We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay, intimate, well located, high quality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Museum Suites to your Saves list
Museum Suites
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Willemsparkweg 113, 1071 GV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 323 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford Hills, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay, intimate, well located, high quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Museum Suites is a wondeful find, walkable to Museum square and Koncert Gebau etc, yet also a tram stopping yards away to get to just about anywhere. In fact location wise you can get to the airport the backway with a tram and then regular train for less money and a lot quicker than through central station. Located on a residential street this is an old restored Amsterdam house, along a street of similar places. Nice stores around the corner, and wonderful small cafes etc, are all elegant in style.

The hotel its self only has a few suites, each uniqely designed and named after famous people from Amsterdam. On our last day we were shown around them all as we wanted to see which we might stay in next time.

We had the Van Gogh suite, which was at the back with a wonderful very large balcony over the back gardens, Such a great place to sit outside in the sun.

The suite, just like the rest of the place, was immaculate. Nothing could be faulted, super clean, very well restored, yet modern conveniences like a wonderful bathroom,high end coffee machine, and just a really nice feel to the whole place.

Having seen all of the suites I dont think you could be unhappy in any of them. Just decide how much space you need, front of back of the hotel, how many floors up and if a balcony is important to you.

Freide and Annmarie were excellent. It was like being welcomed into their house. They made sure we had reservations and travel tips for things around amsterdam, they got us decaf coffee for the fancy machine in the room. They helped us get the free wifi (they will lend you a laptop if needed) and really nothing was too much bother.

When you are a corporate traveller like I am, and get tired of staying in the same chain hotels, this is the change you need. We feel like this is now our place to stay whenever visiting Amsterdam, and like others said, its a compelling reason to come back.

I think whether for business or leisure if you want a bit of quality, unique style, great quality location you can do no wrong staying here.

ALso the first hotel where you can have an email interchange before going to ensure your stay will be successfull.

I cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    23
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
155
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Our four night stay at the Museum Suites was so exceptional that I feel we will return to Amsterdam specifically so that we can experience this excellent boutique hotel again!

Our experience was positive in every way from the time of check-in until our departure.

We stayed in the delightful large and bright VanGogh Suite. The room was well equipped with a comfortable bed, excellent linens and towels, a modern and well functioning bathroom, a Nepresso coffee maker along with a kettle for tea, an elegant chandelier along with interesting art and books. A door from the Van Gogh Suite lead outside to a terrace that overlooked the garden below as well as adjacent private back gardes. It iwas the perfect place to sit in the evening - stargazing and recalling the day's events. Fresh flowers were everywhere throughout this hitorical home and all was spotless!

We were impressed with its convenient location, between Willemsparkweg and Van Breestraat; it was a pretty and comfortable neighbourhood. There was easy access to Museums, a Concert Hall, shops, restaurants, and pubs, along with public transit to other parts of Old Amsterdam and beyond. The hotel's closeness to Vondelspark was also noteworthy.
.
Although breakfast was not included in the cost, we so enjoyed adding breakfast to our experience for one morning. The food was truly wonderful ... fresh, delicious and expertly served in the beautiful dining room. The other mornings we followed instructions to the nearby "Brasserie de Joffers".

Freida Manshande and her daughter Annemarie were friendly, helpful and they were rmost capable hosts and businesswomen. They were willing to review travel ideas and suggest best routes. They were willing to get up early and be present to facilitate our morning departure, making certain that the taxi driver took our suitcases down some very steep stairs and into the cab.

In summary, I would agree with another reviewer, who astutely concluded, "the Museum Suites are peace and quiet with a touch of luxury."

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The VanGogh Suite located at the back of the home has a lovely view and a large belcony/terrace for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for the bank holiday weekend in August and it was absolutely gorgeous. Museum Suites deserves every high review that it gets! Amsterdam itself is a beautiful city, although the weather wasn't great for us but I was more than happy to stay in the room when it rained very heavily on the Sunday. We stayed in the Van Gogh suite and it is so light and airy while still having a cosy feel, absolutely perfect.
I love the little touches that they have in the room, the candles were a particular favourite of mine. Sabine and Freda were so friendly and I would really recommend buying your tickets for the Van Gogh museum from them as you can walk straight in rather than standing in the huge queue!
Listen to Sabine's advise for dinner, she told us about the most fantastic Indonesian restaurant where the food was great and the staff were really friendly and helpful. When we arrived they didn't have any tables but we put our name down, came back half an hour later and the table was waiting for us.
We didn't have breakfast in the hotel but there is a cafe called George a little way up the street beside the tram stop and it is fantastic. The only place to go if you want eggs/french toast and it's not that expensive either.
One tiny thing about the Van Gogh suite is the chandelier rattles when someone is walking around upstairs, ok if you're an early riser but not if you want that extra snooze.
This stay itself was on the high side price wise but that room was totally worth it and for a little treat I would definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I have stayed in many hotels in Amsterdam. This is certainly one of the best. An excellent location near Vondelspark, excellent service, friendly staff, breakfasts in a magnificent dining room, home-like atmosphere -- what more would a traveler want?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

