We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contemporary and comfy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Stockholm
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Contemporary and comfy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights in July, convenient location 20 minutes from Leidesplein by tram in a quiet residential area of the city.Nice, modern and comfortable room with a cool contemporary design. Above average size of rooms, nice bathrooms with see- through windows of bed from bathtub. Tea, and cofeemaker always useful but poor selection of teabags and coffee..Friendly service, didn´t have breakfast in hotel though but tried the Italian Restaurant Enoteca, which had decent food but extremely slow service.
Recommended!

Room Tip: Outdoor patio if you want easy access from room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear,

We appreciate your thoughts regarding our service; it will serve as an encouragement as we continue striving to provide exceptional service always. Moreover, it is a pleasure reading your comments regarding the room and the service of the front desk.

Kind regards,

C.Van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    421
    98
    20
    11
See reviews for
63
478
33
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

All thing in hotel is good, bathroom was very clean an perfect.
The only problem that is bed.
I ordered king bed but they don't have it i think.
Breakfast is enough for 4 star and stuff was very kind and polite.
The red color a little bit more in decoration and lobby is quiet small for this nice hotel.
Finally, I would like to say, very good 4star hotel and recommended.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you very much in taking the time in sharing your experience with us. Please let us know in advance if your preference is a double bed so we can reserve a room with a double bed for you.
We look forward to welcomng you back soon.

kind regards,
Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The Hampshire Eden was recommended by a friend as an excellent, modern, clean and professional place to stay. She was not wrong! It's close enough to town if you're a tourist, but in a quiet area so perfect if you're on business. This is now my go-to hotel in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us. We are happy to read that you had a great stay with us! We are glad to have the opportunity to welcome you back as our guest in the future. With Regards, The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
122 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

In this former hospital you stay in the patient rooms (of course) and they have a huge advantage, you have nice, high ceilings, having a spacious feeling. We were here for 3 nights and enjoyed our stay very much. The interior design is very special and might be not everybodies taste. Staff is kind and..helpfull (was necassary). They have an excellent Italian Restaurant in this hotel were also breakfast is being served. The hotel is in the eastern part of the city and close to the so called Dappermarkt and Muiderpoort Station. If you like to take a train, it is only a 5 min. walk from the train station to the hotel. No taxi required when you are travelling light.
In the neighborhood there are a few pubs, entertainment for sure. There are many forms of public transport available and pushbikes for rent. By tram you are in 10-15 min in the middle of the city and this hotel is offering some peace in this vivid city. Why did we need the staff? During our last night in this hotel I woke up , something was disturbing. We had a room at the back side (garden side) and we had 2 nights of beautiful night rest. The last night at 0425 2 guys were having a vivid discussion in the garden and due to their position you heard every single word in the room (windows open due to summer weather and need for fresh air) The guys silenced for a few minutes when I asked them but it lasted also only a few minutes. After a call at the front desk it was very quick silent again. Thank you staff.

Would I recommend it, yes I do.

Room Tip: the "odd" numbers are usual at the garden side and are nice. Front side is a busy road, si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Manor Hotel Hampshire Eden and for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. It is great to know that you found our location convenient for your stay. We are delighted to read that you experienced excellent service throughout your stay at The Manor Hotel – Hampshire Eden, which is something we always aim for.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back as our guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This hotel was in such a great location, you have the park down on the corner, nice for evening walk. Tram in front of the hotel will take you 15 minutes to downtown. Very nice bike's to rent right from the hotel. Rooms were nice and clean and a good value. Would recommend this hotel to family and friends!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us. We are happy to read that you had a great stay with us! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back as our guest in the future. With Regards, The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Hotel is situated about a 15 min tram ride from the centre and the trams run all the time so good location (worth getting a 24hr/48hr ticket). From the outside it is a huge building but looks very nice, it actually used to be a hospital years ago! Check in was quick and easy although you have to pay an extra 'deposit' which is refunded upon check out.
Throughout the hotel it was very brightly decorated with red wallpaper and carpets collaged with the Amsterdam XXX letters. The rooms are also well decorated fitting with the Amsterdam styling, always kept very clean and tidy. There was even a red-filter light in the corner to give a romantic touch in the evenings. Had no problems sleeping found the beds comfy and rooms quiet.
Only negative we found in the room was the bathroom - the swinging bathroom door (just to the left of the bed) was translucent glass so you can kind of see through and there was also a mirror with 2 windows from the bedroom into the bathroom so unless you and your companion(s) are very close and comfortable with one another privacy could be an issue!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time in writing your experiences. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel Arena
#80 of 354 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,502 reviews
Vondelpark
Grand Hotel Downtown
Grand Hotel Downtown
#99 of 354 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 542 reviews
citizenM Amsterdam
#37 of 354 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#57 of 354 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 579 reviews
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#154 of 354 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 452 reviews
Hotel Casa 400
#59 of 354 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam

Address: Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam is situated in a unique building in Amsterdam-Oost: the former Burgerziekenhuis (hospital). This historic building on the Linnaeusstraat was renovated in 2011 into a trendy hotel with luxury rooms and its own Italian restaurant, Enoteca. The hotel is easy to reach by car or public transport. And by tram, bus or bike, you’ll be right in the centre of the city in 7 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.