We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandton Hotel de Filosoof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sandton Hotel de Filosoof to your Saves list
Sandton Hotel de Filosoof
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Anna van den Vondelstraat 6, 1054 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #235 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Turku, Finland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good value for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Nicely located basic hotel, which is of good value. Peaceful and quiet location by Vondelpark. The only downside it that the wi-fi connection was non-existent in the main building, so I had to change my room to the annex on the other side of the street.

There's a small bar in the main building, the rooms are small and basic, but the charming thing is the decoration (great philosophers' sayings on the walls).

For a budget traveller this surely is worth trying.

Room Tip: Confirm that the wifi connection is good in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    112
    69
    49
    35
See reviews for
27
156
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed in this hotel as a special treat to my daughter who is a big fan of The Fault in Our Stars. Despite numerous changes in dates, the staff was always willing to accommodate. We travelled to another city before checking in and they were kind enough to allow us to leave our luggage. The "stars" room is a small, charming room. The floor tilts to one side and the bathroom is the size of a closet but its all part of the charm. The big window opens out to beautiful Vondel Park.
We moved to a suite the following day (the Da Vinci suite) and although the suite was huge, the stairs leading to the suite was a real killer and the windows in the living area didn't seem to open.
So, I still prefer the "stars" room.
Special thanks to Taruna and the young gentleman who helped us with our luggage.
The hotel may seem a bit far from the city centre, but really it's just a tram ride away or if you prefer to walk 10 to 15 minutes.
Would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed one night with 2 friends while exploring Amsterdam. The check-in took a while which is not a good sign in any hotel. The lobby and common areas are outdated and run down but the back yard is good for working and smoking. Our room was in another building across the street. The room was very small, the beds were way too soft and the room desperately needs an upgrade. For a full grown man the bathroom was tiny. But the room and the bathroom were both clean. The location was pretty good. Would not stay there again for the price we paid nor recommend to friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Main building room I stayed in had very comfy bed, sparkling clean bathroom and the quiet location that the whole hotel enjoys near the Vondel park. The high traffic public areas, in particular the narrow stairs and corridors need a lick of paint and new carpets though. I gather from colleagues that the suites in the buildings opposite were very much larger and did not need this attention though.

Friendly staff. Think of breakfast as a good continental rather than full buffet. No restaurant, but 1000s on your doorstep!

Quick freshen up and this place would be excellent. As is it can be good-to-excellent value (bearing in mind Amsterdam is never really cheap) depending on the room you get.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I were here with my boyfriend for four nights, so the good things are that the hotel has a nice location and the staff is really helpful and friendly, however on our first night the security box did not worked out, the next day we had to ask for towels and also somehow the fire alarm woke up us around 7:00 a.m..... The facilittes look old and the floor crunches.

Room Tip: As soon as you get your room make sure the security box works, have clean towels and check your pill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Came for 4 nights for a friends birthday. A triple room for 3 people was plenty size wise. Nice hotel and great location only 15 minutes walk from anywhere. Price of stay was superb. Would recommend anyone having a short stay.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crediton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Sandton Hotel de Filosoof offers good quality accommodation at very reasonable prices in a convenient location in the city of Amsterdam - convenient in the sense that while it is well served by city tram No1, which runs past the end of Anna van den Vondelstraat and takes you to the city centre and Centraal Staion, the hotel is alongside the wonderful Vondelpark, a green area for the city and its people. The staff are cheerful and most helpful, and there are philosophical texts in the rooms, including books, as if to underline the name of the hotel. Strangely, though, I saw nothing by Spinoza, surely Amsterdam's greatest thinker. Highly recommended - the hotel and Spinoza.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandton Hotel de Filosoof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Hotel de Filosoof

Address: Anna van den Vondelstraat 6, 1054 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #235 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandton Hotel de Filosoof 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sandton Hotel de Filosoof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandton Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandton Hotel de Filosoof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.