We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum Suites

Save Saved
You added Museum Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Museum Suites
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Willemsparkweg 113, Amsterdam 1071 GV, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 301 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Kiev, Ukraine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best hotel in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

It is very good hotel. The room is perfect, but I think that this hotel is for young people - you can not find the elevator and the stairs are very steep. Staff were very friendly. Location is perfect - it is not loud around, but near the center.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    168
    21
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
123
8
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Excellent location with somewhat problematic parking. Great hospitality and very elegant rooms and facilities.
Perfect for mature couples though the lack of an elevator might be problematic sometimes. We enjoyed the interior design and the close proximity to the park.

Room Tip: Great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

For our wedding night my husband and I chose a remarkable hotel in Amsterdam: the Museum Suites. In our own city! We found it by their website: www.museumsuites.com. We were received in a very friendly and punctual manner by the owners Frieda Manshande and her daughter Annemarie. It is located in a quarter that was erected round the 1890’s. Very stylish, quite near the concert hall and the important museums it turned out to be a well kept secret, even for us residents. The Von-delpark is nearby and also the famous shopping street for the rich and beautiful: the P.C.Hooftstraat. The façade does not reveal you are entering a hotel, so you feel a resident in this quarter where intel-lectuals and successful ‘Amsterdammers’ are dominant.
Inside, the hotel is perfectly in style. Every detail is witnessing the love and care that was used to bring this hotel to a very special level. There are only four suites, but every suite is in the fashion of a famous Dutch painter. Rembrandt, Vermeer, Van Gogh and Mondriaan were the source of inspira-tion for beautifully organized and decorated rooms where comfort goes hand in hand with an inven-tive approach.
The next morning after a good night’s sleep, breakfast was overwhelming. We felt like VIP’s: candles burning gently, the croissants and the bread still warm from the oven and – most important – the perfect coffee! The only reason not to visit this hotel could occur when you are always in need of an elevator. But then you miss the stairs, which are also typically Dutch and delightfully ornamented.

Room Tip: Choose between the painters Rembrandt, Vermeer, Mondrian and Van Gogh. Your favourite painter will b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed at the Museum Suites for a weekend stay. We stayed in the Mondriaan suite which was beautifully set-up. The decor was amazing, a very well executed idea. The whole building was immaculately decorated and it made the stay very enjoyable.

The breakfasts were good and they catered to our dietary needs very well. One of us required gluten-free meals and they made sure there was plenty for her to eat.

The bathroom was very well looked after and the shower was excellent. There were two sinks, plenty of space and a nice, heated floor.

The location is also good, a very nice area which was pleasant to walk around and convenient for the number 2 tram which made life easier for us.

The only problem we had really was that the temperature in the room got very hot on the first evening we were there, to the point of discomfort. We were warned on arrival that the window was tricky to keep open so that didn't seem an option so we both struggled to get a good sleep. To be fair though we did not try to resolve the issue at the time but it was uncomfortable. The next night there was no issue whatsoever so it may well have just been a freak occurrence.

Overall though, despite that one problem, the stay was very enjoyable. It is a lovely hotel in a great location and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This small hotel is perfectly located to visit the great museums with the Vondel Park nearby. The tram connects you with the centre of Amsterdam. The reception was warm and very friendly, the breakfast outstanding. The rooms are beautiful and large, the bathroom is well-stocked.
Definitely a recommendation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed at Museum Suites for 3 days in October as a result of Trip Advisor reviews. Room was beautiful (Rembrandt Suite), large with a well-stocked bathroom, refrigerator, coffee maker, free wifi- nothing was lacking. We arrived very early on a Sunday morning and were made to feel very welcomed. The hotel is in a fantastic location - sort of like the west village in NYC - close to public transportation (less than 2 blocks), walking distance to Riks Museum, lots of good restaurants, park, etc. Moreover, unlike other areas in Amsterdam, this area is quiet at night so a good night's sleep is easy as well. We had breakfast there one day, it was good, but would recommend going out - lots of places nearby and you can get a discount showing the museum suites card. Highly recommend, but note that you will have to walk up steps to your room, so maybe not the best choice if you have issues with steps. If no step issues - great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is a small hotel with only 4 rooms, but it is one of the most charming places to stay anywhere! Each room has a different theme from a different artist to make it unique. They have put a lot of thought into the amenities in the rooms and everything is high quality. I love the espresso machine in the morning! My bathroom had a heated floor with a cozy robe and fluffy towels. I would stay here again for sure!

Room Tip: If you are in the Mondriaan suite, it is at the top of the building and requires climbing up a numbe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Museum Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Museum Suites

Address: Willemsparkweg 113, Amsterdam 1071 GV, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 301 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Museum Suites 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Museum Suites boutique hotel offers luxury rooms in a nineteenth-century mansion boasting historic links with the Rijksmuseum. Because of this ‘museum connection’, each of the hotel’s four spacious suites been inspired by a different Dutch painter, giving them a unique character and style. Museum Suites is situated in the cultural heart of the city, on the edge of the historic centre, a stone’s throw away from the popular Vondel Park and within walking distance of Amsterdam’s most fashionable shopping streets and main cultural venues, such as the Concertgebouw and the large national museums (Stedelijk, Van Gogh, Rijksmuseum). By offering you elegance, comfort, privacy and personal attention we aim to make your stay with us a highly enjoyable experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Museum Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.