We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Museum Suites to your Saves list
Museum Suites
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Willemsparkweg 113, 1071 GV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Westport, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Museum Suites, which is in a quiet, elegant section of Amsterdam. The hotel is close to many museums and restaurants and a quick tram or bus ride to other sites in the city. We loved the unique feeling that our suite had - we stayed in the Van Gogh suite which has a beautiful terrace overlooking beautiful gardens and homes. The décor was elegant and each room had everything you need - including a Nespresso coffee machine which always hit the spot. The room was quiet and luxurious with a very comfortable bed.The owner, Frieda, was extremely friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend the Museum Suites and would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    22
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
137
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
tucson,az
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Actually, great everything. Location, facility, staff all superb. We had breakfast once and it was way too much and too expensive. A nearby café for a coffee and a croissant was fine. You are right on the train line into town--easy. And the park is just around the corner. Also obviously a nice part of town judging by the number of BMW's Audi's, and Mercedes we saw. The room was terrific. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

This is a small little hotel with a few unique rooms in a peaceful and beautiful part of Amsterdam. As a family run business, it is not one of the soulless chain hotels that are so common these days. It is set in amongst other houses in an area just south of the main part of Amsterdam. Each room is decorated according to a famous Dutch painter (eg, Van Gogh, Rembrandt etc) and they are simply delightful. The beds are comfortable and the view into the garden out the back is wonderful. If you take a breakfast package they are willing to cater for dietary requirements if you have them. Lastly, the service by Frieda and her daughter is warm and friendly. They take the time to chat with you and are genuinely interested about you. This place is a little more expensive but it is certainly worth it if it is in your budget.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We loved our stay at this boutique hotel! The location is a home with only 4 suites within walking distance of nice restaurants, famous museums and the tram line. The Rembrandt suite, located on the front of the house, is beautifully appointed with an extra large bathroom featuring a jacuzzi tub. There was a coffeemaker and a hair dryer provided. The bed is cozy and inviting - honestly one of the best beds I have ever slept on. Amsterdam is a vibrant city and one that apparently never sleeps. The traffic noise is noticeable at all hours, but ear plugs provided a quiet, restful sleep. Everyone here aims to please and don't forget to book breakfast at least once in the dining room. The candles are lit, the food is plentiful, fresh and delicious. Every day was a new adventure and we were perfectly delighted with our choice of accommodations.

Room Tip: The Van Gogh suite faces an interior garden away from the street. I'd like to try that one next.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We had a great stay with our 10 months old baby in the Vermeer Suite. The suit was really lovely, spotlessly clean and quiet. We felt very comfortable. A babybed, a babychair and bath tub were also provided by the hotel.
Everybody in the hotel was so adorable and friendly. The delicious breakfast was served in an cosy and lovely dining with room with antique furniture and burning candles. It was really romantic.
The suites are located in a really fine, untouristic neighbourhood just around the corner from the Vondelpark. There are nice little restaurants and cafes around that are not too crowded.
We enjoyed to walk around Amsterdam but if you prefer to take the tram it is just some steps away from the hotel.
We will definately come back to the Museum Suites and Amsterdam!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We loved the location of this hotel -- extremely close to the museum district but away from the hustle and bustle of the city. It is on a beautiful residential street with gorgeous, traditional row houses. We stayed in the Mondrian suit and loved the views from the top floor (pack light though because there are some steep stairs). The rain shower in the bathroom was so relaxing and the decor was spot on! Most of all, Frida was so welcoming and helpful. She went above and beyond to help us book and print several tickets during our stay. Saved us so much time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This lovely hotel is a diamond: quiet, beautiful, relaxing, tasteful. We stayed four nights in the beautiful Van Gogh suite - with its own elevated back porch, giving us an elevated view of the stunning backyard gardens in full flower with birds singing while clouds skudded over the Amsterdam sky. Easy travels throughout the city with the number two tram out front. Only three blocks from the Rijkmuseum, Van Gogh and Stedelijk Museums in a very safe and serene residential neighborhood. One block walk takes you into Vondelpark, a delightful experience. Many buildings about with art deco details. Just a fascinating neighborhood. The staff is incredible, the hotel is a dream. . . absolutely the most wonderful place to stay in this city! We are from Santa Fe, NM and Museum Suites made our stay in Amsterdam memorable!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Museum Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Museum Suites

Address: Willemsparkweg 113, 1071 GV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Museum Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Museum Suites boutique hotel offers luxury rooms in a nineteenth-century mansion boasting historic links with the Rijksmuseum. Because of this ‘museum connection’, each of the hotel’s four spacious suites been inspired by a different Dutch painter, giving them a unique character and style. Museum Suites is situated in the cultural heart of the city, on the edge of the historic centre, a stone’s throw away from the popular Vondel Park and within walking distance of Amsterdam’s most fashionable shopping streets and main cultural venues, such as the Concertgebouw and the large national museums (Stedelijk, Van Gogh, Rijksmuseum). By offering you elegance, comfort, privacy and personal attention we aim to make your stay with us a highly enjoyable experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Museum Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.