We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for Amsterdam” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sandton Hotel de Filosoof

Save Saved
You added Sandton Hotel de Filosoof to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sandton Hotel de Filosoof
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Anna van den Vondelstraat 6, 1054 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #225 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good hotel for Amsterdam”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel is located in a quiet are near the museums (museumsplein) in Amsterdam. It is a good hotel in Amsterdam (the hotels in Amsterdam are generally not good). The staff is very friendly, and the hotel has reasonably good standard. The bed was however a bit too soft for me (I like firm beds). I still have to say that my two friends, who had other rooms, thought the beds were good. The roomd did not have no AC, but the street is quiet so no problem with having the windows open at night. The room did not have minibar either.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    107
    65
    46
    31
See reviews for
26
147
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed 2 days/1 night in this hotel. The room and bathroom were spacious and spotlessly clean, furniture was old but well kept. There was a lovely historical atmosphere present both in the room as well as halls and doorways. Breakfast was ample. Staff were helpful and friendly.
The hotel isn't exactly in the city center but only minutes walking from it with great restaurants and lively atmosphere.
I'd certainly go to this hotel again if I visit Amsterdam again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This hotel was certainly value for money. It is in a great location near the Vondel Park and steps away from the Tram line to the core areas of Amsterdam. It has a beautiful garden/lounge area where you can enjoy a beer or whatever. The staff were super-helpful and the only thing I can fault the hotel for was the safe didn't work in our room so the staff happily put our valuables in the main hotel safe. The other thing was the bed ( single) I slept in was tilted down at the pillow end so I slept the other way around and as it was hot I didn't have to worry about the covers as I slept on top.

Room Tip: It is a quiet street so the rooms over the street had a pleasant view watching the people and cyclis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Considering at weekends, the price per night went up to just under £100, I was expecting abit more from this hotel based on other places I have stayed in the city. The reception and staff were very friendly and efficient, if you needed something you just had to ask. The room we stayed in was over the other side of the road (assuming the hotel is being renovated?) It was tired, abit shabby and didnt feel modern with a dated Japanese theme. That said, the linen was clean and fresh and the building had its own little garden. Ideal location, surrounded by luxury houses and next to the beautiful Vondel park but we were disappointed by the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlseJonker, General Manager at Sandton Hotel de Filosoof, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Gemstar, Thank you for your review and your kind words on the friendliness of the hotel staff. Our hotel offers a variety of different rooms. I am truly sorry the room you were appointed was not to your liking. Therefor I hope you have a chance to return to Sandton Hotel de Filosoof in the near future so that we can appoint you a room which you will find more suitable. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Appreciating the hotel is a 3*, some hotels can make up the rating and justify a higher cost based upon the service or quality. I did not find to be the case here. The location was the best part, close enough but far away enough. All the staff were friendly and polite. Niggles were no access to wifi in our room, a leaky shower and towels that needed some love. Another suite we saw was not as well appointed as ours (which was good - Freud) and the rooms across the road from the main hotel had a less luxurious feel between the front door and the room. If a light sleeper higher floors good as the doors are heavy and do slam. Stairs are conventional Dutch, but fairly steep if not familiar. None of the above are deal breakers however and the only reason I would think twice about staying again was the 4* prices, but this can be common in some European cities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlseJonker, General Manager at Sandton Hotel de Filosoof, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Andy, Thank you for your kind words and your feedback on your stay at the Sandton Hotel de Filosoof. I do appreciate your compliment on the friendliness and politeness of our staff and will be sure to pass them on. Also I am truly sorry you were experiencing some niggles during your stay. Please be assured that we are currently doing everything within our power to improve these niggles. We therefor wish to welcome you back soon at the Sandton Hotel de Filosoof. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Our room on the 3rd floor was clean and comfortable, and the shower very nice. Clean towels every day, and room tidied and bed made. No tea or coffee making in our room sadly, but we enjoyed continental style breakfast with choice of scrambled or boiled eggs in the interesting room downstairs. We stayed five nights and would have been happy to stay longer. Love the interesting decor, quotes and garden. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: Room 35, very nice !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandton Hotel de Filosoof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Hotel de Filosoof

Address: Anna van den Vondelstraat 6, 1054 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #225 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandton Hotel de Filosoof 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Sandton Hotel de Filosoof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandton Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandton Hotel de Filosoof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.