We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It'll do.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden to your Saves list
The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersGold level
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It'll do.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

The hotel outside looks fairly groggy, although the restaurant, reception area, bedrooms etc are all very nicely kept. The carpet in the hallway and wallpapers make you feel sick and like you're in a nightmare.. bright red with crosses all over them. I wouldn't recommend the breakfast, it'll cost you at least 12.50 euros and is very bad. It's a breakfast buffet, we went down around 10.30am on Sunday and all that was left was a couple of rolls, some very dry scrambled eggs, sausages and a few slices of cheese... No english breakfast tea either! On the upside, the staff were very accomodating and everything was kept clean and tidy. The tram station was a few seconds away which was very handy for getting in and out of town. Taxi-wise it cost us 50 euros to get to the airport and 20 euros back from town (as trams stop at 11.30pm-12am at night). Would I go there again? Probably not.. But it was alright.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience with us. I am sorry to read we did not meet your expectations regarding our decor. We constantly work on improving our service and standards. We do hope that this will not deter you from visiting us in the future, then we can show you we can meet the expectations you may have for a 4 star hotel as the Manor Hotel Amsterdam. kind regards, Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    349
    78
    19
    11
See reviews for
51
391
26
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saïda, null, Lebanon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

I reviewed this hotel last year and said that it was more than you could ask for in any hotel around the world. My family and I stayed there for the second time less than a month ago and I must admit that it was even better than the first stay. We got 2 extraordinary, spacious rooms (almost suites) very modern and clean. The staff was the same as last year, super friendly and helpful. Special thanks to Angela, Joy and of course Claire the manager of this superb gem. Again, I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone. You can check my previous review for more details on the location and other services.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank your for your review and compliments! I am are happy that we could welcome you again. I will pass your kind words to Angela and Joy. We look forward to welcome you and your family again.

With kind regards,

C. van Campen - Vermeer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed in this hotel for our first anniversary. I chose this hotel because it was outside the busy areas of Amsterdam. The hotel is neat and clean the rooms are good. However there were some problems with our room like The room was not cleaned for 2 Days and when I went to complain the front office it was a strange reaction they wanted to give a free drinks voucher but what should I do with it, if I still have to sleep on a dirty bed.. Then the man on the front office asked me "what do you want us to do, sir?" This was unbelievable I am suppose to tell the staff how to handle guest complain, the night audit staff always said to come in the morning because the morning staff knows it better. The morning staff was very nice and friendly as well as the restaurant staff. The breakfast was good. The only complain will be the beds which were not made and arrogant and untrained staff at the reception not to forget being a hotelier found a lot of standards were not followed even as a four star. I will not go to this hotel again because I dont want to feel insulted when I go with a problem(created by the hotel).

Room Tip: If you wanna sleep without disturbance do not take a room facing the street .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you for taking The time to write a review on Tripadvisor. Because of feedback like yours we can improve our service. Our front office manager would like to have personal contact with you. I would like to ask you if you could please e-mail The front office manager Angela Spoelstra, a.spoelstra@hampshire-hotels.com, your contact details.

With kind regards,
Claire van Campen- Vermeer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapperswil, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The Hotel is very clean and it looks much neat.
The guys at the lobby are kind and correct.

They help us to find some cute secret restaurants.

They offer some Bicycles to rent but they are little expensive.
By bicycle the hotel is about 10 min to the centre.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you very much in taking the time in writing your experiences in Trip advisor. Good to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


kind regards, Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Nice hotel, helpful and friendly staff. Expensive, but very nice and generous breakfast. A really good restaurant and bar area! However you would expect a hotel like this to offer a gym, at leadt a small one. Very friendly staff. Clean and nice rooms.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you very much in taking the time writing a review. It is a pleasure to read your thoughts about the service. Unfortunately we are not big enough for a gym. If you maybe will visit us in the future please contact the staff about the special rate for the gym close to the hotel.

Kind regards,

C.Van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorey, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Spent two nights here towards the end of July. Beautiful modern hotel with good size rooms. Breakfast was very tasty. Staff were very helpful and efficient. The hotel is a little bit out of the city centre but the number 9 tram goes right to the door making all attractions accessible. Would recommend to all and will return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us.
The comments have been forwarded to the team and it would be a great pleasure to welcome you back as our guest!


Kind regards,

C.Van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stayed nights in December 2012. It was cold and snowy outside, so we took a taxi from the airport and arrived swiftly. The exterior is beautiful and the inside is modern and trendy. We were checked in fast and went up to our rooms.

The rooms have a good size, the bed was comfy and there was a small window leading to the front street. There was some light coming through the window at night, so the room was never completely dark. Not a big issue for us, but some people might be bothered. There was also very little noise from the street and the halls, again, not an issue at all but pickier travellers might have a problem.

The location was good. Not to near from the sights and attraction, the hotel is located to the east, in a more residential area but very nice. Transport is incredible in Amsterdam and a tram went from the hotel door to the centre and pretty much anything you could think of doing in the city. The area also has a great market on the weekends, several restaurants and bars.

All in all, I think this is a very nice, comfortable and convenient option for your stay in Amsterdam. Perhaps the only improvement would be to include breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you very much in taking the time in writing your experiences in Trip advisor. Good to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.



kind regards, Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden

Address: Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.