We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here for good balance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stay here for good balance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Manor Hotel the staff is very helpful and attentive to all of our requests. We stayed at the hotel for 5 days last week, it is situated about 7KM from the city centre in a nice neighbourhood. The tram stops are at the corner and from there you can get anywhere in the city very easily. August in Amsterdam is full of tourist and the downtown core can be a bit overwhelming, so it was nice to come back to the Manor for some peace and quiet. I would highly recommend the hotel for families and couples. We went to some of the local restaurants just down the street and they were all nice and the prices for food and drink were less expensive and of better quality then downtown. I booked the hotel about 6 weeks in advance on Venere.com and got a great rate.

Room Tip: Book a Deluxe room overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thank you very much in taking the time in writing your experiences in Trip advisor. Good to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

. kind regards, Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    447
    102
    22
    11
See reviews for
73
498
34
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

My Fiance and I stayed here for five nights and had a wonderful time. The staff were friendly, the hotel was clean and the beds were AMAZINGLY comfy! Each room had a safe and small fridge, both were very useful. The hotel is located next to a fantastic Zoo, park, coffee shop and small bar which sold great snacks (chips, nachos, cheese fingers etc.) There is a tram right outside the hotel which was very useful to use to get into the middle of the city. (I'm a light sleeper and it didn't disturb me) I would definitely come back again and recommend to others.

Room Tip: Modern, clean rooms, even the basic type we stayed in.
See more room tips
Green Features: Really impressed with the staff and how helpful they were when we left a gift at a restaurant in the city, they were more than happy to call them to see if they still had it. (They did!)
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thank you very much in taking the time in writing your experiences in Trip advisor. Good to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


kind regards, Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

All seemed well on arrival. Staff were friendly, the place seemed new and fresh.

The room had an empty mini-bar, except for a bottle of water (someone left it there?). The storage for clothes was limited to 6 hangars. The hairdryer didn't work and there were no toiletries like soap or toothpaste given free.

What was the most surprising was that of the dirty cups, plates and dishes left every night just a couple of feet from our door. Seemingly stockpiled by housekeeping, we witnessed several members of staff ignore this messy pile every day. Quite unsightly, for a four star hotel.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry to read we did not meet your expectations and we definitely will use your notes to improve our service. The bottle of water is a complimentary gift to our guests. The minibar is empty because the greater part of our guests would like to use this for their own products. We do hope that this will not deter you from visiting us in the future, then we can show you we can meet the expectations you may have for a 4 star hotel as the Manor Hotel Amsterdam.

kind regards, Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

The hotel is in a brilliant location as there is a tram stop right outside, and it is only 10-15 minutes on the tram to be back in the centre (plus the journey is quite pretty too, especially at night!) The hotel is well kept, nice and clean, the bathroom/wetroom especially, although some of the furnishings are a bit tired/look a little as if they've been done on the cheap! Breakfast was OK, there was quite a lot to choose from, although be careful not to knock anything over (as the plates on one side and the food is close by on an opposing side - it can lead to embarrassing incidents...) as it is a little cramped. Made use of the secure storage on arrival and check out. Overall, a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thank you for writing a review on Trip advisor. We look forward to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Although far from the center and the main sights of Amsterdam is a very cosy and friendly hotel. You need to take the tram (10 to 13 minutes to the Flower Market) but the journey is very nice and by train you can come easily from the airport (40min by train and 8-10 min walking from the station). The room was quite comfortable (not enough hungers in the closet), very clean and elegantly furnished. The only problem we had was that the ventilator of the bathroom was broken, made a disturbing noise, and they didn't fix it during our stay (4 days). The breakfast was really good and served in a very we'll decorated and relaxing room.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time writing a review. We are very sorry for the inconvenience regarding the bathroom. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Kind regards Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

If you want to stay in the centre of things then this is not the hotel for you. If however, like us, you think a ten minute tram journey into the city centre is a reasonable trade off for a night uninterrupted by drunken shouting then you should give this place serious consideration. Very well serviced by trams with the numbers , 9,7 and 3 all stopping a short walk away and leafy Oosterpark and some excellent local cafés on the doorstep ( Try the Cafe Kuijper just outside the hotel for an excellent breakfast)

The rooms were clean and modern, the staff friendly and very helpful when my boyfriend decided to leave his phone in a bar in the centre of town! Housekeeping was efficient and unobtrusive and we felt at home. Special mention has to go to the bed, the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in.

I only demurred from giving a five because the in room refreshments were a bit mean. I expect more than two tea bags and no milk from a four star hotel!

However, that is a minor quibble with what is an otherwise excellent hotel. We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thank you very much in taking the time in writing your experiences in Trip advisor. Good to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. kind regards, Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umea, Sweden
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Nothing to complain about at the hotel. The staff was really helpful and the rooms were great in a quiet nighborhood. The only bad thing is that it took quite some time to walk there from the centralstation. The tram connections were frekvent and good.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time in writing a review. regards, Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel Arena
#75 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,639 reviews
citizenM Amsterdam
#38 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,446 reviews
Vondelpark
Grand Hotel Downtown
Grand Hotel Downtown
#106 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#61 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 603 reviews
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#147 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 472 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam

Address: Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam is situated in a unique building in Amsterdam-Oost: the former Burgerziekenhuis (hospital). This historic building on the Linnaeusstraat was renovated in 2011 into a trendy hotel with luxury rooms and its own Italian restaurant, Enoteca. The hotel is easy to reach by car or public transport. And by tram, bus or bike, you’ll be right in the centre of the city in 7 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.