We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at Amsterdam's Museum Suites.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum Suites

Save Saved
You added Museum Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Museum Suites
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Willemsparkweg 113, 1071 GV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 303 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our stay at Amsterdam's Museum Suites.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

A hotel with just three rooms (suites). Great, very personal service. Breakfast is just fabulous (fresh fruit, egg, cheese, smoked meat, salami,... coffee or tee, fruit juice, marmalade, honey, freshly baked buns… The ideal breakfast for people with a good appetite. No restaurant but there are enough restaurants to choose from in the vicinity. There's a nice pub just a few steps away (café De Gruter).
Not in the "city centre" but near the museums but a 24h or 48h tram pass is useful (sold at the hotel).
No elevator though.
If you need a taxi, they will be called by the staff and will arrive within 5 minutes.

Room Tip: Get the van Gogh suite: a beautiful balcony with table, two chairs and a parasol. Ideal for smokers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    165
    21
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
125
8
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Vermeer Suite is on the top floor. Very steep stairs but the lovely Sabine delivered our big bags to our rooms. A very well equipped, clean and functional suite. Very close proximity to trams and eateries. There are roadworks out the front of the building but we were lucky that the majority of our stay was over the weekend. But even if we were here during the week - how much time do you spend in your room...and if you get woken up early - it just means you're out and about earlier.

Room Tip: If you are infirm or have hip or knee problems, then this isn't the place for you. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Fantastic all round!
We stayed in the Van Gogh Suite which has a lovely large private balcony.
The location is just brilliant - a lovely quiet neighbourhood but less than a 10 minute walk to the museums and a very easy stroll or bike ride into town.
We had an awesome 3 days and would definitely recommend the Museum Suites to family and friends.
Thank you Annemarie and Frieda for making our trip so easy and enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

This hotel is quite simply fabulous.

The rooms are well prepared, very clean and well designed. The staff are the best I have ever encountered in the 9 yrs of working away.

From preparing a personalised breakfast for two in the morning to buying toothpaste for you without being asked, when you tell them of your frustration of forgetting it when you packed!

The location of the hotel is ideal, near Amstelveen for business and in one of the beautiful areas of Amsterdam in my opinion. Local restaurants in the area are also very, very impressive.

I will stay no where else from now on!

Room Tip: There is one room upstairs which has an amazing balcony over the back of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

This is our second stay at Museum Suites and we loved it even more. We stayed in the Vemeer Suite which was spacious and decorated very tastefully. The owners and staff are lovely people who go out of their way to help and provide first class service. Can't recommend it enough.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We spent two nights here in early May. The hotel is a large, late 19th century townhouse and the rooms have been done over tastefully and sensitively ... and comfortably. The major museums are a short distance away, either a tram ride or an easy walk. Staff were very helpful and welcoming and suggested restaurants and sights. The immediate neighborhood has good shops and restaurants. I would happily stay here again next trip to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: The Van Gogh Room has a large deck/porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

My wife and I flew into Amsterdam from Atlanta, GA on April 14, one day before starting a river cruise in order to adjust to the time change. Our travel agent recommended Museum Suites, and we were glad she did. This charming 1880's home, and the mother and daughter owners (who had lived there previously) couldn't have been more welcoming. Our room was delightful, and we highly recommend the optional breakfast...it was delicious. The home is located a few blocks from Amsterdam's major museums. Anna Marie purchased tickets to the Van Gogh museum for us in advance. When we arrived at the museum around 3:00 pm, the lines were extremely long (even for advance ticket holders). Due to the estimated 1-hour wait time, being extremely tired from no sleep, and a starting rain, we returned to the hotel. Since the tickets were good through the end of 2014, Anna Marie offered to keep them, sell them to a future guest, and return the cost on our credit card. That's the type of guest service they provide!

Room Tip: The house does not have an elevator, and narrow circular stairs. It would have been an effort to ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Museum Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Museum Suites

Address: Willemsparkweg 113, 1071 GV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 303 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Museum Suites 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Museum Suites boutique hotel offers luxury rooms in a nineteenth-century mansion boasting historic links with the Rijksmuseum. Because of this ‘museum connection’, each of the hotel’s four spacious suites been inspired by a different Dutch painter, giving them a unique character and style. Museum Suites is situated in the cultural heart of the city, on the edge of the historic centre, a stone’s throw away from the popular Vondel Park and within walking distance of Amsterdam’s most fashionable shopping streets and main cultural venues, such as the Concertgebouw and the large national museums (Stedelijk, Van Gogh, Rijksmuseum). By offering you elegance, comfort, privacy and personal attention we aim to make your stay with us a highly enjoyable experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Museum Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.