We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandton Hotel de Filosoof

Save Saved
You added Sandton Hotel de Filosoof to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sandton Hotel de Filosoof
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Anna van den Vondelstraat 6, 1054 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #226 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“very nice and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

The location was great right in about a walking distance to the park, restaurants and Central city
the double room is very nice
staff is very friendly
could do with a faster internet lol
we would stay there again

Room Tip: looking over the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    105
    64
    46
    31
See reviews for
26
145
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

The staff were friendly, informative and helpful. The hotel was well presented and clean. And they want 200 words! Um, nice art in the corridors but bad selection on local TV. 26 to go .....thanks very much.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

First the good, which is indeed very good! We were welcomed by a receptionist with a beautiful smile named Gulia whose service was high level. She was very helpful and attentive. There was lots of personal attention towards each guest. The location was great right in about a walking distance of all there is to see in Amsterdam. We started our mornings with a nice walk through the peaceful Vondelpark. Our room was spacious and homely and it had comfortable furnishings. All in all we had a great stay! We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We had a fabulous time in Amsterdam and the hotel Filosoof made it even better. The hotel had been recommended to us by work colleagues. It was a very quiet hotel, in a residential area near the Vondelpark and we had a very nice/large room with dual view over gardens and street. We found it very central and it was lovely to walk through the park to the museums - approx. 15 min walk. Breakfast facility was adequate but could be improved. However, we have to mention Marit on reception who was extremely friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. If returning to Amsterdam, we would definitely stay at this hotel again.
The Nolans, Balham, London

Room Tip: We stayed in Room No. 37 which was large with dual aspect as mentioned above. Small bathroom but no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We just came back after having spent 4 days and 3 nights in Amsterdam. What a nice city.
we stayed in the Hotel de Filosoof, and we can only higly recommend this hotel.

The hotel and the rooms are made in a way that makes you feel at home at once.
Rooms decorated with a lot of style and are very clean. The employes are kind and speak very well english.

The only thing which might be said is, that the breakfast is not worth euro 15 (euro 12 when you order it the day before). I think the hotel should make an efford on this point.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tollesbury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Charming building (or is it a row of buildings). Helpful staff. Easy checkin,
Nice room - if a little small, but its certainly big enough.
I think that some of the other rooms might be bigger and maybe slightly more luxurious, but the room we had was absolutely fine. Somewhere comfortable to stay the nights between exciting days out in Amsterdam.
Two minutes walk from Vondelpark which is a lovely green walk right up to Leiseplein and the rest of the City Centre.
The nearer main street - Overtoom - has plenty of varied restaurants right nearby.
The charming rear garden is small but restful.
And the Breakfast room is lovely - as are the breakfasts. Self service from a Buffet but nicely done, not "canteen style" at all.
Would definitely consider staying here again on a repeat visit; might consider a room upgrade just to see what the posher rooms are like.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This hotel is well placed for the City's wonderful museums and many other attractions. It's on the Tram No 1 Route too which makes the transfer from the Central Station or Schipol Airport very easy and cheap. All the rooms have a philosophical theme but are a little old fashioned and in need of modernisation and rooms overlooking the road could do with double glazing as street noise might disturb light sleepers. You'd also expect a three star hotel charging 150 euro a night would have a hairdryer in the room and complimentary tea/coffee. Breakfast , which we didn't take, at 15 euro was also high. However staff were very helpful and pleasant and its certainly in a very select area with good restaurants and beer houses to enjoy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard at the back of the hotel. The rooms facing the street suffe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandton Hotel de Filosoof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Hotel de Filosoof

Address: Anna van den Vondelstraat 6, 1054 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #226 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandton Hotel de Filosoof 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Sandton Hotel de Filosoof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandton Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandton Hotel de Filosoof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.