We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Front office needs training !!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Front office needs training !!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed in this hotel for our first anniversary. I chose this hotel because it was outside the busy areas of Amsterdam. The hotel is neat and clean the rooms are good. However there were some problems with our room like The room was not cleaned for 2 Days and when I went to complain the front office it was a strange reaction they wanted to give a free drinks voucher but what should I do with it, if I still have to sleep on a dirty bed.. Then the man on the front office asked me "what do you want us to do, sir?" This was unbelievable I am suppose to tell the staff how to handle guest complain, the night audit staff always said to come in the morning because the morning staff knows it better. The morning staff was very nice and friendly as well as the restaurant staff. The breakfast was good. The only complain will be the beds which were not made and arrogant and untrained staff at the reception not to forget being a hotelier found a lot of standards were not followed even as a four star. I will not go to this hotel again because I dont want to feel insulted when I go with a problem(created by the hotel).

Room Tip: If you wanna sleep without disturbance do not take a room facing the street .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you for taking The time to write a review on Tripadvisor. Because of feedback like yours we can improve our service. Our front office manager would like to have personal contact with you. I would like to ask you if you could please e-mail The front office manager Angela Spoelstra, a.spoelstra@hampshire-hotels.com, your contact details.

With kind regards,
Claire van Campen- Vermeer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    413
    96
    20
    11
See reviews for
61
470
31
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rapperswil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The Hotel is very clean and it looks much neat.
The guys at the lobby are kind and correct.

They help us to find some cute secret restaurants.

They offer some Bicycles to rent but they are little expensive.
By bicycle the hotel is about 10 min to the centre.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you very much in taking the time in writing your experiences in Trip advisor. Good to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


kind regards, Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Nice hotel, helpful and friendly staff. Expensive, but very nice and generous breakfast. A really good restaurant and bar area! However you would expect a hotel like this to offer a gym, at leadt a small one. Very friendly staff. Clean and nice rooms.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you very much in taking the time writing a review. It is a pleasure to read your thoughts about the service. Unfortunately we are not big enough for a gym. If you maybe will visit us in the future please contact the staff about the special rate for the gym close to the hotel.

Kind regards,

C.Van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorey, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Spent two nights here towards the end of July. Beautiful modern hotel with good size rooms. Breakfast was very tasty. Staff were very helpful and efficient. The hotel is a little bit out of the city centre but the number 9 tram goes right to the door making all attractions accessible. Would recommend to all and will return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us.
The comments have been forwarded to the team and it would be a great pleasure to welcome you back as our guest!


Kind regards,

C.Van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stayed nights in December 2012. It was cold and snowy outside, so we took a taxi from the airport and arrived swiftly. The exterior is beautiful and the inside is modern and trendy. We were checked in fast and went up to our rooms.

The rooms have a good size, the bed was comfy and there was a small window leading to the front street. There was some light coming through the window at night, so the room was never completely dark. Not a big issue for us, but some people might be bothered. There was also very little noise from the street and the halls, again, not an issue at all but pickier travellers might have a problem.

The location was good. Not to near from the sights and attraction, the hotel is located to the east, in a more residential area but very nice. Transport is incredible in Amsterdam and a tram went from the hotel door to the centre and pretty much anything you could think of doing in the city. The area also has a great market on the weekends, several restaurants and bars.

All in all, I think this is a very nice, comfortable and convenient option for your stay in Amsterdam. Perhaps the only improvement would be to include breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you very much in taking the time in writing your experiences in Trip advisor. Good to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.



kind regards, Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The hotel is a little bit outside of Central AMS which makes it easy to drive there by car.Parking is at 27EUR a night and needs to be reserved. Make sure to clearly ask the front desk till when you can leave the car there on the day of your departure. Tram stop right accross the street.It takes about 15min max to get to the Old centre. The hotel has very nice, recently redecorated rooms. The beds are heavenly and the rooms are very quiet and very well darkened at night.Breakfast is great and the restaurant is quite trendy.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time in writing your experiences. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards.


Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights during a recent trip to Amsterdam, and found both the hotel and the location to be very good; there's a direct train from Schipol to Muiderpoort station which is round the corner, and plenty of trams get you from the hotel to the Museumplein, Dam Square, and the Jordaan. There do appear to be some gremlins in the key card system - we had three which needed reprogramming, necessitating a trip back to reception - and also the air conditioning in our top floor room blew right onto the bed, making keeping the room a good temperature at night something of a challenge. Otherwise though, very much worth a stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
We appreciate your thoughts regarding the keycardsystem and the air regulation; it will serve as an encouragement as we continue striving to provide exceptional service always. Moreover, it is a pleasure reading your comments regarding the location and the hotel.


We hope to welcome you aigain in the near future.

Kind regards,

C.Van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam

Address: Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam is situated in a unique building in Amsterdam-Oost: the former Burgerziekenhuis (hospital). This historic building on the Linnaeusstraat was renovated in 2011 into a trendy hotel with luxury rooms and its own Italian restaurant, Enoteca. The hotel is easy to reach by car or public transport. And by tram, bus or bike, you’ll be right in the centre of the city in 7 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.