We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed Breakfast Boat

Save Saved
You added Bed Breakfast Boat to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bed Breakfast Boat
Zeeburgerpad 178, 1019 DZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 171 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Staying in a boat house was truly one of the great experiences we had in Amsterdam. The room was very spacious for the price we paid and nicely segregated into the bedroom and the living room area. Waking up to the tranquility of the canals in the morning with the occasional swans and ducks swimming by is definitely something that cannot be experienced in a typical hotel right in the city.

There are so many modes of transportation in Amsterdam and travelling to the city is very convenient. You can choose to cycle to the city, like how the Dutch do. Otherwise, there is bus 22 just 5 mins walk away or tram 10 / 14 which is just 10 mins walk away. The owner Rene has city maps ready, and there are a lot of guidebooks in the room. There are restaurants and supermarket nearby as well.

Unlike a typical hotel stay, Rene made our 5 days 4 night stay a very personal one. He was always very approachable and willing to share about Netherlands. The breakfast he prepared for us was sumptuous and we often had more to pack for lunch.

However, just one tiny shortcoming about the room is the bathroom, which has no place for hanging clothes. Otherwise, it was a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renevanschie, Owner at Bed Breakfast Boat, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hi Siew Li,

Thank you so much for your support and comforting words. It was truly a pleasure to have you as guests. As said...you were extremely active guests squeezing every minute of your stay to see, feel, hear, taste and smell Amsterdam and its surroundings. I loved your interest in everything that Amsterdam has to offer and particularly your questions about bike behaviour ;) Hope to see you back some day in Amsterdam. I will make sure I will have organized a solution about the lack of hangers in the bathroom. You are absolutely right about that! Njoy! René
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
23
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

stayed on the houseboat in march 2012 just forgot to put review on so here it is a bit late. I stayed for three nights with my husband and it was in a great location for exploring the city. Rene was a lovely host very helpful and gave a lift to the station when we were leaving which was very kind.The boat had everything you needed and the breakfast was buffet style which was delivered early in the morning. Also there was a very well stocked fridge and plenty of cereals.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedbreakfastboat, Owner at Bed Breakfast Boat, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Hi Bridget and Glen, thank you so much for your response. The fact that you still take the effort of leaving a review after a year means a lot to me. I hope that I can welcome you again at some time at the Bed Breakfast Boat. Have a great sping and summer! René
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I certainly recommend this place as an excellent base for exploring the city of Amsterdam, whilst being able to retreat to a nice peaceful haven away from the hustle and bustle.
I emailed Rene before our trip and he gave us some excellent advice regarding transport to the boat and how to get about during our stay.
We landed at Schiphol, jumped on the train (the station is in the airport so really easy) to Amsterdam Centraal station (3.40 Euros each). When we arrived at the station we went outside and straight across to the GVB transport ticket office and bought a 96 hour transport pass for 19 Euros each which allowed us to travel on all city trams, buses and the metro for all of our stay. In reality we only used the trams. We jumped on the 22 and had to walk a short distance to the boat. Upon arrival at around 10.30-11am Rene met us at the boat, as the accommodation was ready we were allowed to go straight in and get on with our stay, Rene runs us through the essentials and just said to text him or knock next door if we needed anything, he lives on the other side of the boat, but we didn’t see him until the final day when we knocked to go pay.
The breakfast was left outside our door at 8am every morning in a basket, lots of bread rolls, various cooked meats, cheese, pastries, yoghurts, fruit juices and fruit…. Plenty to see you through until dinner if you chose to do so! There is plenty of tea and coffee on the boat too!
The accommodation itself is excellent, well laid out and plenty of room for two people. The bed is comfy, the bathroom works well and lovely and warm (we were there during a snowy Valentine’s Day)… the photos really tell the rest of the story.
Other useful things I liked were the safe, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, tv and dvd player (with LOADS of films) and the music player with a selection of good cd’s.
Transport to the city and back is by way of the tram 14, which is 2 minutes’ walk away and come every 10 minutes, it takes your right into Dam Square.
On our last day, as there was no-one staying in the boat the following night, Rene let us check out at our leisure and leave the key in the letter box.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedbreakfastboat, Owner at Bed Breakfast Boat, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Hi Richard,

Thanks so much for you very kind and informative review. It was great to host you at Valentinesday and I am very happy that I could add a positive note to your stay in Amsterdam. Hope to see the two of you back some day!

René
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights over Christmas, and can heartily endorse all the good things others have said about the boat and the outstanding service Rene' provides. The frig is stocked with different lunch meats and cheese, milk, juice, yogurt, peanut butter, and jams. Then Rene' delivers a basket each morning with fresh breads , fruits, and more milk, juice, yogurt, etc.... I had to tell Rene' not to bring a basket on the 3rd morning because I already had more food than there was time to eat it!
I was looking for a quiet location, and wasn't disappointed: there is minimal traffic, and you barely hear nearby trains going by (no whistles). Tram 14 is only 2 blocks away, and takes you direct to Dam Square in less than 10 minutes.
Everything worked very well....plenty of hot water in the shower, wi-fi fast and reliable, bed very comfortable. And getting a ride from Rene' to Central Station when I left was service above and beyond. Obviously I'd definitely come back to stay!
My only 'warning'....if you arrive via Central Station & Tram 26 when it's dark, the website's directions to "look for the 2 big red buildings..." aren't very helpful. The buildings don't appear either 'big' or 'red', and finding help with directions from people in the area wasn't easy. Just get specific Google walking directions (from Tram stop to the Boat) in advance, and you'll have no problem.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedbreakfastboat, Owner at Bed Breakfast Boat, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Hi Dan,

My apologies for the late reply to your motivating review. Thanks for staying at the Bed Breakfast Boat around Christmas. The start of your stay was not great because the boat is hard to find from the tram 26 stop in the evening. Good news though...bus 22 is back in town and stops at 200 meters from the Bed Breakfast Boat.

