We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome in Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Museum Suites

Save Saved
You added Museum Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Museum Suites
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Willemsparkweg 113, 1071 GV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 304 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
1 review
“A warm welcome in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The location is great for museum-goers and it's out of the fray of the center of town. Frida welcomed us warmly and with lots of great information. She was very helpful throughout our stay. We were in the "Vermeer Suite", which was roomy for 3 of us and very quiet. The bathroom is new and very nice. There is also a handy kitchenette and good coffee in the room.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    165
    21
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
125
8
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herzlia, Israel
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Imagine a place where you feel at home, clean, big, welcoming, comfortable. if you can get a room you have the pleasure to meet the owners that make everything to let you feel that the word "hotel" passed from this world. Very intimate, quite amazing location. The room is very big and so comfortable to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are based on Duth painters. So if you want to sleep with van Gogh or Rembrant you should a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I've been stayed several times in Amsterdam ( six at least), and this is the best hotel I ever stayed!) .
We were in the "Rembrandt Suite", an amazing and very big room, furnished in antique style, with following amenities:
gas fireplace (very nice and better than watching a tv!), comfortable sofa, a writing desk, lcd tv 42'' , nespresso coffee machine with capsules, a dock station to connect your IPod and listen your music, a nice luxury bathroom (in amsterdam it is very rare) with a hot tub, a lot of towels and wellness products.
An hearty breakfast in the room, and friendliness of the staff complete a dream holiday in this fabulous hotel !
I highly recommend it to everyone!

Room Tip: I don't know all suites, but the "Rembrandt" suite it's a fantastic room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We liked very much our stay in Amsterdam, and part of that success was our accomodation. The room was nice and we received a very warm welcome. I recommend this hotel to whoever wants to spend a nice stay in this beautiful city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed in the Vermeer room for a long weekend in Amsterdam and greatly enjoyed the place.

Everything was first class, from the arranged pickup at the airport to the personalised welcome, the location (near the main museums and with easy tram access to the rest of the city) and the quality of accommodations (a large suite with cooking facilities, walking shower, comfortable beds, linen, sofas, etc). Yes, there were some stairs to climb to get to the room (3rd floor), but this beats traditional hotels and represents great value... On the minus side, the local dining scene is relatively limited, and there aren't any swimming pools or similar offerings

Room Tip: The Vermeer room is great for a small family (2 adults + 2 kids), with its cooking and living room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

My fiance and I recently stayed at the Museum Suites and were extremely pleased! It was so lovely. The rooms (we stayed in the Vermeer and then moved to the Rembrandt once it became available, to take advantage of the fire place!) were clean and spacious, with updated and elegant bathrooms. The staff/owners were extraordinarily helpful and friendly. They went out of their way to make our stay in the city easy and comfortable. We were there for my fiances birthday and they left a little present on the desk :) It's not quite smack in the center, but easy and delightful walking distance to all attractions. We highly recommend cafe Joffer's, around the corner, for breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed in the Rembrandt room for 2 nights and felt surrounded by beautiful things. I especially liked the heated floor in the (spotless) bathroom. Nothing quite like the feeling of warm marble. If you are a light sleeper, you will need to have the windows closed otherwise there is quite a bit of traffic noise. But that is just a minor drawback in a room which has so much to offer: high ceilings, silent fridge, coffee machine, gas fire place, comfy chair and sofa, fast wifi. As others have said, it is perfectly placed for the museums, though I would have been quite happy to stay in!
Also recommend the pasta at the Italian restaurant - Di Sale - a few doors down.
Will definitely stay again next time husband runs the Marathon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Museum Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Museum Suites

Address: Willemsparkweg 113, 1071 GV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 304 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Museum Suites 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Museum Suites boutique hotel offers luxury rooms in a nineteenth-century mansion boasting historic links with the Rijksmuseum. Because of this ‘museum connection’, each of the hotel’s four spacious suites been inspired by a different Dutch painter, giving them a unique character and style. Museum Suites is situated in the cultural heart of the city, on the edge of the historic centre, a stone’s throw away from the popular Vondel Park and within walking distance of Amsterdam’s most fashionable shopping streets and main cultural venues, such as the Concertgebouw and the large national museums (Stedelijk, Van Gogh, Rijksmuseum). By offering you elegance, comfort, privacy and personal attention we aim to make your stay with us a highly enjoyable experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Museum Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.