small balcony out onto the street. It was a lovely temperature with a hot shower in a very trendy bathroom.
The Cons:
1. The Room: Having stayed in 5 star before (here in Ireland and abroad) we were left disappointed. The hotel website is wonderful but the rooms are really not all that. We had no bath tub - disappointing for 5 star, and the bed, although king size, was actually two large single beds pushed together - again quiet disapponiting!
2. The Price: We paid 200euro per night for this room. Granted we stayed there over New Year's Eve but even so it was definintely not worth this amount. If you can get this place for less....go for it....but don't splash out thinking that you are staying in the lap of luxury as you are not!

Note: If you have an mobility issues the really steep stairs may be a problem. They didn't bother us one bit but they may be something to consider.

Room Tip: The Junior Suite has no bathtub! Ask for a one that does!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

It took me a while searching around online to find a hotel that wasn't super expensive that had some dutch character/style/aesthetic. As soon as we opened the door to our suite (2B) we were very happy with our choice. The suite was very large, light, bright, modern, and quiet. We didn't see or hear anyone else during our stay. The receptionless hotel concept is great - maybe not for everyone - but any for savvy traveller with a smartphone it's perfect. We recieved an email just as we arrived in Amsterdam that our suite was ready early and our pin code would be active when we arrived. Located amongst the 9 streets - it's perfect for couples or people who don't want to stay in the city centre. The area is full of good restaurants and boutiques and is the most beautiful part of Amsterdam. We found the building easily and it was a short walk (15min) from Central Station. We will stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liege, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I went to the amssuites for a weekend (one night). I was very satisfied of the huge rooms. They were clean, the temperature was nice. What was missing was maybe a picture on the long wall beside the bed, it looked a bit cold. You have to notice that there are a lot of stairs to climb (yes you have to climb!). And there is no recption, it's like your own appartment when you go there.
Well situated, the best tram station is the Westermakrt, the other ones are more far away. Lovely shopping streets around...So happy!

If you want to read more about check out: www.the-belgian-girl.blogspot.com

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

great location, "walking distance" from every attraction if you like walking. Nice lesbian local bar on the corner of the street:) welcomed gays as well. try Balthazar kitchen if you would like a good dinner, not that great service but the main course saved everything. many other greate local resturants. Also recommend Little Collins as a breakfast/lunch place, its situated some blocks away but is a great way to begin your exploring of Amsterdam, after to glasses of prosecco filled to the rimm and a hardy breakfastplate you will feel all day you are ready for some Rembrandt and van Gogh.
Got a junior suite on the 2.rd floor. Great beeds and lovely bathroom.
Great service from the cleaning staff, no reception, but emidiate response on email. Got to leav luggage in the room for 6 hours the day we checked out.
The key-code worked fine.

All over a great place to stay

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to AMS Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AMS Suites

Address: Elandsstraat 3, 1016RW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AMS Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AMS Suites is an exclusive Bed & Breakfast with designer suites located in the city center. Our spacious and luxury suites are about 35sqm (400sqf). The interior is a combination of modern design and timeless authentic features. All Suites have free wifi, 42" flatscreens, Senseo coffeemakers etc. and exclusive Cocomat© beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your AMS Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ams Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AMS Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.