We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, shabby room but clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sandton Hotel de Filosoof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sandton Hotel de Filosoof to your Saves list
Sandton Hotel de Filosoof
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Anna van den Vondelstraat 6, 1054 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #237 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location, shabby room but clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We stayed in the annex across the street from the main hotel. The room was a good size, with a bath and shower. The wallpaper and carpets were a bit tatty but the room was clean, beds were very comfortable. Very friendly, helpful staff. The room was cold when we arrived and I found that the radiator wasn't working. I called reception to get the radiator fixed and someone came immediately and got it working.
The hotel is in a great location in a quiet neighbourhood but close to the centre.
We didn't have breakfast there because it was 15 euros each which seemed very expensive, and there are lots of cafes nearby to have breakfast in (nice one 5mins walk away in the Vondelpark).
The only thing I didn't like about the hotel was the shabby state of the decor in the room.
When we left we asked to see a room in the main hotel building (which cost more) and it was totally different - much more modern and more recently decorated. We've booked one of those for our next trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    112
    69
    50
    36
See reviews for
27
157
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

As often the case the website made the hotel look somewhat better than it was in reality.Our first room was in the hotel annex up some very difficult twisting stairs which i believe can be common in Amsterdam .The bathroom was minute and a sort of box added into the room and the beds were really lumpy although the room was quite spacious.We asked to change to a room in the main hotel ofwhich the staff were very compliant about .We were first offered a room much worse where the space had been dissected longways to make a bathroom and was really awful.The third room was better with a bay window and proper room for a bathroom but no bath just a wet room sort of shower but better beds.That night we came in to have a shower and the hose was broken meaning you had to hold it together to make it work!We told reception who didnt have it fixed by the next night but a very helpful night staff member was able to sort it out for us. Each room is supposed to be linked to a philosopher ,our 3rd room was the Confucius room and the only book that was in English in there was a Mills and Boon which was pretty funny...we used it to prop open the window.Breakfast is not included and costs 15E which it is not worth you can get a much deal at the many cafes a short walk away.But Amsterdam is wonderful and we had a great time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Stayed here in february. That time it was freezing in amsterdam, temperatures round -10 but my room was warm and clean, and bed was comfortable. Location is superb, right near the vondelpark and a 15 min stroll to the leidseplein. A big plus for me was they sold Duvel beer in the little bar at the reception.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

As the Dutch philosopher Spinoza said; "All things excellent are as difficult as they are rare. "
I've stayed at his hotel a couple of times and it is ok ... for Amsterdam standards. Each room is themed after a different Philosopher. The best room is probably Spinoza - here at least the internet works (in most rooms it doesn't and you have to go to reception to use wifi). The hotel and rooms are in the typical charming old style for Amsterdam with steep narrow staircases, tiny bathrooms, soft and saggy beds. It's clean but sparingly maintained.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Nice location in a lovely neighborhood adjacent to the park. I stayed in one of the suites, which I was surprised to find in a townhouse across the street from the main hotel. This wasn't a problem per se, and the townhouse type location allowed me to pretend that I actually lived in Amsterdam (and would be great for a family stay). If you want to use the hotel amenities, such as the lounges or bar, though, I would stay in the main hotel.

The suite seemed recently updated, as the kitchen and bathrooms were new looking and the bed was very nice. I was surprised, then, that the carpet had stains and the plaster was chipped. This wasn't a big deal, but detracted from the overall niceness of the room.

I was slightly off-put by their practice of charging upfront, though I see that this is their routine practice. upon my departure, bar charges were included in my bill which were not mine. Both of these detracted from the experience.

On the whole, I thought this was good value for money and perhaps I am being too hatch with just an average rating.

Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandton Hotel de Filosoof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Hotel de Filosoof

Address: Anna van den Vondelstraat 6, 1054 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #237 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandton Hotel de Filosoof 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sandton Hotel de Filosoof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandton Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandton Hotel de Filosoof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.