We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Indian food in a convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Koh-i-Noor

Koh-i-Noor
Rokin 18, 1012 KR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020 627 2118
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #166 of 2,459 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $17 - $27
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Description: Dear ladies/gentlemen, my request is to replace the extra addition of location (red light district) better to write (near dam square).It is just two minutes walk from dam square. Red light area is 15 min.Walk from our rest.So will you pls.Replace that for me.As when customers read that some family members will not like to come to rest as they think that may be it is in red light.It is not in the red light.Pls.Will you change this for me. Thank you in advance, sardool singh(owner)
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian food in a convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Just off Dam square, this cozy little indian restaurant has great food. I read great reviews online before going. I took a friend that was in town and we were both very pleased. The staff was friendly, the food was great, and the atmosphere felt like an Indian home we were welcomed into.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    64
    20
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great traditional indian dishes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Great traditional indian food, served in a tradtional indian setting. Would definately reccoment this to others!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salcombe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good Indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were recommended this Indian restaurant located near the Dam monument in the city centre. We turned up without a booking and were fortunate to get a table. The restaurant was full and the turnover rapid. The food was very good although we have had better at home. The Aloo Gobi was a bit overcooked, as was the onion bahjeee. It was good value for money, service was quick and very friendly. We understand from someone locally that it is considered to be the best Indian in Amsterdam. We would go again but expect 7 out of 10 and you will not be disappointed.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Great food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

- Great food. Good portions and very tasty.
- Very good service. Very friendly and kind staff.
- Great location, next to DAM square.
- Same restaurant can also be found in Westmarkt.
- Would definitely come back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great service, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I found this restaurant on Trip Advisor and it lived up to all the reviews. The food was full of flavour and the staff were more than willing to assist with menu choices. They were very attentive to us, the prices very reasonable and the location excellent. There are two Koh I Noor restaurants in Amsterdam. Most reviews are automatically attributed to the one in Westmarkt as it comes up fist on Trip Advisor, but both have the same owners and both are excellent!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koh-i-Noor also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Koh-i-Noor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koh-i-Noor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.