We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice building, outdated room.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sandton Hotel de Filosoof

Save Saved
You added Sandton Hotel de Filosoof to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sandton Hotel de Filosoof
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Anna van den Vondelstraat 6, 1054 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #228 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Swansea
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice building, outdated room.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We loved the location, right next to the Vondelpark and on the main Overtoom road. It was an easy walk in to the centre of Amsterdam, or tram ride during the rain.
The hotel building is lovely and full of character. We stayed in the 'Zen' room which was fantastically decorated and had a lovely view of the garden from the tall windows.
One problem was the quality of the fittings. One of the lamps didn't work unless propped up, because the bulb fitting is loose. The bed, mattress and duvet need to be replaced - they are lumpy, sagging and overall uncomfortable. Also the carpet is worn through at a couple of points around the bed, and very rough on bare feet.
Also, despite a maid visiting our room every day and tidying, our sheets weren't changed for 4 days.

If the bed had been better then I could have easily overlooked all the other issues. Because I was waking up with back ache, the other problems wound me up even further!

We enjoyed our time in Amsterdam, and if the rooms were updated with new furniture then I would definitely stay here again.

The area around the hotel has lots of great restaurants and cafe's, so no need to pay the €15 for breakfast.
In regards to the airport - we caught the train to Leyalan, then the tram to H.P. Heijestraat.

Room Tip: Ask for the newest bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    107
    65
    46
    33
See reviews for
26
148
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I stayed for 6 nights in room 10, the Zen room. The carpet had crumbs on and threadbare patches, and there is a lot of chipped paint and damaged furniture. The bed was rather lumpy, not very comfortable and they didn't change the sheet at all which had a small rip in, they did make the bed every day. It was a small room, however the ceiling was high which gave more of a feeling of space, and the window was large and opened wide. The bathroom was very small but had a lovely powerful shower. They don't have tea/coffee , hairdryer or many toiletries in the room but you can borrow hair dryer from reception. The staff I found to be all very friendly and gave us lots of helpful info on local things. I didn't try breakfast as seemed expensive, there's a great bagel place nearby!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bari, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Now I am a big fan of Amsterdam and Holland in general. Fun, original, idiosyncratic, I've been to Amsterdam three times and always loved it. So this hotel pretty much reflected my Amsterdam experiences; it's unique, it's super-friendly and it's... odd. We were in the building across the road from reception so it really felt like staying in an apartment. The Spinoza room, 132. A large double with an adjoining single within the room, a slender bathroom which has seen better days (possibly in the 70s) and a great covered balcony overlooking the backyard which served as take-out breakfast room and suitcase deposit.
Why breakfast room? Well, breakfast is not included. Call me a tight old trout but there were three of us staying 6 nights and at €15 p.p, that's €270 for a handful of coffees and some croissants. No thanks!
Staff were super friendly and anything we needed they were happy to supply (hair driers, extra towels, info). The room was very quiet and comfortable in a cosy way, certainly spacious (not the bathroom) and perfect for a family of 3.
Yet here's the but.... cleanliness. I'm a fairly typical bloke so really not so bothered about staying in an antiseptic hospital ward with hourly cleaning. However, this place has a problem with cleaning. Dust mites were having a party in our room and never seemed to leave. Heavy curtains and carpets didn't help and crumbs dropped on the floor by our 6 year old one morning were still there when we returned in the evening. Ok, big deal, it didn't ruin our stay. But this is a hotel that costs over €130 a night so Sandton Hotels, you really really really need to think about basic cleanliness!
Grumble over. We enjoyed our stay. And I hope to come back. With a Dust Buster in my suitcase. :)

Room Tip: We stayed in the annexe across the road, house #13, room at the back. Veeeeery quiet, slept like a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We arrived and were put in a room on the top floor where with no air con and a temperature of late 30's, early 40's......room was claustrophobic and bore no resemblance to room photos on website. This is not what I would call a boutique hotel.......reception duty manager very very charming and helpful and immediately moved us to a larger room.....but the hassle and across the street is not my kind of experience....and the price is not really compensating for this.....

Breakfast was terrible.....coffee made at 7am.....service begins 730am.....by 8am the food is inedible and coffee undrinkable.

The mistake is classing this hotel as a 3 star boutique hotel when really it is an upmarket guest house.

Reduce rates, improve breakfast and stop letting out the small rooms......then we will come back.....otherwise......never again.

Room Tip: Never book the cheapest room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The two women who worked on reception were lovely and very helpful. The garden and communal areas were nice, and room 16 was fine. The rooms at the front seem more spacious. However, our stay didn't start well as the man who worked the late shift was very unwelcoming and grumpy. We were given room 10 (Zen Room) which was awful, cramped, stank of cigarettes, small, uncomfortable bed, threadbare carpet and mould on the bathroom ceiling. We were moved to 20 the next day which had a lovely view of the garden but a very small TV and rather cramped. We were given 16 which was much better. It would be nice to have shampoo n the rooms and a hair dryer. I would stay here again but would choose a room carefully.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are roomier, some have balconies, rooms at the back very quiet and nice view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Nicely located basic hotel, which is of good value. Peaceful and quiet location by Vondelpark. The only downside it that the wi-fi connection was non-existent in the main building, so I had to change my room to the annex on the other side of the street.

There's a small bar in the main building, the rooms are small and basic, but the charming thing is the decoration (great philosophers' sayings on the walls).

For a budget traveller this surely is worth trying.

Room Tip: Confirm that the wifi connection is good in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed in this hotel as a special treat to my daughter who is a big fan of The Fault in Our Stars. Despite numerous changes in dates, the staff was always willing to accommodate. We travelled to another city before checking in and they were kind enough to allow us to leave our luggage. The "stars" room is a small, charming room. The floor tilts to one side and the bathroom is the size of a closet but its all part of the charm. The big window opens out to beautiful Vondel Park.
We moved to a suite the following day (the Da Vinci suite) and although the suite was huge, the stairs leading to the suite was a real killer and the windows in the living area didn't seem to open.
So, I still prefer the "stars" room.
Special thanks to Taruna and the young gentleman who helped us with our luggage.
The hotel may seem a bit far from the city centre, but really it's just a tram ride away or if you prefer to walk 10 to 15 minutes.
Would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandton Hotel de Filosoof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Hotel de Filosoof

Address: Anna van den Vondelstraat 6, 1054 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandton Hotel de Filosoof 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Sandton Hotel de Filosoof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandton Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandton Hotel de Filosoof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.