We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very special accommodations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum Suites

Save Saved
You added Museum Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Museum Suites
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Willemsparkweg 113, 1071 GV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 303 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Memphis, TN
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very special accommodations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We loved our stay at this boutique hotel! The location is a home with only 4 suites within walking distance of nice restaurants, famous museums and the tram line. The Rembrandt suite, located on the front of the house, is beautifully appointed with an extra large bathroom featuring a jacuzzi tub. There was a coffeemaker and a hair dryer provided. The bed is cozy and inviting - honestly one of the best beds I have ever slept on. Amsterdam is a vibrant city and one that apparently never sleeps. The traffic noise is noticeable at all hours, but ear plugs provided a quiet, restful sleep. Everyone here aims to please and don't forget to book breakfast at least once in the dining room. The candles are lit, the food is plentiful, fresh and delicious. Every day was a new adventure and we were perfectly delighted with our choice of accommodations.

Room Tip: The Van Gogh suite faces an interior garden away from the street. I'd like to try that one next.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    170
    21
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
125
8
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We had a great stay with our 10 months old baby in the Vermeer Suite. The suit was really lovely, spotlessly clean and quiet. We felt very comfortable. A babybed, a babychair and bath tub were also provided by the hotel.
Everybody in the hotel was so adorable and friendly. The delicious breakfast was served in an cosy and lovely dining with room with antique furniture and burning candles. It was really romantic.
The suites are located in a really fine, untouristic neighbourhood just around the corner from the Vondelpark. There are nice little restaurants and cafes around that are not too crowded.
We enjoyed to walk around Amsterdam but if you prefer to take the tram it is just some steps away from the hotel.
We will definately come back to the Museum Suites and Amsterdam!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We loved the location of this hotel -- extremely close to the museum district but away from the hustle and bustle of the city. It is on a beautiful residential street with gorgeous, traditional row houses. We stayed in the Mondrian suit and loved the views from the top floor (pack light though because there are some steep stairs). The rain shower in the bathroom was so relaxing and the decor was spot on! Most of all, Frida was so welcoming and helpful. She went above and beyond to help us book and print several tickets during our stay. Saved us so much time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This lovely hotel is a diamond: quiet, beautiful, relaxing, tasteful. We stayed four nights in the beautiful Van Gogh suite - with its own elevated back porch, giving us an elevated view of the stunning backyard gardens in full flower with birds singing while clouds skudded over the Amsterdam sky. Easy travels throughout the city with the number two tram out front. Only three blocks from the Rijkmuseum, Van Gogh and Stedelijk Museums in a very safe and serene residential neighborhood. One block walk takes you into Vondelpark, a delightful experience. Many buildings about with art deco details. Just a fascinating neighborhood. The staff is incredible, the hotel is a dream. . . absolutely the most wonderful place to stay in this city! We are from Santa Fe, NM and Museum Suites made our stay in Amsterdam memorable!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

The 5 star reviews don't lie; this little treasure gets my fierce recommendation after just a 12 hour stay. Frida, the owner, welcomed at the locked front door on my late arrival. A lovely woman who is proud if the place, and rightly so. Had the Rembrandt suite, which was a bit wasted on me being a solo business traveller. Themed colours and perfectly selected furniture. Jacuzzi bath went down well. Excellent location in a plush district. Will return for sure. Get the 197 bus from Schiphol - it's quick and cheap.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kingston upon Thames
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Booked in for one night only on business. Will be back again and again. Room perfect - and so refreshingly different to the vanilla rooms elsewhere. The icing on top was the warm reception I had from the team, for whom nothing was too much trouble. The Museum Suites are also in a very cool part of town, walking distance to some lovely local shops, bars, and restaurants.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a terrace - ask ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duxbury, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We chose this hotel because of its central location but would absolutely return for many other reasons. Our room, the Van Gogh Suite, was bright, extremely comfortable and had a balcony that allowed us to enjoy backyards filled with flowering trees and shrubs not seen from the street! Our breakfasts were large (my husband loved all the variety each morning) and cheerfully served by the owner or her daughter - both of whom were extremely helpful and took the time to make sure all our questions were answered, directions were clear and every other need met. We loved this gem of a small hotel and hope to return.

Room Tip: Van Gogh was up one flight - yes, the stairs are steep but not as bad as what we saw in some private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Museum Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Museum Suites

Address: Willemsparkweg 113, 1071 GV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 303 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Museum Suites 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Museum Suites boutique hotel offers luxury rooms in a nineteenth-century mansion boasting historic links with the Rijksmuseum. Because of this ‘museum connection’, each of the hotel’s four spacious suites been inspired by a different Dutch painter, giving them a unique character and style. Museum Suites is situated in the cultural heart of the city, on the edge of the historic centre, a stone’s throw away from the popular Vondel Park and within walking distance of Amsterdam’s most fashionable shopping streets and main cultural venues, such as the Concertgebouw and the large national museums (Stedelijk, Van Gogh, Rijksmuseum). By offering you elegance, comfort, privacy and personal attention we aim to make your stay with us a highly enjoyable experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsNL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Museum Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.