We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandton Hotel de Filosoof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sandton Hotel de Filosoof to your Saves list
Sandton Hotel de Filosoof
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Anna van den Vondelstraat 6, 1054 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Ranked #236 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Safe and charming neighbourhood. Clean and comfortable hotel with a lovely garden. Overpriced breakfast, but other than that the hotel was perfect. Tram is so close, and can walk to almost every attraction in town.

Room Tip: Beds and bedding were super comfy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    108
    67
    49
    34
See reviews for
27
153
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Our trip to Amsterdam had to include a stay at the Hotel Filosoof to satisfy our 13 year old daughter's fascination with the John Greene book, "the fault in our stars."
She was not disappointed even if we were a little.
The location is fabulous just by Vondelpark and it is a quiet beautiful neighbourhood. The hotel to be honest is a little tired and could do with some renovation but the atmosphere is quirky and cool and the staff cannot do enough to help. We are a family of 5 and asked for a triple and a double. Unfortunately they were on different floors but not far from each other so we divided and conquered. The double room was very small but to be fair we did not spend much time in there other than to sleep.. Breakfast was good and the room that we ate in was fabulous. All in all we had a good experience but I could understand why some may not. The staff very kindly showed my daughter to room 24 from the book and could not have been nicer.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

The staff were very helpful with advice and the room we stayed in was across the road in an annex and was warm and comfortable and cleaned everyday, hairdryer provided when asked. Easy access to airport via tram outside and train. Easy walking distance through the park to the main Art Galleries and to canal with boat trips. The tram was excellent for getting further into the city and runs frequently just up the road.
Highly recommend for value, helpfulness and quiet location.
Free internet access as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chard, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Amsterdam is a very expensiveso hotels likewise, this is pleasant enough, room basic, bathroom extremely basic! Bed was comfy but sleeping difficult as very noisy bar nearby and we needed our windows wide open as very.hot and no air conditioning. Hotel bar and garden very nice, breakfast though a complete waste of money. Need to get a taxi from station with luggage though we always walked to canal each day (15 mins) Beautiful park nearby and verynice cafe in it. We found some verynice restaurants and pubs about 10 mins away. Lots going on around canal, fascinating place, lovely art gallery. Do watch out for thebikes though, they are everywhere and do take a trip on the canal

Room Tip: Probably towards the back, also a lot of stairs though there was a lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in November,for my husband's birthday.I was looking for somewhere a bit different and it certainly fits the bill.It is all based on the theme of philosophers and all the rooms are themed around a different person.It is in the museum district which is quiet and yet still easy to get to the centre from ,as there is a tram stop very nearby.
The room and bathroom were quite small ,but warm and comfortable and there was a hair dryer in the bathroom,contrary to what some of the reviews say.The hotel itself is full of interesting corners and areas,with a garden which must be nice in spring or summer.
Breakfast was a bit predictable,exactly the same every day, and once things finished they weren't replaced.
The staff were helpful and friendly and answered my email asking for directions from the station quickly.
Overall I was quite happy with the hotel but I do think it was more of a 3 star hotel charging 4 star prices for being a bit out of the ordinary.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the superior rooms as they are a bit bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

while a little further out of the city, there is a tram stop that takes you right to the centre about 2 minutes away from the hotel. Our room was very clean and comfortable and the staff were very helpful and friendly. It was a quiet location and right next to Vondelpark. We were there for new year so it was good to be out of the centre to allow for the extra noise!! We heard no outside noise whatsoever and really enjoyed our time. Bed was the comfiest I've ever slept in. We booked back in June and got a really REALLY good deal

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

The súper friendly staff in De Filosoof makes you feel good at arrival and in every moment you request their help.

Young, happy and professional. The accommodations are cozy and cute due the theme of the hotel: philosophers.

The convenience of De Filosoof is also its location: just 15 minutes walking and you will be in downtown Amsterdam. But if you want to be relax and quiet after a hectic day visiting all the central quarters, in just other 15 minutes walking back you will be just fine in the hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandton Hotel de Filosoof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Hotel de Filosoof

Address: Anna van den Vondelstraat 6, 1054 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #236 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandton Hotel de Filosoof 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sandton Hotel de Filosoof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandton Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandton Hotel de Filosoof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.