We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sandton Hotel de Filosoof

Save Saved
You added Sandton Hotel de Filosoof to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sandton Hotel de Filosoof
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Anna van den Vondelstraat 6, 1054 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #225 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Waregem, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“disappointed !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed there about 8 years ago.
Our first trip together .
I had very nice memories .
I loved the rooms decorated in memory of on famous philosophers !
But now, because I traveled alone, they gave me a single room. Very small , no comfort what so ever. outdated !
The bathroom was small but clean,
the service O.K.
breakfast, not included in price . I do not call that breakfast, no friendly lady , the toaster did not work, dried out scrambled eggs ...etc...
I will not return again

Room Tip: Quit area, close to the tram stop & the Vondel park .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    107
    65
    46
    33
See reviews for
26
148
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Average, basic hotel. Good location and a very short walk from the tram stop. Stuff are friendly and helpful. Bathrooms a bit too small (and I don't usually care about the size), but clean. A bit outdated and oldish, but no "old" smell. I'd stay here again - I think it's reasonably priced for what it is.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in September. Hotel is located in the Overtoom area very close to the city centre via tram/bus.
The room itself was rather strange, but clean and fine for four nights. It was strange having large cushions instead of pillows to sleep on and there was no tea or coffee making facilities in the room (bit of a downside) so we brought a kettle and teabags with us.

The bathroom was great with a powerful shower, large mirror and plenty of clean towels!
The bedroom was a bit hit and miss with greeney blue painted walls, old antique furniture and a canvas with a philosophical quote that looked a bit tacky. The tv was very small, but had a lot of channels to choose from and as you spend all day out and about it's hardly an issue!

The receptionist was lovely. A very friendly lady who helped us find the places we wanted to visit with the map that they hand out to guests. She also let me call home with the reception phone as my phone did not receive signal. She is a credit to the hotel and made us feel very welcome.

Overall a sweet little hotel away from the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

room in tall basement was reasonably clean but smelled slightly of basement - bed too soft for my taste - bathroom clean and new. wouldnt use again. But very well located for a walk in the park or to central amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very quant and quiet, near a park which was beautiful and near tram line. Yet if you are a big and/or tall person, I'll warn you that the room is small and shower in our room on the top floor is newly renovated but tiny!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Just perfect. We were greeted ever so friendly and they really went out of their way to make it a pleasant stay. We even got a surprise or two and we had something to celebrate! ;-) The location is wonderful, pretty central, but without all the noise

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel is located in a quiet are near the museums (museumsplein) in Amsterdam. It is a good hotel in Amsterdam (the hotels in Amsterdam are generally not good). The staff is very friendly, and the hotel has reasonably good standard. The bed was however a bit too soft for me (I like firm beds). I still have to say that my two friends, who had other rooms, thought the beds were good. The roomd did not have no AC, but the street is quiet so no problem with having the windows open at night. The room did not have minibar either.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandton Hotel de Filosoof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Hotel de Filosoof

Address: Anna van den Vondelstraat 6, 1054 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #225 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandton Hotel de Filosoof 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Sandton Hotel de Filosoof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandton Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandton Hotel de Filosoof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.