We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Rest for the Weary” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Museum Suites

Save Saved
You added Museum Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Museum Suites
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Willemsparkweg 113, 1071 GV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 302 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“No Rest for the Weary”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

I will try to be fair. It was very very nice that we were allowed to check in early after flying from US. Staff was very kind and helpful. We opted to get breakfast on our own each morning. Our room (Rembrandt) was lovely and bed was extremely comfortable. Problem (and a big one at that) was the noise level, a ten on a ten scale. Our room faced the street, which though residential, is very busy with two way traffic at all hours plus a tram line as well. As if that weren't enough, two of three nights the front door bell was rung for an extended period with one episode followed by heavy banging on door at midnight when bell wasn't answered. I mentioned this at checkout. Owner's daughter told us someone is on premises 24 hrs to handle such matters. Sounds like the night watchman was sleeping. Wouldn't choose this place again. Too many other options at this fairly high price point. Walls paper thin. Could hear conversations in nearby rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuseumSuites, Manager at Museum Suites, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

With this reply we would like to take the opportunity to tell you that we feel terrible sorry that you have had a bad experience in our hotel due to noise.

Even though the windows at the front of the hotel have double glass, you can hear indeed still the traffic at the street (just for other travellers information; it is a street, not a big road).

We had not yet heard complaints about this sound being disturbing, but of course this does not change anything for you!

The awful coincidence occurred that during your stay in our hotel, on top of the noise of the street you experienced, other guests had forgotten their key.
Unfortunately this guests did not call the night porter on the telephone nr. provided but rang the front door bell over and over again... waking you up.

We cannot repeat saying how sorry we are about this situation, We sincerely hope you would consider giving us another chance and would be very pleased to welcome you back as our special guests.
Please contact us by email to personally discuss there matters further.

With kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    169
    21
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
124
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We was warmly greeted by Frieda, she gave us a map of Amsterdam and answered our questions on how to get around, directions to where we wanted to go etc, she then showed us to our room which was the Mondrian suite.
The suite was very clean,light and a nice size. Everything you needed was in there and also the same for the bathroom. The beds were very comfortable.
A big bonus was the free wi-fi.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful.
The suites are within walking distance to all the museums, hard rock cafe,river boat trips,big red bus tours and the lovely Vondel park. We enjoy walking so didn't use the trams much. The tram stop is not very far. It took us around 20/25 mins to walk into the main centre.
We were lucky with the weather and had a perfect stay in Amsterdam....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We (2 of us) stayed in the Van Gogh suite. It is a lovely room with a nice balcony for having breakfast. We requested our breakfast on the balcony. We were pleased that Anna Maria could accommodate us. The breakfast(which was extra-but worth it) included enough food for 4 people (croissants, breads, meats, cheeses, yogurt, juice, coffee, tea). The location is very convenient to the Van Gogh museum (our planned activity for the day). When we left to go to the airport we were please to find they had an arrangement with a local taxi for 23 Euros instead of 35 for the trip to Schipol.

Room Tip: Look at the rooms on the Internet. This was quite accurate. We purchased through hotels.nl and were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Museum Suites is a lovely boutique hotel in the museum district of Amsterdam. Our room was quite large, especially by European standards. You can't beat the location for museums, shopping and restaurants. I highly recommend this hotel and the owner was very helpful.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rembrandt room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Our family planned a trip to Amsterdam and decided to hire the entire hotel since we needed 4 suites. It was truly a fabulous experience, the hotel does not feel like a hotel it is truly a gorgeous residence in Willemsparkweg ,2 blocks from the Van Gogh Museum and 3 blocks from the Rijksmuseum. Its location is fantastic since it is not in the center of town but in a more residential part of the city where you can find great small restaurants, boutiques and pharmacies walking distance. The tram also stops in front so you can move around the city with no problem..
Freda and Annemarie are wonderful hosts and made us feel at home immediately.. In fact we became friends and we are looking froward to future visits.. I recommend this hotel for the traveler that will like to experience living in a real home in Amsterdam while enjoying the luxury and privacy of a small boutique hotel.

Room Tip: Loved the Van Gogh suite with the balcony overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My wife and I spent the weekend in Museum suites (the Rembrant suite) in July. The suite was lovely, the bathroom large and airy and the attention paid to us by our hoses, Frieda and her daughter (and her baby) perfect. We had a very agreeable breakfast in their breakfast room and the location entirely suited our purposes: next to the Vondelpark for a walk or jog; adjacent to the key galleries; and several good local restaurants and bars. If you're visiting Amsterdam to see the rehung Rijksmuseum, or just to see the other great galleries it's a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Thank you to Frida and her daughter Ana-Maria for making our stay in Amsterdam memorable! You were always there to answer our questions, book our special night out at the Concertgebouw, Indonesian and Dutch restaurants and delicious breakfast. Both rooms we stayed in (Vermeer and Van Gogh) were impeccably clean equipped with comfortable beds and fit with everything necessary for a relaxing time after long days of walking around Amsterdam. The hotel is located within walking distance to all major museums and short tram ride to canal district and central train stations. It is situated in quiet and safe neighborhood away from the crowds, close to Vondelpark and numerous shops and restaurants. Both my husband and I are already looking forward to the next trip to Amsterdam!

Thank you once again for your warm welcome and continued hospitality throughout our 10 night stay!
p.s. For my mom it was the first visit overseas in her life and she called Museum Suites “a fairy tale” hotel and rightfully so.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Museum Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Museum Suites

Address: Willemsparkweg 113, 1071 GV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 302 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Museum Suites 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Museum Suites boutique hotel offers luxury rooms in a nineteenth-century mansion boasting historic links with the Rijksmuseum. Because of this ‘museum connection’, each of the hotel’s four spacious suites been inspired by a different Dutch painter, giving them a unique character and style. Museum Suites is situated in the cultural heart of the city, on the edge of the historic centre, a stone’s throw away from the popular Vondel Park and within walking distance of Amsterdam’s most fashionable shopping streets and main cultural venues, such as the Concertgebouw and the large national museums (Stedelijk, Van Gogh, Rijksmuseum). By offering you elegance, comfort, privacy and personal attention we aim to make your stay with us a highly enjoyable experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Museum Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.