We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“While you're sleeping ...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandton Hotel de Filosoof

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sandton Hotel de Filosoof to your Saves list
Sandton Hotel de Filosoof
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Anna van den Vondelstraat 6, 1054 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #246 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Voorburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“While you're sleeping ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Quite near the centre of Amsterdam, this hotel offers unique rooms, each room with a real philosophical taste. Books in different languages are available for the non-sleepers.
The breakfast is perfect. And staying on a sunday means free parking in the street.
We've been here for a couple of times, and will certainly come again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlseJonker, General Manager at Sandton Hotel de Filosoof, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experiences on Tripadvisor. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Sandton Hotel De Filosoof. We hope to welcome you again in Sandton Hotel De Filosoof.

With Philosophical regards,
The team of Sandton Hotel De Filosoof.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    130
    82
    57
    42
See reviews for
32
186
23
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Well located, just close to a big park and 10 mn by foot from the historical center of amsterdam, not expensive, each room is different with its own atmosphere, friendly service. We planned to stay 4 nights, and finally we stayed all the week !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlseJonker, General Manager at Sandton Hotel de Filosoof, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Sir/Madame,

We would like to thank you for your review. We hope to welcome you back in Sandton Hotel De Filosoof in the near future. Thank you for staying with us and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Philosophical greetings,
The team of Sandton Hotel De Filosoof.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Me and my boyfriend (we're both 21) stayed here at the start of new year (the quietest tourist time of the year) and it really was just so disappointing. I didn't have high expectations as we didn't pay a fortune to stay here, but the room we were given on arrival (a cosy room as paid for) was just horrific. Tiny attic style room, you could hardly swing a cat and it was very tired and shabby. But I understood it isn't about the hotel, it's about the city so quickly got over it. However upon laying on the bed it was just an absolute shock that every single move made the bed squeak so loudly. Reception were very understanding, giving me the opportunity to go and take a look at another cosy room which was in the basement, right next to the laundry room, directly underneath the reception area and right outside our bedroom window was the smoking area outside. Agreeing that this room was better than the first we were offered a free change. No towels were in the bathroom and it was 4 hours before some were delivered to us. There was no way of turning the radiator off and at night we were uncomfortably hot. The next day we went to use the shower and no towels AGAIN! Overall a very poor experience, and as students who have stayed in YMCA's travelling we felt very ripped off as it was just a complete shambles. Very sorry to write this report but it is just to warn other young travellers like ourselves to stick with the hostels or pay more for a better hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlseJonker, General Manager at Sandton Hotel de Filosoof, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Sir/Madame,

We would like to thank your for your review. We always apreciate constructive cirtism, as we can then improve the hotel. We are very sorry that your stay was not to your wishes and we would like to apologise for this.

With kind regards,
Ilse Jonker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed for two nights and had a room on the 3rd floor, we were room 36...its a triple room and is shabby chic. It was a big room with lovely wetroom style bathroom. Bed was really comfy, with heating in rooms if you wanted to turn it on.

Good location but a bit on outskirts, aprox 35 minute walk to Dam Square.

Our friends booked doubles, which were small rooms but you dont spend any time in them anyway...every room was unique with different coloured decor, etc.

Room was cleaned every day, staff were lovely and very accomodating. We wanted to have some wine one night when getting in at 3am...they opened the bar to serve us and nothing was too much trouble. They ordered taxis for us when required, etc.

Lovely quirky hotel, great service... would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlseJonker, General Manager at Sandton Hotel de Filosoof, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Sir/Madame,

We would like to thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the theme of the room. We hope to welcome you and your friends again in Sandton Hotel De Filosoof.

With Philosophical greetings,

The team of Sandton Hotel De Filosoof.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfanaghy, Ireland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

An interesting hotel in a very good location with decor which makes it uniquely distinctive. The service was good and the cost fair for an inner city location. My only criticism would be that breakfast was not inclusive which I always feel is positive as a pull factor. Also this heating in my room was not on which meant if was a little chilly. It is, however, a hotel which I would return to and it is close to the CBD and museum district. For someone looking for a hotel which is not of the cloned variety and which has artifacts which catch the eye then this is the place!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlseJonker, General Manager at Sandton Hotel de Filosoof, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
We would like to thank you for your review. We are verry happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you again in the near future in Sandton Hotel De Filosoof. Might you be interested in the same room or might you want to experience a different room, you can always make a request and we will do our outmost to fullfill these requests.

With kind regards,

The team of Sandton Hotel De Filosoof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

If you're looking to experience a traditional Dutch building in a beautiful part of Amsterdam then this hotel is for you. Just off the beautiful Vondelpark (Amsterdam's answer to Hyde Park but no boats) and in a quiet but welcoming neighbour less than 20 minutes walk from the centre of town or an easy tram journey right to the heart of the city (the number 1 tram takes you straight down town and is extremely regular just on the Overtoom street near the hotel). Our room was cleaned everyday and we were lucky enough to have the Sigmund Freud room decorated with famous quotes and a huge cosy bed. The bonus of having a suite meant were in a building across from the main hotel which almost felt like we had an apartment for three days. I really enjoyed the fact we were slightly outside of town as it meant we could experience local restaurants and shops (a wonderful travel book shop is just around the corner from the hotel). I will definitely be returning to this hotel again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlseJonker, Manager at Sandton Hotel de Filosoof, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Alice,

We would like to thank you for your review on tripadvisor. We were verry happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay and that we may welcome you back in the near future. We are looking forward welcoming you again in Sandton Hotel De Filosoof.

With kind regards
the team of Sandton Hotel De Filosoof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Very small rooms, service erratic, kept having to ask for towels!! Quite far out of city centre but good tram links

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#106 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 779 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Apple Inn
Hotel Apple Inn
#91 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 293 reviews
Vondelpark
Alexander Hotel
Alexander Hotel
#144 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Atlas Vondelpark
Hotel Atlas Vondelpark
#111 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#179 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 581 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandton Hotel de Filosoof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Hotel de Filosoof

Address: Anna van den Vondelstraat 6, 1054 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #246 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandton Hotel de Filosoof 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Otel and Priceline so you can book your Sandton Hotel de Filosoof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandton Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandton Hotel de Filosoof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.