We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum Suites

Save Saved
You added Museum Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Booking.com
and 8 more sites!
Museum Suites
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Willemsparkweg 113, Amsterdam 1071 GV, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #17 of 297 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is a lovely lovely hotel.
I went there together with my bf for a weekend trip to Amsterdam. Since he's a big art fan, I thought that this place could be interesting. We were a bit sceptical because we usually go to the bigger chain hotels but our fears were completely unnecessary.
Museum Suites is a lovely place at a great location. The owners are very nice and helpful. You can see the care that they have put into every detail in your room (we had the Vermeer Suite).
It is super clean and quiet and just overall a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    20
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
114
8
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My husband and 9 year old daughter have just spent 4 days in glorious Amsterdam and stayed at this wonderful little chic hotel just down the road from the Van Gogh Museum. Anne-Marie and her mother Frieda who own the hotel were so hospitable and helpful - assisting us with luggage, up the 3 flights of stairs to our wonderful "Mondrian" suite on the top floor, and providing a babysitter so my husband and I could have a night out!. Our room was beautifully appointed with modern fixtures and fittings and most excellently a Nespresso machine. Highly recommend this to any type of traveller whether with children or without. Fabulous!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Museum Suites, which is in a quiet, elegant section of Amsterdam. The hotel is close to many museums and restaurants and a quick tram or bus ride to other sites in the city. We loved the unique feeling that our suite had - we stayed in the Van Gogh suite which has a beautiful terrace overlooking beautiful gardens and homes. The décor was elegant and each room had everything you need - including a Nespresso coffee machine which always hit the spot. The room was quiet and luxurious with a very comfortable bed.The owner, Frieda, was extremely friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend the Museum Suites and would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson,az
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Actually, great everything. Location, facility, staff all superb. We had breakfast once and it was way too much and too expensive. A nearby café for a coffee and a croissant was fine. You are right on the train line into town--easy. And the park is just around the corner. Also obviously a nice part of town judging by the number of BMW's Audi's, and Mercedes we saw. The room was terrific. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

This is a small little hotel with a few unique rooms in a peaceful and beautiful part of Amsterdam. As a family run business, it is not one of the soulless chain hotels that are so common these days. It is set in amongst other houses in an area just south of the main part of Amsterdam. Each room is decorated according to a famous Dutch painter (eg, Van Gogh, Rembrandt etc) and they are simply delightful. The beds are comfortable and the view into the garden out the back is wonderful. If you take a breakfast package they are willing to cater for dietary requirements if you have them. Lastly, the service by Frieda and her daughter is warm and friendly. They take the time to chat with you and are genuinely interested about you. This place is a little more expensive but it is certainly worth it if it is in your budget.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We loved our stay at this boutique hotel! The location is a home with only 4 suites within walking distance of nice restaurants, famous museums and the tram line. The Rembrandt suite, located on the front of the house, is beautifully appointed with an extra large bathroom featuring a jacuzzi tub. There was a coffeemaker and a hair dryer provided. The bed is cozy and inviting - honestly one of the best beds I have ever slept on. Amsterdam is a vibrant city and one that apparently never sleeps. The traffic noise is noticeable at all hours, but ear plugs provided a quiet, restful sleep. Everyone here aims to please and don't forget to book breakfast at least once in the dining room. The candles are lit, the food is plentiful, fresh and delicious. Every day was a new adventure and we were perfectly delighted with our choice of accommodations.

Room Tip: The Van Gogh suite faces an interior garden away from the street. I'd like to try that one next.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We had a great stay with our 10 months old baby in the Vermeer Suite. The suit was really lovely, spotlessly clean and quiet. We felt very comfortable. A babybed, a babychair and bath tub were also provided by the hotel.
Everybody in the hotel was so adorable and friendly. The delicious breakfast was served in an cosy and lovely dining with room with antique furniture and burning candles. It was really romantic.
The suites are located in a really fine, untouristic neighbourhood just around the corner from the Vondelpark. There are nice little restaurants and cafes around that are not too crowded.
We enjoyed to walk around Amsterdam but if you prefer to take the tram it is just some steps away from the hotel.
We will definately come back to the Museum Suites and Amsterdam!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Museum Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Museum Suites

Address: Willemsparkweg 113, Amsterdam 1071 GV, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 297 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Museum Suites 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Museum Suites boutique hotel offers luxury rooms in a nineteenth-century mansion boasting historic links with the Rijksmuseum. Because of this ‘museum connection’, each of the hotel’s four spacious suites been inspired by a different Dutch painter, giving them a unique character and style. Museum Suites is situated in the cultural heart of the city, on the edge of the historic centre, a stone’s throw away from the popular Vondel Park and within walking distance of Amsterdam’s most fashionable shopping streets and main cultural venues, such as the Concertgebouw and the large national museums (Stedelijk, Van Gogh, Rijksmuseum). By offering you elegance, comfort, privacy and personal attention we aim to make your stay with us a highly enjoyable experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsNL, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Museum Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.