We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and beyond” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed Breakfast Boat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bed Breakfast Boat to your Saves list
Bed Breakfast Boat
Zeeburgerpad 178, 1019 DZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Above and beyond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Wonderful, authentic experience. The houseboat proprietor had some minor remodeling to finish on the guest side, but graciously offered his side of the houseboat instead. This was a cozy upgrade from accommodations that were already superb. The location was quiet but accessible, and steps from some wonderful restaurants and a world-famous brewery. The swans at the window, fresh breakfast, onsite bikes, and hospitality made the stay an incredible value. I will be back to Amsterdam in the spring, this time with my wife. We are very much looking forward to staying in the houseboat. If you are looking for something unique, comfortable, and removed from the hectic and often overpriced center, this is your place. Absolutely recommended!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
35
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

The place was absolutely great ! .. what a experience to stay on a houseboat ! I will never forget the view ... and the feeling of calmness that the water brought to me in the middle of the citylife. I was staying there alone but I am thinking of coming again for some days with my husband. It is a great place for a couple or a small family too.
The place itself is spacious, clean, well equipped .. for breakfast you have a great choice and fresh products ... Rene is a very nice and helpful person - many thanks to him !

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Staying in the Bed and Breakfast Boat was pure heaven. Though outside the city center, there's a tram stop five minutes away, and the houseboat is located in a nice quiet area. The rooms are spacious, and the shower is absolutely luxurious, as is the incredibly comfortable bed. Every night after sightseeing, we couldn't wait to get back to the houseboat-- staying there was an experience in and of itself. The breakfast is incredible: Fresh bread delivered to your door in an adorable basket every day, with granola, yogurt, milk, cold cuts, cheese, and jam in the fridge. The cheese and cold cuts allowed us to make delicious sandwiches to take with us and eat while sightseeing-- so fantastic! The owner was very nice and understanding about our inability to check out on time (we just didn't want to leave the house boat-- we wanted to stay forever!) Staying here made our experience, and enabled us to have a truly relaxing vacation. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Staying here made our experience in Amsterdam go from great to fantastic. The houseboat is located a little outside the main downtown, but the attractions are easy to access through public trams or bikes.
The room is quite spacious and comfortable, with a great couch for relaxing, along with a fridge to store food and plates, cups, and utensils. Rene, the incredibly nice and helpful owner also provides cold cuts, bread, yogurt, granola, coffee, and tea.
I really cannot say enough about how great this place is. It almost feels like the very definition of leisure, especially with the amazing shower, comfortable bed, and being able to relax on the couch with your breakfast while watching the ducks and swans swim by. We didn't want to leave, and will definitely stay here again if the chance arises.
Ignore the larger, touristy sections and book a room here. It's an experience to be savored and should not be missed.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddinge, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

This place was an absolute gem. It is perfect for a couple but should also work alright with a small family. We very much enjoyed the atmosphere and the superb service from René.
We hired the bikes 2 days and that was a perfect way to go sightseeing around Amsterdam, cycling from the east side to west side is a fairly quick tour.
Breakfast was excellent with fresh bread and fruit in a basket each morning accompanied with some juice and yogurt. In the fridge we had butter, jam, cheese, salami and ham.
There was also wireless WiFi which was a pleasant surprise for us, we didn't see that in the information about the place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Hesitate to reveal this secret (next time it may be hard to book)... But this place is amazing. Hard to imagine any better. Beautiful spacious houseboat... View is incredible... Hosts are non-intrusive but available when you need them... Location is ideal... Not in the tourist areas of downtown... But certainly close enough... With a great local neighbourhood to discover. Breakfasts are too generous... And price too low for the value. I guess it is no secret that we loved our stay here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

You have the best of both worlds a relaxing, quiet location within easy reach of the bustling centre of Amsterdam by either bike, bus or tram.
Breakfast was a real treat being delivered to your door each morning - fruit smoothies, fresh rolls, pastries, yoghurt, fruit, meats and cheese. Having the extra room in the houseboat was great for relaxing and staying in watching a DVD!

The owner Rene is helpful and welcoming. Great value for money, highly recommended, definately worth a visit!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bed Breakfast Boat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed Breakfast Boat

Address: Zeeburgerpad 178, 1019 DZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay on a houseboat in AmsterdamAmsterdam has 100 kilometer of canals, 1500 bridges and more than 1000 houseboats. Come and stay on one when you visit!Experience Amsterdam from the water. Come and stay on the Bed Breakfast Boat. Your own floating hotel room, right in the middle of buzzing town. Enjoy the beauty of the water: the sun reflecting in it, boats passing by, ducks and swans wanting to get acquainted.Enjoy your crispy fresh breakfast in the morning. Jump on your bike and cycle to town, where the greatest museums, the historic canal area, parks and bars are waiting to give you a great time.Upon return your own water cabin is waiting to give you that relaxing feeling you deserve! Enjoy a cold beer or a glass of really good wine on your own private terrace, watch a movie, listen to some music or just enjoy the magnificent view! This is Amsterdam!The Bed Breakfast Boat consists of one room of about 29 square meters. It is part of the owners houseboat but has it’s own fully private outside entry and terrace. It has a a double king size bed, a kitchenette, a bathroom with rainshower, washbasin and toilet and a sitting area with fold out sofa. There's 5 large windows bringing in wonderful light and offering you a spectacular view on the water.The Bed Breakfast Boat is mostly suited for one or two persons. However, the foldout sofa and the availability of a baby bed and stool makes it perfectly possible to bring your child or children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bed Breakfast Boat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed Breakfast Boat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.