We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just slightly above average” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandton Hotel de Filosoof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sandton Hotel de Filosoof to your Saves list
Sandton Hotel de Filosoof
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Anna van den Vondelstraat 6, 1054 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #238 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Just slightly above average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This hotel is just slightly above average. I had a great experience here. The staff is excellent, however the girl in the breakfast room should maybe keep her complaints about her health to herself and not share them with guests. We are here to relax, not hear about issues. The receptiona staff extremely warm and friendly. Rooms are wonderful; however, a little fresh paint won't hurt. All in all, a wonderful place and I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    112
    69
    50
    37
See reviews for
27
158
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baghdad, Iraq
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

A decent enough small hotel which staff will tell you is city centre based, that is a perhaps a technicality.

Staff friendly, rooms clean, but would not be my choice again, either you are in the centre of a happening city or you are not!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed at the Sandton Hotel de Filosoof 4-7 sep 2012. The hotel staff are really nice and very helpfull,rooms made up every day. Although the hotel is nice and peacefull,with comfy beds and lots of hot water I have to say overall the hotel is tired and could do with a makeover.Would also say what is described as cozy rooms should be desribed as tiny rooms.The bar is very expensive with no atmospher. The tram into town is close by and also a lovely park. However I would not say it was value for money.

Room Tip: I think all rooms will be quite but cant comment on the quality of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend in the city having saught out somewhere a little different - most chain hotels are just so boring after all.

We arrived early expecting just to be able to leave our bags until the room was ready but were more than happy to hear it already was. We were also pleasently surprised to have been upgraded to a suite in the annex across the road where we encountered those incredibly steep stairs you may have heard about! Wow, what an experience they were! Goodness knows how the staff get things like hoovers and things up and down them.

Our room was pleasant and comfortable, complete with a large portrait of Sigmund Freud (the suite being named after him.) Surprisingly it was devoid of toiletries although a phone call to reception solved that.

The location is lovely - a quiet neighbourhood near the Vondelpark - and we had a good, peaceful nights sleep in a comfy bed. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We really enjoyed this quirky, idiosyncratic unique hotel. Rooms have a philosophical theme, quotes written on bedroom walls, landing light covers, walls.. names and portraits adorn the walls..and the (philosophical) quote of the day is displayed in the dining room..a plentiful supply of books in all languages. Our bed was comfortable,bathroom clean but towels very thin and abit rough. No kettle to make your own drinks. Bedroom could do with repainting in places. A plentiful supply of delicious and healthy breakfast, very friendly and helpful staff. A nice shady garden with tables and chairs, and beautiful park only a few minutes walk away, with good value open air restaurant,and plenty more restaurants representing many nationalities, round the corner. Trams also within walking distance. A kettle would have been a good idea in the bed room

Room Tip: South facing room, hot sunny and fairly quiet but no air con. Fan provided. Lift available, then 4 s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_De_Filosoof, Manager at Sandton Hotel de Filosoof, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. We absolutely appreciate this! We've done our best to make your stay as nice as we could. After reading your tip about our towels, we've ordered new towels for all our rooms. Thank you for informing us! In our Suites we do provide coffee and tea facilities. Hot water can be picked up for free at our bar. Perhaps this might be a good idea for your next stay at Sandton Hotel De Filosoof. We hope to welcome you at our hotel some day in the future again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The location is good - about 10 minutes walk to the city center, near Leidensplein and Vondelpark. Check-in was fast and easy, and the Front Desk was absolutely friendly during all the time of stay.
My room (top floor of the main building) was quite small, and there was no air-conditioning, which may couse some issues during summer period - but as the street was quiet I could open my window. The biggest issue was the 15 Euro breakfast that was not included in the room rate, so I did not try it.
The internet connection (WiFi) was stable, in all areas, and without any codes\confirmations, which is good for my multiple mobile devices. And even a cup of coffee for the 4Square check-in ;)
Also, good news for the smoking people like me, there is the backyard where you can smoke and have some coffee.
So, with the exception of the issues above, the Hotel is good, and for this money - even better than good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_De_Filosoof, Manager at Sandton Hotel de Filosoof, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We always love to read such positive reviews about our hotel. Our Front Desk team was very pleased to be able to help you during your stay and we look forward to welcome you again some day in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Just a walking distance (about 15 minutes) from the city centre, this lovely hotel is on the edge of Vondelpark and provides all the peace and quiet of the surrounding area. The rooms are good size and nicely done, with clean bathroom facilities and comfortable beds. We had a room on the first floor overlooking the garden which gave the impression of being in countryside. The staff is helpful and welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_De_Filosoof, Manager at Sandton Hotel de Filosoof, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write your nice and kind review about Sandton Hotel De Filosoof. We certainly appreciate this! We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandton Hotel de Filosoof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Hotel de Filosoof

Address: Anna van den Vondelstraat 6, 1054 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #238 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandton Hotel de Filosoof 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sandton Hotel de Filosoof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandton Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandton Hotel de Filosoof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.