my wife and i stayed in the van gogh suite in august,the house its self stands out, well decorated to a very high standard in a quiet part of the city near the museums,the house and the rooms are spotless, fresh flowers and marble floors really nice, we have been comming to amsterdam for years and never came across anywhere as good, the breakfast was nice and was served in the lovely library,sabine and freda welcomed us on arrivial and took care of any needs/ questions we had, peace and quiet with a touch of luxury in amsterdam would sum up our experience of this great place,we will be back, peace.

Room Tip: they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wyoming
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Our four nights in the Rembrandt room proved to be blissful and satisfying. We always felt like we were coming home when returning from our adventures in the city. The Suites is a four-room hotel where each of the four accommodations is decorated as per the style of a Dutch artist. The Rembrandt room was lush, with chandelier, fireplace, silk drapes and a roomy bathroom. Coffee was made available per the single-prep machine, tea from teabags. There's a small mini-fridge with drink options. Our beds were firm and warm. Wifi was fully available and fairly fast. The bathroom was well-appointed, with tub, overhead shower and hand-held shower. Soaps, plenty of towels and a hair dryer were immediately at hand.

Our only caution would be to those who are light sleepers. The Rembrandt room is above the street, Willemsparkweg, and our first night was somewhat noisy, even with windows closed and drapes drawn. However, this proved not to be an issue, as we had earplugs, and the following three nights, we slept very well, not even opting for the earplugs.

Museum Suites staff is efficient, thoughtful and informative. Frieda and Sabine helped us with a couple of scheduling chores, and the breakfast they serve (extra fee) is filling and satisfying. Rooms were kept spotless. And I mean, spotless.

The tram to Centraal Station runs along Willemparksweg; it's the #2, and it stops at the end of the block for boarding or getting off. Takes about ten minutes, with stops, to the Station. The Vondelpark is an easy walk away, and the surrounding neighborhood has several groceries, bakeries, restaurants and clothing shops. It's a lovely place to spend time people watching over coffee.

I hope we get the chance to return to Amsterdam. If so, Museum Suites will be our first choice of hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are upstairs and there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Highly recommended: central, in an upper-class neighbourhood next to Vondelpark, in walking distance from the main museums (Modern Art - currently closed for restoration-, Van Gogh, Reijksmuseum), served by tramway line 2 running from the Central Station. It's a beautiful traditional 19th century home, on three floors (steep stairways) - spotlessly clean! – with 4-star hotel standards, and wifi free internet. Rooms are wide and airy (we stayed 5 nights in the Rembrandt Suite: charming fireplace, large sofa, good size flat TV, spacious bathroom with a Jacuzzi bathtub, bathroom amenities, towelling robes, and a very convenient tea-making corner with kettle, Nespresso and fridge). Breakfast is not included and while on our first day we had breakfast in a nice brasserie nearby (Van Dam, with discount for Suites' guests), we then opted for in-house breakfast: excellent and plentiful, with a variety of breads, croissants, cheese, egg, butter and jam, juice, fresh fruit salad, coffee, and tea. Everything was just delightful, complemented by affable yet discreet personal attention. Would definitely go back whenever next in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Museum Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Museum Suites

Address: Willemsparkweg 113, 1071 GV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 323 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Museum Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Museum Suites boutique hotel offers luxury rooms in a nineteenth-century mansion boasting historic links with the Rijksmuseum. Because of this ‘museum connection’, each of the hotel’s four spacious suites been inspired by a different Dutch painter, giving them a unique character and style. Museum Suites is situated in the cultural heart of the city, on the edge of the historic centre, a stone’s throw away from the popular Vondel Park and within walking distance of Amsterdam’s most fashionable shopping streets and main cultural venues, such as the Concertgebouw and the large national museums (Stedelijk, Van Gogh, Rijksmuseum). By offering you elegance, comfort, privacy and personal attention we aim to make your stay with us a highly enjoyable experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Museum Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.