We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Museum Suites is a Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Museum Suites to your Saves list
Museum Suites
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Willemsparkweg 113, 1071 GV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 307 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Museum Suites is a Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Our family planned a trip to Amsterdam and decided to hire the entire hotel since we needed 4 suites. It was truly a fabulous experience, the hotel does not feel like a hotel it is truly a gorgeous residence in Willemsparkweg ,2 blocks from the Van Gogh Museum and 3 blocks from the Rijksmuseum. Its location is fantastic since it is not in the center of town but in a more residential part of the city where you can find great small restaurants, boutiques and pharmacies walking distance. The tram also stops in front so you can move around the city with no problem..
Freda and Annemarie are wonderful hosts and made us feel at home immediately.. In fact we became friends and we are looking froward to future visits.. I recommend this hotel for the traveler that will like to experience living in a real home in Amsterdam while enjoying the luxury and privacy of a small boutique hotel.

Room Tip: Loved the Van Gogh suite with the balcony overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    22
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
132
10
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My wife and I spent the weekend in Museum suites (the Rembrant suite) in July. The suite was lovely, the bathroom large and airy and the attention paid to us by our hoses, Frieda and her daughter (and her baby) perfect. We had a very agreeable breakfast in their breakfast room and the location entirely suited our purposes: next to the Vondelpark for a walk or jog; adjacent to the key galleries; and several good local restaurants and bars. If you're visiting Amsterdam to see the rehung Rijksmuseum, or just to see the other great galleries it's a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Thank you to Frida and her daughter Ana-Maria for making our stay in Amsterdam memorable! You were always there to answer our questions, book our special night out at the Concertgebouw, Indonesian and Dutch restaurants and delicious breakfast. Both rooms we stayed in (Vermeer and Van Gogh) were impeccably clean equipped with comfortable beds and fit with everything necessary for a relaxing time after long days of walking around Amsterdam. The hotel is located within walking distance to all major museums and short tram ride to canal district and central train stations. It is situated in quiet and safe neighborhood away from the crowds, close to Vondelpark and numerous shops and restaurants. Both my husband and I are already looking forward to the next trip to Amsterdam!

Thank you once again for your warm welcome and continued hospitality throughout our 10 night stay!
p.s. For my mom it was the first visit overseas in her life and she called Museum Suites “a fairy tale” hotel and rightfully so.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is a great place to stay! It is situated near the major museums, and just far enough away from the touristy center of the city. There are some great restaurants in the neighborhood and beautiful streets to stroll. You are also a few blocks away from the Vonderpark.
Our room was spacious with a great terrace, but no air conditioner, (so it was pretty warm during that really bad heat wave).
I am not a big fan of large hotels, so Museum Suites was perfect. It has character, charm, and very helpful owners.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is a lovely lovely hotel.
I went there together with my bf for a weekend trip to Amsterdam. Since he's a big art fan, I thought that this place could be interesting. We were a bit sceptical because we usually go to the bigger chain hotels but our fears were completely unnecessary.
Museum Suites is a lovely place at a great location. The owners are very nice and helpful. You can see the care that they have put into every detail in your room (we had the Vermeer Suite).
It is super clean and quiet and just overall a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My husband and 9 year old daughter have just spent 4 days in glorious Amsterdam and stayed at this wonderful little chic hotel just down the road from the Van Gogh Museum. Anne-Marie and her mother Frieda who own the hotel were so hospitable and helpful - assisting us with luggage, up the 3 flights of stairs to our wonderful "Mondrian" suite on the top floor, and providing a babysitter so my husband and I could have a night out!. Our room was beautifully appointed with modern fixtures and fittings and most excellently a Nespresso machine. Highly recommend this to any type of traveller whether with children or without. Fabulous!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Museum Suites, which is in a quiet, elegant section of Amsterdam. The hotel is close to many museums and restaurants and a quick tram or bus ride to other sites in the city. We loved the unique feeling that our suite had - we stayed in the Van Gogh suite which has a beautiful terrace overlooking beautiful gardens and homes. The décor was elegant and each room had everything you need - including a Nespresso coffee machine which always hit the spot. The room was quiet and luxurious with a very comfortable bed.The owner, Frieda, was extremely friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend the Museum Suites and would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Museum Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Museum Suites

Address: Willemsparkweg 113, 1071 GV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 307 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Museum Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Museum Suites boutique hotel offers luxury rooms in a nineteenth-century mansion boasting historic links with the Rijksmuseum. Because of this ‘museum connection’, each of the hotel’s four spacious suites been inspired by a different Dutch painter, giving them a unique character and style. Museum Suites is situated in the cultural heart of the city, on the edge of the historic centre, a stone’s throw away from the popular Vondel Park and within walking distance of Amsterdam’s most fashionable shopping streets and main cultural venues, such as the Concertgebouw and the large national museums (Stedelijk, Van Gogh, Rijksmuseum). By offering you elegance, comfort, privacy and personal attention we aim to make your stay with us a highly enjoyable experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Museum Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.