Thanks for staying here and hope to see you back!

René
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We had a rather wonderful time staying on this 'boat'.

From the central station hop on tram 26(buy a 24hr tram ticket for (available on the tram) 7.50 euros-great value) to Rietlandpark then head toward two red buildings you see as you come up out of the tram stop, on the canal first boat on your left, just below a bridge.
There is an abundance of security around the boat house, all making you feel rather safe, and whilst it is situated quite close to a main road the noise from the traffic is minimal at worst.

The room (as really that is what it is) , with a bathroom adjoined, is seperated by a commodious wardrobe. Fully equipped with tv, all usual kitchen appliances and a nifty coffee machine (coffee bags provided and various teas), there is also a stereo secreted away in a cupboard beneath the tv- take your favourite Cds- wish I had known in advance!!

Now I guess this is inevitable, with it being on water- but be prepared for mozzies- we had them and it was october.

One or two minor criticisms- No bath towels, we had to use lots of hand towels, don't know if this was the norm or not. The shower is a fixed square unit, so if you want to avoid wetting your hair (almost impossible ) take a shower cap.

Breakfast arrives on your doorstep each morning in a basket laden with Yoghurt, fruit juices, bread, cheese cold meats and salami- fruit is also provided. We made sarnies for lunch each day- there is a huge amount !

Nice big comfy bed, but couldn't find extra pillows. It was all very clean and tidy. Each morning we were greeted by moorhens and a heron on the canal- rather sweet actually.

About 400 yrads back towards the tram stop there is a 'cafe', which is quite a good restaurant bar we ate in one evening- not bad if you dont fancy going into Amsterdam for your evening meal.

All in all a good place to stay,with a nice airy feel about it, away from the hub bub of the city but close enough to access the high spots with ease- recommended even with tyhe slight niggles we experienced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My wife and I stay 6 days at the boat and it made our stay in Amsterdam truly memorable, Rene is a great host and made sure we had everything we needed including fresh breads, fruits, meats, cheese and juices. There were even fresh flowers (my wife loved them) and the room was very
clean and cozy. Enjoyed the fact that it was located out of the heavy tourist areas and more in the local neighborhood. There were local markets and restaurants within walking distance including the Dappermarkt. We were even able to watch the rowboat races one day right from the window of the boat while we ate lunch. Great experience would do it again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights while we were in Amsterdam. Rene had accidentally double-booked the Bed Breakfast Boat, so he gave us his own section to stay in! It was perfect and very comfortable. Rene brought croissants and rolls in the morning and the fridge was stocked with cheese, meat, and various spreads and juices. Staying in the houseboat also allowed us the option of staying in for dinner. One of the nights we bought some basics at Albert Heijn, stayed in and watched the ducks, swans, and other boats go by. Note that if you leave the windows at open at night, you might end up with some bug bites as there are no screens.

As others have said, it is not located in the heart of Amsterdam, but this was not at all an issue. There are two tram lines nearby, and plenty of good restaurants in the neighborhood. Rene provides excellent recommendations!

On the day of our departure, Rene drove us to Central Station so we didn't have to take the tram in the rain. It was really a great experience- we're so glad we made the decision to stay here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bed Breakfast Boat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed Breakfast Boat

Address: Zeeburgerpad 178, 1019 DZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 171 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay on a houseboat in AmsterdamAmsterdam has 100 kilometer of canals, 1500 bridges and more than 1000 houseboats. Come and stay on one when you visit!Experience Amsterdam from the water. Come and stay on the Bed Breakfast Boat. Your own floating hotel room, right in the middle of buzzing town. Enjoy the beauty of the water: the sun reflecting in it, boats passing by, ducks and swans wanting to get acquainted.Enjoy your crispy fresh breakfast in the morning. Jump on your bike and cycle to town, where the greatest museums, the historic canal area, parks and bars are waiting to give you a great time.Upon return your own water cabin is waiting to give you that relaxing feeling you deserve! Enjoy a cold beer or a glass of really good wine on your own private terrace, watch a movie, listen to some music or just enjoy the magnificent view! This is Amsterdam!The Bed Breakfast Boat consists of one room of about 29 square meters. It is part of the owners houseboat but has it’s own fully private outside entry and terrace. It has a a double king size bed, a kitchenette, a bathroom with rainshower, washbasin and toilet and a sitting area with fold out sofa. There's 5 large windows bringing in wonderful light and offering you a spectacular view on the water.The Bed Breakfast Boat is mostly suited for one or two persons. However, the foldout sofa and the availability of a baby bed and stool makes it perfectly possible to bring your child or children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bed Breakfast Boat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed Breakfast Boat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.