We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best concierge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden to your Saves list
The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best concierge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

The hotel was good, a bit further from the action of downtown but also has good bus service. What really stood out was the morning concierge Marcel. He helped us with bus routes, suggested wonderful country side towns, and was all around jolly and nice. We vote " Marcel for hotel president"!!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us.
I am proud to read your compliments and the positive words have been forwarded to Marcel. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back as our guest!

With kind regards,

C.van Campen - Vermeer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    377
    84
    19
    11
See reviews for
57
422
27
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Having spent this weekend in Amsterdam we found the manor a fantastic hotel with really helpful and friendly staff.
It's location is quiet but within distance of the busy Rembrandt square/dam and leidsestraat. The number nine tram a few yard outside the door takes you to central station every 15 mins. And at 12 euros for 24 hours use is a great price and way to travel this amazing city.
Breakfasts are nice and actor for all.
Great place great hotel you will not be let down by this choice of accomedation.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us on TripAdvisor and we hope to welcome you back as our guests in the future!

Kind regards, Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Scotland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

This was a long weekend booked as a birthday present for my fiancee and when we arrived on her birthday, early for check in too, we were given a free upgrade to a junior suite on the top floor with a great view of the gardens and over the rooftops of Amsterdam. It was easy to get to the hotel with the no 7 tram strapping right outside the hotel so a quick and easy access to the city centre. We decided to eat in the hotel for the first night and were not disappointed as the food was exquisite. My pizza was perfectly cooked and so tasty whilst my fiancée took the carbonara which s garlicky and creamy in all the right balance and the wine was superb. Surprisingly it was quite inexpensive too and we were glad we had eaten in that night. In the room there is a fridge which is ideal for keeping water in, there was a lovely bay window with two big armchairs so we sat there to finish off our wine watching Nd listening to the world outside.

Breakfast is buffet style with a hot and cold option, and you could mix and match easily with scrambled or boiled eggs, crispy bacon or cold cuts and various cheeses and some beautiful breads too. They also had the best pastries ever with our favourites being the hot mini croissants closely followed by the pain au chocolate!!! Unlimited coffee and hot drinks and you had a great start to the day. Rooms were cleaned daily and the shower gel and shampoo replaced too.

All in all, I cannot fault this hotel and will definitely be back......

Room Tip: Bit cheeky saying this but If it is your birthday, tell them to get the free upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear,

We are happy to read that you had a great stay with us! We are delighted to read your comments. Our team is always at your service to assist you with any future requests.
Besides, we value your comments regarding the comfort of the room and the quality of the food, which is very important to us.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

C.Van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

The hotel is beautiful with funky wall paper & carpet.
The rooms are large & nice. The maids are efficient.
Hotel is a about 20 minutes away from Centraal Station by tram.
I can't really comment on the staff as they didn't really say very much to us apart from morning & evening.

Room Tip: There is nothing of interest to see by this hotel but there is a couple of shops, supermarket, small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thank you once more for sharing your experiences with us on TripAdvisor and we hope to welcome you back as our guests in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Manor Hotel the staff is very helpful and attentive to all of our requests. We stayed at the hotel for 5 days last week, it is situated about 7KM from the city centre in a nice neighbourhood. The tram stops are at the corner and from there you can get anywhere in the city very easily. August in Amsterdam is full of tourist and the downtown core can be a bit overwhelming, so it was nice to come back to the Manor for some peace and quiet. I would highly recommend the hotel for families and couples. We went to some of the local restaurants just down the street and they were all nice and the prices for food and drink were less expensive and of better quality then downtown. I booked the hotel about 6 weeks in advance on Venere.com and got a great rate.

Room Tip: Book a Deluxe room overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thank you very much in taking the time in writing your experiences in Trip advisor. Good to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

. kind regards, Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

My Fiance and I stayed here for five nights and had a wonderful time. The staff were friendly, the hotel was clean and the beds were AMAZINGLY comfy! Each room had a safe and small fridge, both were very useful. The hotel is located next to a fantastic Zoo, park, coffee shop and small bar which sold great snacks (chips, nachos, cheese fingers etc.) There is a tram right outside the hotel which was very useful to use to get into the middle of the city. (I'm a light sleeper and it didn't disturb me) I would definitely come back again and recommend to others.

Room Tip: Modern, clean rooms, even the basic type we stayed in.
See more room tips
Green Features: Really impressed with the staff and how helpful they were when we left a gift at a restaurant in the city, they were more than happy to call them to see if they still had it. (They did!)
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thank you very much in taking the time in writing your experiences in Trip advisor. Good to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


kind regards, Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

All seemed well on arrival. Staff were friendly, the place seemed new and fresh.

The room had an empty mini-bar, except for a bottle of water (someone left it there?). The storage for clothes was limited to 6 hangars. The hairdryer didn't work and there were no toiletries like soap or toothpaste given free.

What was the most surprising was that of the dirty cups, plates and dishes left every night just a couple of feet from our door. Seemingly stockpiled by housekeeping, we witnessed several members of staff ignore this messy pile every day. Quite unsightly, for a four star hotel.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry to read we did not meet your expectations and we definitely will use your notes to improve our service. The bottle of water is a complimentary gift to our guests. The minibar is empty because the greater part of our guests would like to use this for their own products. We do hope that this will not deter you from visiting us in the future, then we can show you we can meet the expectations you may have for a 4 star hotel as the Manor Hotel Amsterdam.

kind regards, Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden

Address: Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.