We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fancy place, close to centre. Not really warm and cosy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
The Hague
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fancy place, close to centre. Not really warm and cosy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Last January I was here for a business purpose. The Manor has great rooms and is in an old building that used to be from the City Amsterdam, so a lot of crosses in the hallway, that are the icons for Amsterdam. You nearly see double due to this. ;-). Service can be a little more friendly. Diner is good but location is what I would choose when I go for a pleasure city trip

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    391
    89
    19
    11
See reviews for
60
445
28
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Spent a week in Amsterdam, visiting sights & taking in the culture! What made the trip better was staying at the hotel being reviewed.
Our room overlooked the local park, which is great for a stroll around. The hotel is located very close to a tram stop, handy if you want to get in & out of the city etc.
The room was spacious & well appointed. Nice modern look to it & very clean. The ensuite shower/wc followed on the theme from the main room, modern & clean, but done with style!
My partner & I didn't utilise the hotel restaurant, but close by there are two places where you can get a beer & food, plus something else if you're that way inclined! ;)
The Hotel staff are extremely helpful & try to do their utmost by your requests.
Scenario: We bought a hand painted picture on one of our many days in the city, but we accidently left it in a restaurant... we explained this to the staff at reception, who took it upon themselves to call the restaurant on our behalf to hold the painting until we could pick it up. Posted our postcards & were courteous at all times.
I'd recommend this Hotel to anyone wishing to stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Love Amstrtdam and the people but not been a big fan of the city's hotels in the past though they're getting better but really enjoyed this one. Lovely facade, interesting history as a former 19th century hospital and the birthplace of Johann Criyff it's in a nice neighbourhood handy for shops. bars, the Oosterpark and tram stops. Hotel spotlessly clean. with a classy but slightly crazy interior which suits the city and has a nice. intimate bar. Upgraded to a junior suite with nice views over the garden and a super comfy bed. Staff were great, but Amsterdam still does debit card holds on checking in which can take up to 3 weeks to get back so paid 50 euros cash deposit. But i enjoyed the stay and look forward to returning to the Manor.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Floor Jan v, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you very much for your your kind words. Great to read that our property has proven to perfectly match your needs. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Floor Jan van der Linden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed for long Easter weekend. The room was nice but just a couple of issues. We had no soap in the shower for 2 days as they did not refill the dispenser. Also, the room was very, very warm even after we turned off the heat. Even though we were on the ground floor, our window did not open so sleeping was a bit uncomfortable. The location of the hotel is very good. Tram stops right outside and plenty of very good restaurants and pubs by the hotel.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you very much for taking the time review our hotel. Unfortunately your stay was not as you expected it to be concerning your room. I would like to apologize for any inconveniece caused. I will discuss your points with our Housekeeping Manager and Engineering Manager to prevent his from happening again in the future.

Kind regards,
Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copley, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Manor Hotel for six nights. The room was much larger than most European hotels and provided lots of space to organize our clothes, etc. The staff was very pleasant and helpful, including each of the concierges. The #9 tram stopped practically in front of the hotel, so getting into the old section of Amsterdam was so easy.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel during your recent visit to Amsterdam. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel!

Kind regards,
Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here recently for a 3 night trip to Amsterdam and used it as a bar to travel or from.
The atmosphere at the hotel is relaxing and friendly. Staff at the Reception were fantastic - a real credit to the hotel. The concierge service and management leave you feeling totally welcomed. Reception staff were efficient, knowledgeable and polite. Any problems or queries were dealt with immediately. Waiters and bar staff were friendly and attentive and we enjoyed a good couple of night caps in the bar.
Very pleased with room - standard double was adequately equipped and bed was so comfortable. Decor was modern and airy. Room was very warm at night, so the air con was needed, even in chilly weather.
We were pleased with the breakfast buffet - a super range of goods; particularly good as we took a few pieces of fruit for lunch too. Nearly every aspect of taste catered for. The Italian Restaurant was attractive, although we never ate there - we wanted to see as much of the city in the time, and there are truly outstanding bars and cafés nearby which suit most tastes. Thoroughly recommend the cafe opposite and "De Beertuin".
The easy proximity (walkable) to so many places of interest (Oosterpark, Troopsmuseum and DapperMarkt) and transport are two of the hotel's many strengths - tram, bus and train routes to the city and beyond all pass within a stone's throw. Hire bikes from the hotel too - cheaper than other local places.
We were really impressed with this venue and I would return everytime.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
What a lovely review. Great to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and thank you very much for recognizing our team. We are looking forward to welcome you back!

Kind regards,
Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nimy, Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I found this hotel when looking for last minute hotels in Amsterdam that were not too far from the centre and not too expensive. I stayed in The Manor with my brother and sister (3 single beds) for one night for a birthday celebration. Check in was easy and the room was clean and tidy when we arrived. There were plenty of towels and the chairs and storage space were fine (there is a safe). Wifi was available and of moderate speed. The only disappointing thing was that although it was clear there was 3 of us staying there, they had only provided cups and glasses for two people. I'm sure I could have called for more but that attention to detail would have been good. We had a little difficulty turning the TV on but my brother worked it out and I'm not sure it was something we did or if it wasn't working initially. The fact you can see into the bathroom from the outside is a little weird but you just don't look if someone is in there! We came back late from a night out and we all slept really well and check out wasn't until 11am so we all appreciated that!! We didn't have breakfast there and instead walked down the road to Café Kuijper so I can't say anything about the food. Check out was easy too and although there were a few people wanting to check out we didn't have to wait long. We used the Park and Ride system and from the Zeeburg P&R there is a bus (37) that takes you practically outside the hotel and counts as your trip into the city to enable you to have the cheaper parking rate. The hotel is also next to tram routes that take you into the centre. Overall I would definitely stay at this hotel again as it is was value for money and I want to spend more time exploring the Eastern part of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Manor Hotel, we hope to welcome you back shortly.

Kind regards,
Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam

Address: Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.