We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, just excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rob Wigboldus Vishandel

Rob Wigboldus Vishandel
Zoutsteeg 6, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
020 626 33 88
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 2,445 Restaurants in Amsterdam
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Neighborhood: Dam Square
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent, just excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

My friends and I had only half a day to spend in Amsterdam while travelling and for a snack we were recommended to try these wonderful herring sandwiches. I am so glad that we followed this recommendation and instead of going to a restaurant had a chance to sit at one of four tables in this tiny shop and enjoy watching Rob make the sandwiches for us - the best things we've ever tasted made of fish! We made only one mistake - we left the place after eating without buying any as takeaway! We started regretting it as soon as we got aboard the train to the airport. Next time we are in Amsterdam, we'll definitely go there!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    24
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
260 helpful votes 260 helpful votes
“Best herring in the world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I first found this place several years ago, and I couldn't get enough of the herring and eel. I came back home and raved about it... tried to find anything similar, but nothing you get outside of Holland is quite the same. I even chanced upon a Holland festival back home where they had herring -nope. Similar, but not the same. Thought I was imagining it after a while -maybe it wasn't as good as I remember it? But then I came back and it's like, YES! That's the amazing herring I recall! Nothing else like it. And the place was the exact same as before, with the exact same friendly guy cleaning the herring behind the same counter. That's what I love about Amsterdam -all these small family businesses that stay in business for years and years instead of chains swallowing them up or crowding them out.

Truth is, you get a similar product at a lot of the herring stands, but there's more variety here, and drinks, and warm place to sit down, so it remains my favorite. We went there for breakfast almost every morning -yes, the breakfast of champions!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Best Aring and Eel sandwiches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I spent three night in Amsterdam and I ate 8 sandwiches from this shop. White bread and fresh fish, simple but scrumptious and the price is very good. The only problem is that this is in Amsterdam and I live in London and I can't go there to eat his sandwiches soon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Classic herring sandwich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Superb ! Tasty and worth a visit, easy to find and was pleasantly surprised by the place, served by Rob and he prepared and dished up a classic herring in a roll with gherkin ...

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“One to do while your in Amsterdam!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This a must to visit in Amsterdam, a small pitoresque fish shop with very, very fresh fish in all kinds.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rob Wigboldus Vishandel also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Rob Wigboldus Vishandel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rob Wigboldus Vishandel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.