We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GRUBBY!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sandton Hotel de Filosoof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sandton Hotel de Filosoof to your Saves list
Sandton Hotel de Filosoof
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Anna van den Vondelstraat 6, 1054 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #242 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Cheshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“GRUBBY!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

The Filosoof is just grubby, dirty and nasty. The room we occupied was minute. It would have been small for a single never mind a twin room.
The walls carpets and paintwork were filthy. There was even the residue of someone's nose on the wall. The bathroom was a joke. It appeared to be a cupboard! The area that you could actually stand in whilst using its facilities was about 18" by 12". The sink in the "bathroom" was so small that it could only hold about a litre of water.
There were three clothes hangers in a kind of slit in the wall and that was the total storage for clothes, so you had to live out of your suitcase. The beds (single) were awful. Uncomfortable, small and rickety. There was one pillow and a dirty cushion per bed.
The windows hadn't seen water for months and the window sill was disgusting. Walls and ceiling were dirty and marked. The carpet was badly stained. In one corner of our room there was around 3ft of cable piled up that was connected via horrible conduits to a hole in the ceiling.
At one stage the corridor roof was leaking outside one of our rooms. The carpet became soaked and remained soaked throughout our stay.
The hotel may be nicely placed in a quiet street and close to the park but there is nothing else to say in its favour. Cannot see how it got 3 stars.
A very unpleasant experience. Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    112
    69
    49
    36
See reviews for
27
156
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

What a lovely little gem of a hotel, right near the park.
Staff we so friendly and really helpful. They gave us maps and advice on where to go and what to see.
Yes it's slightly dated but that just adds to it's charm! If you want to stay in your hotel all day, don't go to a beautiful city and waste time in your room... The beds were comfy and the neighbourhood felt safe.
It is slightly away from the centre but everywhere is walkable (took us 15 minutes to get to old town).
Will definitely be returning on our next trip to Amsterdam!
Centraal station to the hotel: take the no1 tram and get off at Jan Pieter Heijestraat (on Overtoom), walk slightly back in the direction you came from and it's the 2nd street on the right; Anna Van Den Vondelstraat.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

First time in Amsterdam with my friend and had the friendliest welcome from all of the staff! As well as giving us several maps and information on transport and locations of attractions which was great. Nice clean room, brilliant price. Had such a fun time! Definitely be returning.. Also no time limit on when returning to the hotel at silly o'clock!!! Even then the staff would always welcome with a hello. Very highly recommended. Thank you hotel de Filosoof!!! From the two blonde English girls!! X

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Stayed here for one night 1st April quirky hotel nice room and bathroom lovely garden which was nice to sit in on a lovely sunny day booked a double room but got a twin room the major down side was no tea making facilities in room .. We English like our tea in the morning didn't have breakfast here as 15 euros was a bit expensive and they didn't serve full English breakfast also tv in room was very small no decent channels either ... Hotel is in a nice area next to vondelpark lovely walk on a sunny day .. Glad we only payed £59 and not £120 as listed on other sites as I would have been disappointed

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Safe and charming neighbourhood. Clean and comfortable hotel with a lovely garden. Overpriced breakfast, but other than that the hotel was perfect. Tram is so close, and can walk to almost every attraction in town.

Room Tip: Beds and bedding were super comfy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Our trip to Amsterdam had to include a stay at the Hotel Filosoof to satisfy our 13 year old daughter's fascination with the John Greene book, "the fault in our stars."
She was not disappointed even if we were a little.
The location is fabulous just by Vondelpark and it is a quiet beautiful neighbourhood. The hotel to be honest is a little tired and could do with some renovation but the atmosphere is quirky and cool and the staff cannot do enough to help. We are a family of 5 and asked for a triple and a double. Unfortunately they were on different floors but not far from each other so we divided and conquered. The double room was very small but to be fair we did not spend much time in there other than to sleep.. Breakfast was good and the room that we ate in was fabulous. All in all we had a good experience but I could understand why some may not. The staff very kindly showed my daughter to room 24 from the book and could not have been nicer.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

The staff were very helpful with advice and the room we stayed in was across the road in an annex and was warm and comfortable and cleaned everyday, hairdryer provided when asked. Easy access to airport via tram outside and train. Easy walking distance through the park to the main Art Galleries and to canal with boat trips. The tram was excellent for getting further into the city and runs frequently just up the road.
Highly recommend for value, helpfulness and quiet location.
Free internet access as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandton Hotel de Filosoof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Hotel de Filosoof

Address: Anna van den Vondelstraat 6, 1054 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #242 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandton Hotel de Filosoof 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sandton Hotel de Filosoof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandton Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandton Hotel de Filosoof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.