We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Cozy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden to your Saves list
The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersGold level
Plano, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice and Cozy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Until one stays in this hotel it will not be easy to see why this hotel is worth going back to. Spacious and well designed with the right choice of colors. Large windows to let the lights in and a modern touch to the bathroom adds to the comfort. Staff were always friendly and willing to accommodate personal needs.

The tram stop is a few hundred yards from the hotel entrance, making it very convenient to get around. There are a few restaurants to choose from and within walking distance. If one wants to venture to a super-market for personal needs, that also is close by. Or if nothing else the Oosterpark is a good place to breathe some fresh air into the lungs as well as keep your body fit.

Overall, I personally liked this hotel and when I was there towards the end of January the price was very agreeable also.

Room Tip: If you want some quiet ask for rooms at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. Nice to read you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

kind regards,

Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    349
    79
    19
    11
See reviews for
51
392
26
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Hotel is right opposite Oosterpark which is lovely to walk around. The number 9 tram stops just a few yards from the hotel and takes you to central station via Rembrandts plein. The staff are very friendly and the hotel was well worth the money. Would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor by the restaurant and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for your beautiful review. See you back soon. kind regards Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Even though a bit outside Amsterdam's centres, a 4-star hotel that deserves praises. The quirky designs and colours do make this hotel interesting.
The rooms are comfortable and if a nice size for Amsterdam and the price, the furniture well presented and the overall atmosphere rather unique.
A personal service in an accessible location. Will stay there again

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
thank you very much for your enthousiastic review. We hope to see you back again soon. kind regards Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Myself and a friend stayed here 3rd April for 3 nights.
It was our first time in Amsterdam so a little unsure of our bearings.
We walked from Amsterdam Centraal Station with our suitcases, which took around 2 hours. I wouldn't recommend this!
As soon as we told the hotel this, they were very helpful with their advice with trams, providing us with maps and drawing the tram routes and numbers on there for us. They were extremely helpful from the off.
The hotel is about a 20 minute tram ride from Dam Square which was nice because we weren't right in the centre the whole time - it gave us a chance to view another part of the city.
The hotel is beautifully aesthetic from the outside and the same can be said from the inside.
Our room was very spacious and clean - it had a TV, a really nice walk in shower, a fridge, a safe, a wardrobe and drawers, tea and coffee making facilities which were topped up every day. Our room also had really cool lighting.
The hotel staff members were brilliant. They were so helpful and genuinely hilarious.
The price was competitive too, a bargain in fact!!
I do not have anything bad to say about this hotel - swimming pool and fitness centre left as 'average' only because I don't think they had them - but everything else was great.

Highly recommended 5+++++++++++

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you very much for such an enthousiastic review. We look forward to welcoming you back.
kind regards,
Claire van Campen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

The hotel and the room are beautiful and very clean.
The location is perfect, near the beautiful Oosterpark and near the trams stops for everywhere. The staff are very very helpful and friendly.
I really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience and ofcourse for leaving this pleasant review. We hope to welcome you again!

Best regards,
Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Spent Easter bank hliday here ( 3 nights). Room clean tidy and comfortable, staff helpful. Location great, Bus stop and tram stop right outside, Railway ( trains were on time to the second!), a few minutes walk behind hotel. Only 2k (ish) to the city centre so we walked it all the time, ambling along different roads each time. Great cafes on same side of road heading for centre, only a few yards away.(just sit and watch the world go by. If you are a light sleeper a room at the front of the hotel may keep you awake due to the rumbling of the trams, no problem for me however. Free wifi in rooms very handy as well. Booked via a Lastminute.com package, so with accomadation and flights the price was very good, and we would certainly come here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for your visit to our hotel and ofcourse for leaving this pleasant review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Very nice location indeed, staff were very helpful, attached Italian restaurant is very nice and reasonably priced.

Few bad bits.... twin room beds which kept moving apart....noisy neighbors above......2 euro for a snickers in the vending machine ( at least Dick Turpin wore a mask)......i found the beds small and uncomfortable.

Stones throw from a coffeeshop for those who indulge which is a pretty cool place, unlike the coffeshops in the dam which a full of red eyed, green cheeked young Americans trying to roll joints.

Travel to the center is easy by tram or bus.......word of advice here.....at central station buy a tram pass from the ticket counter. It's simple to use and will save you an absolute fortune........and don't worry guys....Baba's cafe is only a short walk away :)

Room Tip: Try to get a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you very much in sharing your experience with us. It is only through guest comments such as yours that we can constantly improve our service and standards. We will look into the issue with the beds.
I do hope this will not deter you from visiting us in the near future.
Kind regards,
Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden

Address: Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.