We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mature english couple !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandton Hotel de Filosoof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sandton Hotel de Filosoof to your Saves list
Sandton Hotel de Filosoof
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Anna van den Vondelstraat 6, 1054 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #242 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Salthouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“mature english couple !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Excellent service; all the staff extremely kind and helpful.
Adequate (standard) room (our choice) - bathroom fine but no fan so much condensation after showering.
Because buildings have such high rooms in Amsterdam, stairs are often extremely steep, which was fine for us but would not advise for elderly or infirm who should stay in the main building of the hotel and not one of the annexes (houses opposite).

Excellent location for us in the Museum quarter, but still easy walking access to other parts of the city and beautiful park very close to hotel with lakes and café etc. Also a short easy public transport to Schipol airport altho there is the choice of the hotel shuttle at 16.5 euros p.p.

Loved the garden - drank the hotel's excellent house red outside pre dinner most nights. Would recommend and go again.

Room Tip: (above) - see stairs in annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    129
    81
    55
    41
See reviews for
31
185
22
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Our room. STARS had a shower that did not drain. We reported it and were gone all day. Returned at 6 and were told the repair person was still to come. We were promised another rooom If it wasnt fixed but now are told they are full.

Also the roof leaked during a rainy night and things got wet...luckily nothing major.

we will update with the eventual resolution.

Room Tip: Not the star room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waregem, Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed there about 8 years ago.
Our first trip together .
I had very nice memories .
I loved the rooms decorated in memory of on famous philosophers !
But now, because I traveled alone, they gave me a single room. Very small , no comfort what so ever. outdated !
The bathroom was small but clean,
the service O.K.
breakfast, not included in price . I do not call that breakfast, no friendly lady , the toaster did not work, dried out scrambled eggs ...etc...
I will not return again

Room Tip: Quit area, close to the tram stop & the Vondel park .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Average, basic hotel. Good location and a very short walk from the tram stop. Stuff are friendly and helpful. Bathrooms a bit too small (and I don't usually care about the size), but clean. A bit outdated and oldish, but no "old" smell. I'd stay here again - I think it's reasonably priced for what it is.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in September. Hotel is located in the Overtoom area very close to the city centre via tram/bus.
The room itself was rather strange, but clean and fine for four nights. It was strange having large cushions instead of pillows to sleep on and there was no tea or coffee making facilities in the room (bit of a downside) so we brought a kettle and teabags with us.

The bathroom was great with a powerful shower, large mirror and plenty of clean towels!
The bedroom was a bit hit and miss with greeney blue painted walls, old antique furniture and a canvas with a philosophical quote that looked a bit tacky. The tv was very small, but had a lot of channels to choose from and as you spend all day out and about it's hardly an issue!

The receptionist was lovely. A very friendly lady who helped us find the places we wanted to visit with the map that they hand out to guests. She also let me call home with the reception phone as my phone did not receive signal. She is a credit to the hotel and made us feel very welcome.

Overall a sweet little hotel away from the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

room in tall basement was reasonably clean but smelled slightly of basement - bed too soft for my taste - bathroom clean and new. wouldnt use again. But very well located for a walk in the park or to central amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is very quant and quiet, near a park which was beautiful and near tram line. Yet if you are a big and/or tall person, I'll warn you that the room is small and shower in our room on the top floor is newly renovated but tiny!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#108 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 757 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Apple Inn
Hotel Apple Inn
#87 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 282 reviews
Vondelpark
Alexander Hotel
Alexander Hotel
#132 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Atlas Hotel
Atlas Hotel
#186 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#174 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 561 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandton Hotel de Filosoof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Hotel de Filosoof

Address: Anna van den Vondelstraat 6, 1054 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #242 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandton Hotel de Filosoof 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sandton Hotel de Filosoof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandton Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandton Hotel de Filosoof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.