We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quiet Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandton Hotel de Filosoof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sandton Hotel de Filosoof to your Saves list
Sandton Hotel de Filosoof
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Anna van den Vondelstraat 6, 1054 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #237 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
St. Petersburg, Russia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice and quiet Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The location is good - about 10 minutes walk to the city center, near Leidensplein and Vondelpark. Check-in was fast and easy, and the Front Desk was absolutely friendly during all the time of stay.
My room (top floor of the main building) was quite small, and there was no air-conditioning, which may couse some issues during summer period - but as the street was quiet I could open my window. The biggest issue was the 15 Euro breakfast that was not included in the room rate, so I did not try it.
The internet connection (WiFi) was stable, in all areas, and without any codes\confirmations, which is good for my multiple mobile devices. And even a cup of coffee for the 4Square check-in ;)
Also, good news for the smoking people like me, there is the backyard where you can smoke and have some coffee.
So, with the exception of the issues above, the Hotel is good, and for this money - even better than good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_De_Filosoof, Manager at Sandton Hotel de Filosoof, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We always love to read such positive reviews about our hotel. Our Front Desk team was very pleased to be able to help you during your stay and we look forward to welcome you again some day in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    116
    72
    51
    37
See reviews for
28
163
21
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Just a walking distance (about 15 minutes) from the city centre, this lovely hotel is on the edge of Vondelpark and provides all the peace and quiet of the surrounding area. The rooms are good size and nicely done, with clean bathroom facilities and comfortable beds. We had a room on the first floor overlooking the garden which gave the impression of being in countryside. The staff is helpful and welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_De_Filosoof, Manager at Sandton Hotel de Filosoof, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write your nice and kind review about Sandton Hotel De Filosoof. We certainly appreciate this! We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This is a clean, quaint hotel on a quiet street tucked next to Vondelpark. It is within a 10 minute walk of major museums, chic shopping and busy dining, nightlife areas. We were on a second floor and, although warned, could not believe the steepness of the staircase. The rooms was a good size and tastefully furnished, however the towels were nearly threadbare. We got excellent recommendations from the reception desk of sights to see.

Room Tip: Caution of steep stairs to upper floors. This would not be a good choice for anyone with mobility d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

It is a very nice hotel if you make sure to stay in the main building. The team is lovely and very good services. not too far from Central maybe 15mins walk but you can also take the tram direct from the train station.
The only shame is that it is very noisy so if you are lucky to be with quiet neighbour then good!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We found this hotel online & in the Lonely Planet. We booked here, as we wanted to be near by to shops, cafes and attractions, but not right in the heart of it. This hotel suited us perfectly. Its a few minutes walk from the park and on tram line 1, so easy access to everywhere (we bought a 3 day travel pass). The service was really friendly and helpful and our room and bathroom was lovely and clean. We didn't have breakfast here, so we cannot comment on the food - we walked a 5-10 minute walk through the park daily to a little bagel and bean shop - which does a delicious range of bagels! We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We picked a "cosy" room - it was small, but we didn't have any problems with this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Assistant Hotelmanager at Sandton Hotel de Filosoof, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Thank you for your lovely and kind review, we do appriciate this! We hope to be able to welcome you again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

While this place has a fairly good location, ie., near the Leidesplein and good access to trams and canal busses, it has absolutely zero amenities. The staff are pleasant and do their best, but this place should be torn down and reconstructed. It is very expensive--the breakfast at 15 Euros each is also a joke, a hardboiled egg and some canned fruit!. The first night we stayed in the annex across the street and unless you have the DNA of a mountain goat don't even try the extremely narrow stairs. There are many other better hotels at better prices.

Room Tip: If you have to stay ther, get a room in the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteldeFilosoof, Assistant Hotelmanger at Sandton Hotel de Filosoof, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Dear Mrs. Douglas, thank you for taking the time to write this review. We do have some rooms across the road in the annex buidling that is typical for Amsterdam, complete with the steep stairs that are so common in our lovely city. I understood we were able to provide a room in the main building for the rest of your stay. Since this week we provide a so called Breakfast to Go, which is a good alternative for the regular breakfast. In case you would visit Amsterdam again, we've made a note in your guest profile you certainly prefer a room in the main builing.
Kind regards,
Sharon van der Burgh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

The hotel is in a quiet but central part of Amsterdam ideally located for all of Amsterdam's attractions.
The staff are friendly and attentive.
The rooms are small and clean but quite shabby, with no tea or coffee facilities in the room.
Overall we had a pleasant stay at this hotel, the location more than makes up for the shortcomings in the accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandton Hotel de Filosoof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Hotel de Filosoof

Address: Anna van den Vondelstraat 6, 1054 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #237 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandton Hotel de Filosoof 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Sandton Hotel de Filosoof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandton Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandton Hotel de Filosoof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.