We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum Suites

Save Saved
You added Museum Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Museum Suites
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Willemsparkweg 113, 1071 GV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 302 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Memorable Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We spent 2 nights at Museum Suites that is located in the Museum neighborhood (also known as Oud Zuid) - a very sophisticated area, yet a short tram ride to the center of town. We had the Van Gogh room. The room was sunny, had a balcony, and was well appointed. The bathroom was large and the shower wonderful. At the end of the day it was a true pleasure to return to our lovely room. Anne Marie, the concierge/manager was extremely helpful. She recommended and booked restaurants for us.

Room Tip: We loved the Van Gogh room that had a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    169
    21
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
124
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bowral, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We were extremely pleased with our recent stay at Museum Suites. The hotel is charming.
Our room, The Rembrandt Suite was very large and elegantly decorated with a lovely view of
The beautiful street. The bed was large and comfortable, and the bathroom very spacious.The area is well served with shops and restaurants nearby. The hotel is very close to the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum and the Concertgebouw, away from the busy city area in a delightful residential area, but very easily accessible by tram to other parts of the city. Freida, Anna-Marie and Sabine were very welcoming, friendly and helpful with suggestions for our visit, and the very generous delicious breakfast was served in the splendid dining room. We loved Amsterdam,
And our stay at the Museum Suites made it all the more memorable. We would most definitely recommend Museum Suites to anyone visiting Amsterdam.

It is absolutely perfect!

Carol and Peter. Bowral NSW Australia

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

This is one of the most perfect places we have ever stayed in. The location is amazing, very close to the centre, yet set back a little so you can truly experience the local living side of Amsterdam. There are lots of lovely shops and cafes very close by and many incredible homes to look at! The service, room and flexibility of breakfasts was super. The room was extremely clean, comfortable and luxurious! Definitely recommended to all - you must stay here!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rembrandt suite which was gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Not so much a suite as a large bedroom and bathroom, but it's comfortable accommodation in an excellent location near the museums and the Concertgebouw.

Friendly and helpful staff and excellent breakfasts, but there was little flexibility for when we could eat them. Breakfast was offered at 9am or later - not ideal when you want to arrive at museums at 9am to beat the crowds. Museum Suites charges separately for breakfast, so you can eat elsewhere, but it's not what you expect when you book bed and breakfast accommodation.

Also, a double bed made of two single mattresses pushed together – with a distinct divide – is hardly romantic. But this seems to be a common practice on the continent.

Room Tip: We were at the front of the building. The rooms at the back may be larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed for 4 wonderful nights in Museum Suites. The room and the service was excellent. We really enjoyed the breakfasts. The choice of local restaurants made deciding hard but, as it turned out, the food was amazing everywhere we went. The Museum Street are only a short walk from the heart of Amsterdam and ideally located for some if the key sights. Watch out for bicycles!

Highly recommended and would be happy to stay again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doorn, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Very well situated and beautifully decorated suites, close to all the important musea. Truly personal welcome and advice, very helpful staff. Luxurious breakfasts ! Very accessible by public transportation. Definitely to be recommended.

Room Tip: The Van Gogh-suite boasts a wonderful balcony on the garden-side of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

As our primary reason for visiting Amsterdam was to see the museums, it made sense to chose the Museum Suites. Located in a grand house, we were in the Van Gogh suite, which had a private balcony area, and which was light and sunny (thankfully, as it was March).

The Museum district is a lovely place to stay; we were only a short stroll to the museums, the Vondelpark and all manner of excellent restaurants.

Service there was excellent; we were offered maps, assistance with reservations and bookings, and most importantly carted our rather large and heavy suitcases up the very steep stairs. Breakfast was excellent, as was the company of other guests.

All in all a delightful stay; we certainly would highly recommend Museum Suites to anyone visiting Amsterdam.

Room Tip: The Van Gogh Suite that we chose had a large private balcony area which catches the sun. It was lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Museum Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Museum Suites

Address: Willemsparkweg 113, 1071 GV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 302 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Museum Suites 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Museum Suites boutique hotel offers luxury rooms in a nineteenth-century mansion boasting historic links with the Rijksmuseum. Because of this ‘museum connection’, each of the hotel’s four spacious suites been inspired by a different Dutch painter, giving them a unique character and style. Museum Suites is situated in the cultural heart of the city, on the edge of the historic centre, a stone’s throw away from the popular Vondel Park and within walking distance of Amsterdam’s most fashionable shopping streets and main cultural venues, such as the Concertgebouw and the large national museums (Stedelijk, Van Gogh, Rijksmuseum). By offering you elegance, comfort, privacy and personal attention we aim to make your stay with us a highly enjoyable experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Museum Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.