We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Museum Suites to your Saves list
Museum Suites
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Willemsparkweg 113, 1071 GV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Must stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

This is our second stay at Museum Suites and we loved it even more. We stayed in the Vemeer Suite which was spacious and decorated very tastefully. The owners and staff are lovely people who go out of their way to help and provide first class service. Can't recommend it enough.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    22
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
136
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We spent two nights here in early May. The hotel is a large, late 19th century townhouse and the rooms have been done over tastefully and sensitively ... and comfortably. The major museums are a short distance away, either a tram ride or an easy walk. Staff were very helpful and welcoming and suggested restaurants and sights. The immediate neighborhood has good shops and restaurants. I would happily stay here again next trip to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: The Van Gogh Room has a large deck/porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

My wife and I flew into Amsterdam from Atlanta, GA on April 14, one day before starting a river cruise in order to adjust to the time change. Our travel agent recommended Museum Suites, and we were glad she did. This charming 1880's home, and the mother and daughter owners (who had lived there previously) couldn't have been more welcoming. Our room was delightful, and we highly recommend the optional breakfast...it was delicious. The home is located a few blocks from Amsterdam's major museums. Anna Marie purchased tickets to the Van Gogh museum for us in advance. When we arrived at the museum around 3:00 pm, the lines were extremely long (even for advance ticket holders). Due to the estimated 1-hour wait time, being extremely tired from no sleep, and a starting rain, we returned to the hotel. Since the tickets were good through the end of 2014, Anna Marie offered to keep them, sell them to a future guest, and return the cost on our credit card. That's the type of guest service they provide!

Room Tip: The house does not have an elevator, and narrow circular stairs. It would have been an effort to ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We spent 2 nights at Museum Suites that is located in the Museum neighborhood (also known as Oud Zuid) - a very sophisticated area, yet a short tram ride to the center of town. We had the Van Gogh room. The room was sunny, had a balcony, and was well appointed. The bathroom was large and the shower wonderful. At the end of the day it was a true pleasure to return to our lovely room. Anne Marie, the concierge/manager was extremely helpful. She recommended and booked restaurants for us.

Room Tip: We loved the Van Gogh room that had a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We were extremely pleased with our recent stay at Museum Suites. The hotel is charming.
Our room, The Rembrandt Suite was very large and elegantly decorated with a lovely view of
The beautiful street. The bed was large and comfortable, and the bathroom very spacious.The area is well served with shops and restaurants nearby. The hotel is very close to the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum and the Concertgebouw, away from the busy city area in a delightful residential area, but very easily accessible by tram to other parts of the city. Freida, Anna-Marie and Sabine were very welcoming, friendly and helpful with suggestions for our visit, and the very generous delicious breakfast was served in the splendid dining room. We loved Amsterdam,
And our stay at the Museum Suites made it all the more memorable. We would most definitely recommend Museum Suites to anyone visiting Amsterdam.

It is absolutely perfect!

Carol and Peter. Bowral NSW Australia

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

This is one of the most perfect places we have ever stayed in. The location is amazing, very close to the centre, yet set back a little so you can truly experience the local living side of Amsterdam. There are lots of lovely shops and cafes very close by and many incredible homes to look at! The service, room and flexibility of breakfasts was super. The room was extremely clean, comfortable and luxurious! Definitely recommended to all - you must stay here!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rembrandt suite which was gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Not so much a suite as a large bedroom and bathroom, but it's comfortable accommodation in an excellent location near the museums and the Concertgebouw.

Friendly and helpful staff and excellent breakfasts, but there was little flexibility for when we could eat them. Breakfast was offered at 9am or later - not ideal when you want to arrive at museums at 9am to beat the crowds. Museum Suites charges separately for breakfast, so you can eat elsewhere, but it's not what you expect when you book bed and breakfast accommodation.

Also, a double bed made of two single mattresses pushed together – with a distinct divide – is hardly romantic. But this seems to be a common practice on the continent.

Room Tip: We were at the front of the building. The rooms at the back may be larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Museum Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Museum Suites

Address: Willemsparkweg 113, 1071 GV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Museum Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Museum Suites boutique hotel offers luxury rooms in a nineteenth-century mansion boasting historic links with the Rijksmuseum. Because of this ‘museum connection’, each of the hotel’s four spacious suites been inspired by a different Dutch painter, giving them a unique character and style. Museum Suites is situated in the cultural heart of the city, on the edge of the historic centre, a stone’s throw away from the popular Vondel Park and within walking distance of Amsterdam’s most fashionable shopping streets and main cultural venues, such as the Concertgebouw and the large national museums (Stedelijk, Van Gogh, Rijksmuseum). By offering you elegance, comfort, privacy and personal attention we aim to make your stay with us a highly enjoyable experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Museum Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.